Order issued to Edward Wong & Associates Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the CNSC to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2020

April 16, 2020

Update to regulatory action issued to Edward Wong & Associates Inc.

On April 16, 2020, the CNSC confirmed that Edward Wong & Associates Inc. met the terms and conditions of the order issued on February 20, 2020 in full. The CNSC conducted a thorough review of the corrective measures implemented by the company and found these measures to be satisfactory.

February 20, 2020

Order issued to Edward Wong & Associates Inc.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Edward Wong & Associates Inc., a company based in Markham, Ontario. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purpose of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the licensee’s facility in Markham, Ontario. The inspection identified that the licensee was not complying with regulatory requirements in the following areas with respect to the nuclear gauges: worker obligations, worker training, use of equipment, procedures, maintenance of records, ascertainment of doses, and transportation of the gauges. The inspection also identified that the licensee was not complying with regulatory requirements for the management oversight of the radiation protection program and work practices.

The order requires the licensee to immediately place all nuclear gauges in secure storage and to cease all activities involving the gauges. The licensee is required to take these measures until it can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that there is effective management control of the radiation protection program and work practices, and that all items of non-compliance identified in the inspection report have been corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Date modified:

Ordre délivré à Edward Wong & Associates Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la CCSN afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2020

16 avril 2020

Mise à jour à la mesure réglementaire imposée à Edward Wong & Associates Inc.

Le 16 avril 2020, la CCSN a confirmé qu’Edward Wong & Associates Inc. avait respecté toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 20 février 2020. La CCSN a procédé à un examen approfondi des mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise et a conclu que ces mesures étaient satisfaisantes.

20 février 2020

Ordre délivré à Edward Wong & Associates Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Edward Wong & Associates Inc., une entreprise établie à Markham (Ontario). L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives servant à mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection menée par la CCSN aux installations du titulaire de permis à Markham (Ontario), au cours de laquelle il a été constaté que ce dernier ne respectait pas les exigences réglementaires visant les jauges nucléaires dans les domaines suivants : obligations des travailleurs, formation des travailleurs, utilisation de l’équipement, procédures, tenue des dossiers, détermination des doses, et transport des jauges. Lors de l’inspection, il a également été constaté que le titulaire de permis ne respectait pas les exigences réglementaires en matière de surveillance de la gestion du programme de radioprotection et des pratiques de travail.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire du permis place immédiatement toutes les jauges nucléaires en lieu sûr et cesse toute activité qui fait appel à ces jauges. Le titulaire du permis est tenu de prendre ces mesures jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que le contrôle de la gestion du programme de radioprotection et des pratiques de travail est efficace, et que tous les points de non-conformité signalés dans le Rapport d’inspection ont été réglés.

La CCSN exige ces mesures afin de préserver la santé et la sûreté des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

Dernière mise à jour :