Low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste

In Canada, low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste refers to all forms of radioactive waste, except used nuclear fuel, limited waste from the production of medical isotopes, and the waste from uranium mining and milling.

International deep geologic repositories

Deep geological repositories have been built or are being considered in countries around the world, including the United States, Finland, France, Sweden and the United Kingdom. Nuclear regulators in these countries, including the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC), share information and best practices to ensure the safe long-term management of radioactive waste in geologic repositories.

Read about the CNSC's participation in international projects.

United States: Waste Isolation Pilot Plant Recovery (Source: United States Department of Energy)

The February 2014 events at the US Department of Energy’s (US DOE) Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP) are currently under investigation by regulatory authorities in the United States.

While the WIPP is a deep geologic repository, it is different in both design (in a salt formation) and type of waste (waste that is the by-product of the US’ nuclear defense program) that those being proposed in Canada. Nevertheless, the events will provide operational experience that any Canadian licensee or applicant for a repository wouldbe required to consider in an application for an operating licence.

For more information, please visit the WIPP website.

Low-level radioactive waste

Low-level waste storage  facility

Low-level waste storage facility

Low-level radioactive waste contains material that is more radioactive than clearance levels and exemption quantities allow. This type of waste loses most or all of its radioactivity within 300 years.

It includes contaminated equipment from the operation of nuclear power plants (like protective shoe covers and clothing, rags, mops, equipment and tools).

Low-level radioactive waste does not usually require heavy shielding during handling and interim storage. Shielding refers to a barrier (like a concrete wall or protective clothing) between stored waste and nuclear workers.

The owners of low-level radioactive waste are responsible for managing the waste they produce. This usually takes place onsite, within its own facility.

Other than low-level waste originating from nuclear power plants, low-level radioactive waste that requires long-term management may be returned to the manufacturer.

Short-lived radioactive waste

Example of very short-lived radioactive waste. Containers holding radioactive isotopes become waste after they are used and must be managed accordingly.

It may also be transferred to an authorized waste management operator, such as the waste management facility operated by Canadian Nuclear Laboratories at its Chalk River Laboratories, on a fee-for-service basis.

Very short-lived low-level radioactive waste (such as that from hospitals, universities and industry) generally contains only small amounts of radioactive materials with short half-lives. This means that radioactivity decays away in hours or days.

Waste in this category is safely held until the radioactivity has decayed to levels authorized by the CNSC. It can then be disposed of by conventional means (in local landfill or sewer systems).

Intermediate-level radioactive waste

Waste that has been exposed to alpha radiation, or that contains long-lived radionuclides in concentrations that require isolation and containment for periods beyond several hundred years, is classified as intermediate-level radioactive waste.

It typically requires shielding during handling and interim storage. This type of waste includes refurbishment waste, ion-exchange resins and some radioactive sources used in radiation therapy.

The owners of intermediate-level radioactive waste are responsible for managing the waste they produce. This usually takes place onsite, within its own facility.

Intermediate  waste storage units at one of the OPG sites

Intermediate waste storage units at one of the OPG sites

Intermediate-level radioactive waste that requires long-term management may also be returned to the manufacturer or transferred to an authorized waste management operator – such as the waste management facility operated by CNL at its Chalk River Laboratories – on a fee-for-service basis.

Main sources of low- and intermediate-level waste

Ontario Power Generation (OPG), which owns 20 of Canada’s 22 CANDU reactors, is responsible for approximately 77 percent of the operational low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste generated in Canada each year.

CNL produces approximately 17 percent of the total Canadian annual volume, through its research and development activities at CRL and onsite decommissioning activities. CNL has waste storage facilities at its two laboratory sites - Chalk River Laboratories and Whiteshell Laboratories - as well as at its three prototype reactor sites.

CNL also accepts low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste for long-term management from many small producers and users of radioactive materials, amounting to a further three percent of Canada’s annual volume.

The other two CANDU reactors (owned by New Brunswick Power and Hydro-Québec) and Cameco Corporation’s uranium processing and conversion facilities generate most of the remaining waste.

Long-term management of low- and intermediate-level waste

A long-term management strategy is required for low- and intermediate-level waste containing long-lived radioisotopes.

At the moment, there are two main projects for the long-term management of low- and intermediate-level waste:

Who pays for the long-term management of radioactive waste?

Artist's representation of potential OPG deep geologic repository

Artist’s representation of potential OPG deep geologic repository

The CNSC requires facility operators to ensure they have sufficient funds to cover the costs associated with the long-term management of low- and intermediate-level waste.

