Fitness for duty

Human performance plays a key role in the safety of nuclear facilities. Fitness for duty is a condition in which workers are physically, physiologically and psychologically capable of competently and safely performing their tasks.

Why take proactive measures to regulate fitness for duty?

Fitness for duty is one factor that affects human performance. An important element of being fit for duty is being free from the influence of alcohol, legal or illicit drugs or performance-altering medication while at work. A proactive approach to enhancing existing fitness-for-duty programs in the context of Canadian nuclear safety addresses potential risks before they become an issue.

Regulatory requirements

The requirements to address fitness for duty are captured in regulations such as the Class I Nuclear Facilities Regulations and Nuclear Security Regulations. Information clarifying and specifying regulatory expectations are found in the following published CNSC regulatory documents:

REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty: Managing Worker Fatigue

  • Published in March 2017, it sets out requirements and guidance of the CNSC with respect to managing worker fatigue for workers at high security sites, as defined in the Nuclear Security Regulations. For the purpose of this regulatory document, nuclear safety encompasses security.

REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty, Volume II: Managing Alcohol and Drug Use

  • Published in December 2017, it sets out requirements and guidance for managing fitness for duty of workers in relation to alcohol and drug use and abuse at all high-security sites, as defined in the Nuclear Security Regulations. More detail on the updates follows, below.

REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty, Volume III: Nuclear Security Officer Medical, Physical and Psychological Fitness

  • Published in September 2018, it addresses key considerations for licensees of nuclear power plants and nuclear facilities, when they provide nuclear security officer (NSO) authorization under the Nuclear Security Regulations. It sets out CNSC expectations concerning minimum requirements for NSO medical, physical and psychological certificates.

Update to REGDOC-2.2.4, Volume II

With the publication in December 2017 of updates to REGDOC-2.2.4, Fitness for Duty, Volume II: Managing Alcohol and Drug Use, the CNSC became the first federal regulator in Canada to have regulatory requirements concerning pre-placement and random testing of alcohol and drug use for safety-critical positions in the workplace.

  • Pre-placement testing is required before a worker is hired for a safety-critical position or transferred to one.
  • For the number of workers already holding safety-critical positions, the random testing sampling rate is set at 25% per year.

When developing regulatory documents, the CNSC gives careful consideration to which assessments would be imposed on each work group. The objective of REGDOC-2.2.4, Volume II, is to protect the safety and security of nuclear workers, the public and the environment.

The requirements and guidance in this regulatory document pertain to high-security sites, such as nuclear power plants. Specifically, they apply to workers holding safety-sensitive and safety-critical positions.

The CNSC also emphasizes the importance of ensuring that there is a focus on having employee support programs. These non-punitive measures to support workers play an important role in ensuring that the fitness-for-duty program is effective.

Safety-sensitive workers include:

  • CNSC-certified health physicists
  • Nuclear security personnel, including nuclear security officers and designated non-nuclear response force personnel
  • Emergency response teams and fire brigades

Safety-critical workers include:

  • CNSC-certified nuclear power plant control room workers
  • Onsite nuclear response force members

Workers holding safety-sensitive and safety-critical positions will be required to submit to alcohol and drug testing:

  • if there are reasonable grounds
  • following an incident in the workplace
  • after confirmation of a substance abuse or dependency issue

Workers holding safety-critical positions will also be required to submit to random and pre-placement alcohol and drug testing.

The restriction of random testing to the most safety significant positions at Canada’s high-security nuclear facilities strikes the right balance between respecting human rights and privacy, and strengthening nuclear safety and security.

Resources

Locations of Canada’s high-security sites

Date modified:

Aptitude au travail

La performance humaine joue un rôle clé dans la sûreté des installations nucléaires. Par aptitude au travail, on entend l’état des travailleurs capables sur les plans physique, physiologique et psychologique d’effectuer leurs tâches avec compétence et de manière sécuritaire.

Pourquoi prenons-nous des mesures proactives pour réglementer l’aptitude au travail?

L’aptitude au travail est un facteur qui a un impact sur la performance humaine. Afin d’être apte au travail, il ne faut pas être sous l’influence d’alcool, de drogues licites ou illicites ou de médicaments susceptibles d’altérer les facultés au travail. Pour assurer la sûreté nucléaire au Canada, il faut améliorer proactivement les programmes d’aptitude au travail afin de gérer les risques avant qu’ils ne deviennent des problèmes.

