Participant funding to review the draft Environmental Impact Statement for NexGen Energy Ltd.’s Rook I project

Participant funding for NexGen Energy Ltd.’s Rook I project will be open from May 25 to August 28, 2020.

Participant funding notice

The CNSC is offering participant funding to assist Indigenous peoples, members of the public, and stakeholders in the review of the draft Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) for the Rook I project by NexGen Energy Ltd. (NexGen).

NexGen is proposing to develop an underground uranium mine on the Patterson Lake peninsula in the southwestern Athabasca Basin in northern Saskatchewan, approximately 155 km north of the village of La Loche, Saskatchewan. The proposed project includes underground and surface facilities to support the mining and processing of uranium ore. The main components include:

  • Underground mine development
  • An onsite mill to process an average of 1,400 tonnes of ore per day
  • Surface facilities to support the short- and long-term storage of waste rock and ore
  • An underground tailings management facility
  • Water-handling infrastructure and an effluent treatment circuit
  • Additional infrastructure to support mining activities

CNSC authorization in the form of a licence issued under subsection 24(2) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act is required in order for the project to proceed. Before the Commission can make a decision regarding NexGen’s proposal, an environmental assessment (EA) conducted under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012, is required.

For further details on NexGen’s proposal and the EA process, please see Canadian Impact Assessment Registry project #80171. The dates and location of public Commission hearings will be announced at a later date in a notice of public hearing.

Up to $150,000 in participant funding will be disbursed among all eligible applicants for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information on NexGen’s upcoming draft EIS and related documentation. The first phase of funding is intended to assist in the review of the draft EIS, which is anticipated to be submitted in late 2020 or early 2021. A second phase of funding to assist with participation in the remainder of the regulatory process, including the review of the EA report and related Commission Member Documents, will be announced at a later date.

To apply, submit a participant funding application form. Certain terms and conditions apply. An application form can be submitted by:

  • Email: cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    c/o Participant Funding Program Administrator
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, ON, Canada K1P 5S9
  • Fax: 613-995-5086

Deadline for submitting a participant funding application: August 28, 2020.

A funding review committee independent of the CNSC will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact:

Adam Zenobi
Participant Funding Program Administrator
613-992-8469
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Date modified:

Financement des participants offert pour examiner l’énoncé des incidences environnementales pour le projet Rook I de NexGen Energy Ltd.

Les demandes de financement des participants pour le projet Rook I de NexGen Energy Ltd. seront acceptées du 25 mai au 28 août 2020.

Avis de financement des participants

La CCSN offre du financement pour aider les peuples autochtones, le public et les parties intéressées à examiner l’énoncé des incidences environnementales (EIE) pour le projet Rook I de NexGen Energy Ltd. (NexGen).

NexGen propose d’exploiter une mine d’uranium souterraine dans la péninsule du lac Patterson, au sud-ouest du bassin d’Athabasca situé dans le nord de la Saskatchewan, à environ 155 km au nord de la ville de La Loche (Saskatchewan). Le projet proposé comprend des installations souterraines et de surface destinées à soutenir l’extraction et le traitement du minerai d’uranium. Les principales composantes comprennent :

  • le développement d’une mine souterraine
  • une usine sur le site pour traiter en moyenne 1 400 tonnes de minerai par jour
  • des installations de surface pour le stockage à court et à long terme des stériles et du minerai
  • une installation souterraine de gestion des résidus
  • une infrastructure de traitement de l’eau et un circuit de traitement des effluents
  • de l’infrastructure supplémentaire pour soutenir les activités minières

Pour autoriser le projet, la CCSN doit délivrer un permis en vertu du paragraphe 24(2) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN). Avant que la Commission ne rende une décision sur la proposition de NexGen, une évaluation environnementale (EE) doit être réalisée conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012).

Pour plus de détails sur la proposition de NexGen et le processus d’EE, veuillez consulter le projet 80171 du Registre canadien d’évaluation d’impact. Les dates et l’emplacement des audiences publiques de la Commission seront annoncés à une date ultérieure au moyen d’un avis.

De l’aide financière pouvant atteindre 150 000 $ sera répartie parmi l’ensemble des demandeurs admissibles pour la présentation de renseignements nouveaux, distincts et utiles sur l’EIE à venir de NexGen et la documentation connexe. La première offre de financement vise à aider les bénéficiaires à examiner l’EIE préliminaire, qui devrait être soumis vers la fin de 2020 ou le début de 2021. Une deuxième offre du financement pour la participation au reste du processus réglementaire, y compris l’examen du rapport d’EE et des documents à l’intention des commissaires connexes, sera annoncée à une date ultérieure.

Pour faire une demande de financement, veuillez soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement des participants. Certaines conditions générales s’appliquent. Le formulaire de demande peut être soumis par l’un des moyens suivants :

  • Courriel : cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    a/s de : Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
    280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5S9
    Canada

    Télécopieur : 613-995-5086

Date limite pour soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement : 28 août 2020.

Un comité d’examen de l’aide financière indépendant de la CCSN examinera toutes les demandes et formulera des recommandations sur l’attribution des fonds.

Pour toute question sur cette possibilité de financement, communiquez avec :

Adam Zenobi
Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
613-992-8469
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Dernière mise à jour :