History of discussion paper DIS-11-01, Implementation of Financial Guarantees for Licensees

View [HTML consultation version] [PDF]

Status

In response to the concerns raised by those submitting comments, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is reviewing its proposed approach to implementing financial guarantees for Class II nuclear facilities and nuclear substances and radiation devices licensees. In doing so, the CNSC will consider modifications of or alternatives to the approach proposed in DIS-11-01, while respecting the need to ensure that Canadian taxpayers would not be burdened with the costs associated with a licensee's inability to safely terminate their licensed activities, decommission their facility or dispose of their nuclear substances and devices. The comments received during consultation for discussion paper DIS-11-01, Implementation of Financial Guarantees for Licensees, are posted on the CNSC website.

CNSC staff originally intended to present alternative proposals on financial guarantees at the Commission's April meeting. However, to ensure sufficient time for the CNSC to work with interested stakeholders in the development of alternative approaches for financial guarantees, this presentation will be deferred until such time as any such proposals can be developed and reviewed.

Stakeholders are encouraged to monitor the CNSC website for developments on this matter.

Document history

  • January 26, 2012: View the comments received during consultation. Note that the comments are posted in the language in which they were submitted.
  • November 30, 2011: Consultation ended.
  • March 3 to November 30, 2011: First round of consultation. An invitation to comment on the document is posted on the CNSC website. Read Information Bulletin 11-05, for further details.

Document description

The Nuclear Safety and Control Act authorizes the CNSC to require licensees to provide a financial guarantee as a condition of their licence. This ensures that licensees have sufficient financial resources in place to ensure the safe termination of their licensed activity. Currently, the requirement for financial guarantees has been limited to Class I nuclear facilities and uranium mines and mills. Discussion Paper DIS-11-01 outlines the CNSC's plans to broaden the financial guarantee program over the next two years to require all sites and activities licensed by CNSC to have financial guarantees.

Further information

For questions or information related to DIS-11-01, please contact:

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
Regulatory Framework Division
P. O. Box 1046, Station B
Ottawa, ON K1P 5S9

Telephone: 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (Canada only)
Fax: 613-995-5086
Email: info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca

Date modified:

Historique du document de travail DIS-11-01, Mise en œuvre de garanties financières pour les titulaires de permis

Accéder [HTML] [PDF]

Statut

En réponse aux préoccupations soulevées par les personnes qui ont soumis des commentaires, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) réexamine en ce moment son approche proposée concernant la mise en œuvre des garanties financières pour les titulaires de permis d'installations nucléaires de catégorie II et les titulaires de permis de substances nucléaires et d'appareils à rayonnement. Pour ce faire, la CCSN envisagera des modifications ou des solutions de rechange à l'approche proposée dans le document DIS-11-01, tout en respectant la nécessité de s'assurer que les contribuables canadiens n'auront pas à assumer les coûts liés à l'incapacité d'un titulaire de permis de mettre fin de manière sûre à ses activités autorisées, de déclasser son installation ou d'évacuer ses substances nucléaires et ses appareils à rayonnement. Les commentaires reçus au cours de la consultation du document de travail DIS-11-01, Mise en œuvre de garanties financières pour les titulaires de permis, sont affichés sur le site Web de la CCSN.

À l'origine, le personnel de la CCSN avait l'intention de présenter des propositions derecharge pour les garanties financières à la réunion d'avril de la Commission. Cependant, pour s'assurer que la CCSN ait suffisamment de temps pour travailler avec les parties intéressées à l'élaboration de solutions de rechange pour les garanties financières, cette présentation sera reportée jusqu'au moment où de telles propositions puissent être élaborées et examinées.

Les parties intéressées sont encouragées à consulter le site Web de la CCSN pour surveiller les développements dans ce dossier.

Historique du document

Description du document

La Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires autorise la CCSN à obliger les titulaires de permis à fournir des garanties financières en tant que conditions de permis. Ainsi, on s'assure que les titulaires de permis possèdent suffisamment de ressources financières pour garantir l'arrêt sûr de l'activité autorisée. Actuellement, l'obligation d'offrir des garanties financières ne s'applique qu'aux installations nucléaires de catégorie I et aux mines et usines de concentration d'uranium. Le document de travail DIS-11-01 offre un aperçu des plans d'élargissement du programme de garanties financières de la CCSN au cours des deux prochaines années, afin d'obliger tous les sites et activités autorisés par la CCSN à donner des garanties financières.

Pour plus d'information

Pour des questions ou de l'information relatives au document DIS-11-01, veuillez-vous adresser à :

Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
Division du cadre de réglementation
C. P. 1046, Succursale B
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9

Téléphone : 613-995-5894 ou 1-800-668-5284 (Canada seulement)
Télécopieur : 613-995-5086
Courriel : info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca

Dernière mise à jour :