Exigences réglementaires

Les exigences concernant l’aptitude au travail figurent dans le Règlement sur les installations de catégorie I et le Règlement sur la sécurité nucléaire, entre autres. Des exigences plus détaillées sur les attentes en matière de réglementation se trouvent dans les documents d’application de la réglementation suivants, publiés par la CCSN :

REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail : Gérer la fatigue des travailleurs

  • Paru en mars 2017, ce document énonce les exigences et l’orientation de la CCSN relativement à la gestion de la fatigue des travailleurs aux sites à sécurité élevée, comme il est indiqué dans le Règlement sur la sécurité nucléaire. Aux fins de ce document, la sûreté nucléaire englobe la sécurité.

REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail, tome II : Gérer la consommation d’alcool et de drogues

  • Paru en décembre 2017, ce document énonce les exigences et l’orientation de la CCSN relativement à la gestion de l’aptitude au travail des employés de tous les sites à sécurité élevée en ce qui a trait à la consommation et l’abus d’alcool et de drogues, conformément au Règlement sur la sécurité nucléaire. Vous trouverez des détails sur la mise à jour de ce document ci-dessous.

REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail, tome III : Aptitudes psychologiques, médicales et physiques des agents de sécurité nucléaire

  • Paru en septembre 2018, ce document porte sur les éléments essentiels pour les titulaires de permis de centrales nucléaires et d’installations nucléaires qui accordent des autorisations à des agents de sécurité nucléaire en vertu du Règlement sur la sécurité nucléaire. Il énonce les attentes de la CCSN en ce qui concerne les exigences minimales relatives aux certificats d’aptitudes psychologiques, médicales et physiques des agents de sécurité nucléaire.

Mise à jour du REGDOC-2.2.4, tome II

Lorsqu’elle a mis à jour le REGDOC-2.2.4, Aptitude au travail, tome II : Gérer la consommation d’alcool et de drogues en décembre 2017, la CCSN est devenue le premier organisme de réglementation fédéral du Canada à mettre en place des exigences réglementaires concernant les tests de dépistage préalables à l’affectation et les tests aléatoires de dépistage d’alcool et de drogues pour les employés occupant des postes essentiels sur le plan de la sûreté.

  • Les tests de dépistage préalables à l’affectation sont exigés avant l’embauche ou le transfert d’un employé dans un poste essentiel sur le plan de la sûreté.
  • Le nombre de tests aléatoires effectués chaque année doit être égal à 25 % du nombre de travailleurs occupant des postes essentiels sur le plan de la sûreté.

Lorsqu’elle crée des documents d’application de la réglementation, la CCSN examine soigneusement quels tests seraient imposés à chaque groupe de travail. L’objectif du REGDOC­2.2.4, tome II est de protéger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs du secteur nucléaire, du public et de l’environnement.

Les exigences et l’orientation s’appliquent aux sites à sécurité élevée, comme les centrales nucléaires. Plus précisément, elles visent les travailleurs occupant des postes importants et essentiels sur le plan de la sûreté.

La CCSN met aussi l’accent sur l’importance de la mise en place de programmes de soutien aux employés. Ces mesures non punitives visant à aider les travailleurs jouent un rôle important, car elles permettent de s’assurer que le programme d’aptitude au travail est efficace.

Travailleurs occupant des postes importants sur le plan de la sûreté :

  • les spécialistes en radioprotection accrédités par la CCSN
  • le personnel de sécurité, y compris les agents de sécurité nucléaire et le personnel désigné qui ne fait pas partie de la force d’intervention pour la sécurité nucléaire les équipes d’intervention d’urgence et le corps de pompiers

Travailleurs occupant des postes essentiels sur le plan de la sûreté :

  • les travailleurs de la salle de commande d’une centrale nucléaire accrédités par la CCSN
  • les membres de la force d’intervention pour la sécurité nucléaire sur le site

Les travailleurs occupant des postes importants et essentiels sur le plan de la sûreté devront se soumettre à des tests de dépistage d’alcool et de drogues :

  • s’il y a des motifs raisonnables
  • à la suite d’un incident au travail
  • après confirmation d’un problème de toxicomanie ou de dépendance

Les travailleurs occupant des postes essentiels sur le plan de la sûreté devront également se soumettre à des tests de dépistage d’alcool et de drogues aléatoires et préalables à l’affectation.

Restreindre les tests aléatoires de dépistage aux travailleurs occupant les postes les plus importants sur le plan de la sûreté aux installations nucléaires à sécurité élevée au Canada établit le juste équilibre entre le respect des droits et de la vie privée d’une personne et le renforcement de la sûreté et de la sécurité nucléaires.

Ressources

Emplacement des sites à sécurité élevée au Canada

Dernière mise à jour :