Participant funding for Canadian Nuclear Laboratories’ Douglas Point Waste Facility decommissioning licence

Participant funding for the application from Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Ltd. (CNL) to amend its licence for the Douglas Point Waste Facility (DPWF), to begin active decommissioning, will be open from February 6 to March 6, 2020.

Participant funding notice

The CNSC will hold a public hearing on June 17 and 18, 2020, to consider CNL’s application. The DPWF is the site of the former 200 MW Douglas Point power reactor and is located on the Bruce Power site in Tiverton, Ontario.

The CNSC is offering participant funding to assist Indigenous peoples, members of the public, and stakeholders in reviewing CNL’s application and associated documents, and in participating in the Commission hearing process by providing topic-specific interventions to the Commission. 

Up to $75,000 in participant funding will be disbursed among all eligible applicants for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information through informed and topic-specific interventions to the Commission. Funding will be awarded for the review of documentation, including CNSC staff’s documents and CNL’s Commission member documents, and for participation in the public Commission hearing.

To apply for participant funding, interested parties must complete and submit a participant funding application form. Certain terms and conditions apply. An application form can be submitted by:

  • Email: cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    c/o Participant Funding Program administrator
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, ON, Canada  K1P 5S9
  • Fax: 613-995-5086

The deadline for submitting a participant funding application is March 6, 2020.

A funding review committee that is independent of the CNSC will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

For information on how to participate, view the Participate in a public Commission hearing and Participant Funding Program sections of the CNSC website.

For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact:

Adam Zenobi
Participant Funding Program Administrator
613-992-8469
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
Date modified:

Financement des participants offert pour l’examen de la demande des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens concernant la modification du permis d’installation de gestion des déchets de Douglas Point

Financement des participants offert pour l’examen de la demande des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens concernant la modification du permis d’installation de gestion des déchets de Douglas Point

Les demandes de financement des participants pour l’examen de la demande des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens ltée (LNC) concernant la modification du permis d’installation de gestion des déchets de Douglas Point, afin de pouvoir commencer le déclassement actif, seront acceptées du 6 février au 6 mars 2020.

Avis de financement des participants

La CCSN tiendra une audience publique du 17 au 18 juin 2020 afin d’examiner la demande des LNC. L’installation de gestion des déchets de Douglas Point, qui se trouve sur le site de Bruce Power, à Tiverton (Ontario), abrite l’ancien réacteur de puissance de 200 mégawatts de Douglas Point.

La CCSN offre du financement pour aider les peuples autochtones, le public et les parties intéressées à examiner la demande des LNC et les documents connexes ainsi qu’à participer au processus d’audience de la Commission en lui fournissant des interventions propres au sujet examiné.

De l’aide financière pouvant atteindre 75 000 $ sera répartie parmi l’ensemble des demandeurs admissibles pour la présentation de renseignements nouveaux et utiles à la Commission au moyen d’interventions propres au sujet examiné. L’aide financière sera attribuée pour l’examen de la documentation – notamment les documents du personnel de la CCSN et les documents des LNC à l’intention des commissaires – et pour la participation à l’audience publique de la Commission.

Pour faire une demande de financement, les parties intéressées doivent remplir et soumettre un formulaire de demande de formulaire de demande de financement des participants et respecter certaines conditions générales. Le formulaire de demande peut être soumis par l’un des moyens suivants :

  • Courriel : pfp-pafp@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca
  • Poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    a/s de : Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
    280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9
    Canada
  • Télécopieur : 613-995-5086

La date limite pour soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement est le 6 mars 2020.

Un comité d’examen de l’aide financière, indépendant de la CCSN, examinera toutes les demandes et formulera des recommandations sur l’attribution des fonds.

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l’environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de participer, consultez les sections Participer à une audience publique de la Commission et Programme de financement des participants du site Web de la CCSN.

Pour toute question sur cette possibilité de financement, communiquez avec :

Adam Zenobi
Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
613-992-8469
pfp-pafp@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca
Dernière mise à jour :