OntarioPower Generation’s proposed deep geologic repository

OPG’s proposed deep geologic repository (DGR) will serve as a long-term storage facility for its low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste. An environmental assessment and regulatory review for a site preparation and construction licence are in progress.

It has been proposed to locate the DGR at the Bruce nuclear site in the municipality of Kincardine, Ontario. OPG is proposing that a deep rock vault be constructed in the limestone layer, hundreds of metres underground.

Nuclear Legacy Liabilities Program

The Government of Canada’s Nuclear Legacy Liabilities Program was launched in 2006 and provides a long-term strategy to manage legacy waste and contamination on CNL sites, including Chalk River Laboratories

Aerial view of AECL’s Whiteshell Laboratories, near Pinawa, Manitoba

Aerial photograph of CNL’s Whiteshell Laboratories

Déchets radioactifs de faible et de moyenne activité

Au Canada, les déchets de faible et de moyenne activité englobent toutes les formes de déchets radioactifs, à l'exception du combustible épuisé, des déchets en faible quantité issus de la production d'isotopes médicaux et des déchets provenant de l'extraction et de la concentration de l'uranium.

Dépôts en formations géologiques profondes internationaux

Les pays qui ont construit des dépôts en formations géologiques profondes ou qui l'envisagent comprennent notamment les États-Unis, la Finlande, la France, la Suède et le Royaume-Uni. Les organismes de réglementation nucléaire de ces pays, y compris la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), mettent en commun de l'information et des pratiques exemplaires pour assurer la gestion sécuritaire à long terme des déchets radioactifs stockés dans les dépôts en formations géologiques.

Prenez connaissance de la participation de la CCSN à des projets internationaux.

Installation pilote de confinement des déchets – Récupération (source : Département de l'Énergie des États-Unis)

Les événements survenus en février 2014 à l'Installation pilote de confinement des déchets du département de l’Énergie des États-Unis font actuellement l’objet d’une enquête par les autorités chargées de la réglementation dans ce pays.

Cette installation est un dépôt en formations géologiques profondes, mais sa conception (dans des formations salifères) et les types de déchets (sous-produits du programme de défense des É.-U.) qui y sont stockés diffèrent de ceux proposés au Canada. Cependant, ces événements fourniront l’expérience opérationnelle que tout titulaire ou demandeur de permis de dépôt doit tenir compte dans sa demande de permis d’exploitation.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site Web de l'Installation pilote de confinement des déchets (en anglais seulement).

Déchets radioactifs de faible activité

Installation de stockage de déchets de faible activité

Installation de stockage de déchets de faible activité

Les déchets de faible activité contiennent des matières dont la radioactivité dépasse les seuils autorisés et les quantités d’exemption. Ce type de déchets perd la majorité ou la totalité de sa radioactivité en 300 ans ou moins.

Cette catégorie comprend l’équipement contaminé par les activités d’exploitation des centrales nucléaires (par exemple, les couvre-chaussures et les vêtements de protection, les chiffons, les vadrouilles, l’équipement et les outils).

Le transport et le stockage temporaire des déchets de faible activité ne nécessitent habituellement pas la présence d’un blindage lourd. Le blindage est une barrière (comme un mur de béton ou un vêtement protecteur) séparant les déchets entreposés des travailleurs du secteur nucléaire.

Les propriétaires de déchets radioactifs de faible activité ont la responsabilité de gérer les déchets qu’ils produisent. Cette gestion est habituellement effectuée sur place, dans leurs propres installations.

Mis à part ceux provenant de centrales nucléaires, les déchets radioactifs de faible activité qui nécessitent une gestion à long terme peuvent être renvoyés au producteur.

Exemple de déchets radioactifs et à vie très courte :  Les contenants d’isotopes radioactifs deviennent des déchets après leur  utilisation et doivent être gérés de manière appropriée

Exemple de déchets radioactifs et à vie très courte : Les contenants d’isotopes radioactifs deviennent des déchets après leur utilisation et doivent être gérés de manière appropriée

Ils peuvent également être transférés à un exploitant autorisé d’installation de gestion des déchets comme celle qui est exploitée par les Laboratoires Nucléaire Canadiens aux Laboratoires de Chalk River, selon le régime de la rémunération des services.

Les déchets radioactifs de faible activité et à vie très courte (comme ceux produits par les hôpitaux, les universités et l’industrie) ne contiennent généralement que de petites quantités de matières radioactives ayant une courte période radioactive. La période de décroissance de la radioactivité de tels déchets se calcule en heures ou en jours.

