Nordion (Canada) Inc.

Nordion (Canada) Inc. is a health science company that owns and is licensed to operate this nuclear substance processing facility, located in Ottawa, Ontario. The facility comprises two major production operations. One operation involves processing unsealed radioisotopes used in nuclear medicine (medical isotopes). The other operation involves manufacturing sealed radiation sources used in cancer therapy and irradiation technologies (gamma technologies).

Nordion Class IB facility and campus

Photo credit: Nordion / Canadian Aerial Photo Corporation – reuse or reproduction of this image requires written authorization from Nordion.

Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Licensee: Nordion (Canada) Inc.
Owner: Nordion (Canada) Inc.
Status: Operating
Licence issued: November 1, 2015
Licence expires: October 31, 2025
Start of operation: 1946
Licensing documentation: Request a copy of Nordion (Canada) Inc.’s licence and licence conditions handbook by emailing cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca
Facility website: Nordion (Canada) Inc.

Latest News

Commission proceedings

The Commission is an independent administrative tribunal set up at arm's length from government, without ties to the nuclear industry. Use the links below to find documents related to Commission meetings or hearings.

  • No recent Commission proceedings

Search Commission documents

Regulatory actions

The CNSC posts regulatory enforcement actions taken to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment. Use the links below to find out more about any orders or penalties that have been placed on this licensee, if any. 

  • No recent regulatory actions

View all regulatory actions

 

Disclosure

Licensees must report events and incidents involving licensed activities that could impact the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment to the CNSC. Use the links below to find any information provided by this licensee, if any, as well as other public disclosures made by licensees.

View all nuclear-related events

Protecting Canadians and the environment

Environment

The CNSC uses information provided by licensees to create our own reports assessing the environmental effects of nuclear facilities or licensed activities.

Health and safety

The CNSC oversees licensee emergency planning and works with other levels of government to ensure the health and safety of Canadians. We also conduct and review health studies on various areas associated with the production, possession or use of nuclear substances.

CNSC health studies on Canadian nuclear facilities: Relevant health studies of CNSC-regulated nuclear reactors

Date modified:

Nordion (Canada) Inc.

Nordion (Canada) Inc. est une entreprise spécialisée dans les sciences de la santé qui est propriétaire et exploitante autorisée d’une installation de traitement des substances nucléaires située à Ottawa (Ontario). L’installation comporte deux unités principales de production. La première traite des radio-isotopes non scellés utilisés en médecine nucléaire (isotopes médicaux), et l’autre fabrique des sources de rayonnement scellées utilisées en cancérothérapie et dans les technologies d’irradiation (technologies gamma).

Installation de catégorie IB et complexe de Nordion

Source : Canadian Aerial Photo Corporation pour le compte de Nordion. La réutilisation ou la reproduction de cette image nécessite une autorisation écrite de Nordion.

Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)
Titulaire de permis : Nordion (Canada) Inc.
Propriétaire : Nordion (Canada) Inc.
État En exploitation
Date de délivrance du permis : 1er novembre 2015
Date d’échéance du permis : 31 octobre 2025
Début de l’exploitation : 1946
Documents de permis : Obtenir une copie du permis et du manuel des conditions de permis de Nordion (Canada) Inc. par courriel en écrivant à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca
Site Web de l’installation : Nordion (Canada) Inc.

Dernières nouvelles

Séances de la Commission

La Commission est un tribunal administratif indépendant du gouvernement et sans liens avec le secteur nucléaire. Utilisez les liens suivants pour trouver des documents liés aux réunions et aux audiences de la Commission. 

  • Aucune séance récente de la Commission

Rechercher les documents de la Commission

 

Mesures réglementaires

La CCSN affiche les mesures réglementaires et d’application de la loi qu’elle prend pour préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et pour protéger l’environnement. Utilisez les liens ci‑dessous pour en savoir plus sur les ordres ou les sanctions qui ont été imposés à ce titulaire de permis, le cas échéant.

  • Aucune mesure réglementaire récente

Voir toutes les mesures réglementaires

Divulgation

Les titulaires de permis sont tenus de signaler à la CCSN les événements et les incidents liés aux activités autorisées qui pourraient avoir un impact sur la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et sur l’environnement. Utilisez les liens ci‑dessous pour trouver l’information fournie par ce titulaire de permis, le cas échéant, ainsi que les autres rapports publics faits par les titulaires de permis.  

Voir tous les événements liés au nucléaire

Protéger les Canadiens et l’environnement

Environnement

La CCSN se sert de l’information fournie par les titulaires de permis afin de rédiger des rapports d’évaluation des effets qu’ont les installations nucléaires ou les activités autorisées sur l’environnement.

 

Santé et sûreté

La CCSN surveille la planification d’urgence des titulaires de permis et travaille avec les différents paliers de gouvernement pour assurer la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens. De plus, la CCSN mène et examine des recherches sur la santé dans divers domaines associés à la production, la possession ou l’utilisation des substances nucléaires.

Études sur la santé de la CCSN visant les installations nucléaires canadiennes : Études pertinentes sur la santé visant les installations nucléaires réglementées par la CCSN

Dernière mise à jour :