Les déchets de cette catégorie sont conservés de façon sûre le temps que la radioactivité décroisse sous les seuils autorisés par la CCSN. On peut alors s’en débarrasser par les moyens habituels (site d’enfouissement local ou réseau d’égouts).

Déchets radioactifs de moyenne activité

Les déchets ayant été exposés à des rayonnements alpha ou contenant des radionucléides à longue période en concentrations telles qu’elles doivent faire l’objet d’un isolement et d’un confinement dépassant plusieurs centaines d’années sont classés dans la catégorie des déchets radioactifs de moyenne activité.

Les déchets de cette catégorie nécessitent habituellement l’utilisation d’un blindage pour leur manipulation et leur stockage temporaire. Ce type de déchets comprend les déchets produits par les travaux de remise à neuf, les résines d’échange ionique et certaines sources radioactives utilisées en radiothérapie.

Les propriétaires de déchets radioactifs de moyenne activité ont la responsabilité de gérer les déchets qu’ils produisent. Cette gestion est habituellement effectuée sur place, dans leurs propres installations.

Unités de stockage de déchets de moyenne activité à l’un des  sites d’OPG

Unités de stockage de déchets de moyenne activité à l’un des sites d’OPG

Les déchets de moyenne activité nécessitant une gestion à long terme peuvent également être renvoyés au producteur ou être transférés à un exploitant autorisé d’installation de gestion des déchets, comme celle qui est exploitée par Énergie atomique du Canada limitée aux Laboratoires de Chalk River, qui exigera des frais déterminés en fonction des services rendus.

Principales sources de déchets de faible et de moyenne activité

Ontario Power Generation (OPG), qui possède 20 des 22 rédacteurs CANDU du Canada, est responsable d’environ 77 % de la production annuelle de déchets d’exploitation radioactifs de faible et de moyenne activité au pays.

LNC produit environ 17 % du volume annuel total au Canada par ses activités de recherche et de développement aux Laboratoires de Chalk River (LCR) et ses activités de déclassement sur place. LNC possède des installations de stockage à ses deux sites de laboratoires (les LCR et les Laboratoires de Whiteshell), ainsi qu’à ses trois sites de réacteur prototype.

LNC accepte également les déchets de faible et de moyenne activité de nombreux petits producteurs et utilisateurs de matières radioactives pour leur gestion à long terme, ce qui représente encore 3 % du volume annuel du Canada.

Les deux autres réacteurs CANDU, qui sont la propriété d’Énergie NB et d’Hydro-Québec, et les installations de traitement et de conversion d’uranium de la société Cameco produisent le gros des déchets restants.

Gestion à long terme des déchets radioactifs de faible et de moyenne activité

Il est nécessaire de disposer d’une stratégie de gestion à long terme des déchets de faible et de moyenne activité contenant des radio-isotopes à longue période. 

Pour le moment, il existe deux principaux projets pour la gestion à long terme des déchets de faible et de moyenne activité :

Q : Qui paie pour la gestion à long terme des déchets radioactifs?

Esquisse d’un potentiel dépôt en  formation géologique profonde d’OPG

Esquisse d’un potentiel dépôt dans des couches géologiques profondes d’OPG

La CCSN exige des exploitants d’installation qu’ils aient des fonds suffisants pour couvrir les coûts associés à la gestion à long terme des déchets de faible et de moyenne activité.

Projet de stockage dans des couches géologiques profondes proposé par Ontario Power Generation

Le projet de stockage dans des couches géologique profonde (DFGP) proposé par Ontario Power Generation (OPG) servira d’installation de stockage à long terme pour ses déchets radioactifs de faible et de moyenne activité. Une évaluation environnementale et un examen réglementaire sont en cours concernant un permis de préparation d’emplacement et de construction.

On a proposé de construire le dépôt au complexe nucléaire de Bruce dans la municipalité de Kincardine, en Ontario. OPG propose d’aménager une enceinte dans une couche de calcaire profonde, à des centaines de mètres sous la surface.

Programme des responsabilités nucléaires héritées

Le Programme des responsabilités nucléaires héritées du gouvernement du Canada lancé en 2006 fournit une stratégie à long terme pour la gestion des déchets hérités et de la contamination aux sites de LNC, y compris les Laboratoires de Chalk River

Vue aérienne des Laboratoires de Whiteshell d’EACL près de Pinawa,  au Manitoba

Vue aérienne des Laboratoires de Whiteshell de LNC