Port Hope Area Initiative

Progress on the Port Hope Area Initiative (PHAI) which includes the Port Hope and Port Granby Projects, is a priority for the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) and its federal government partners. The CNSC has regulatory oversight and approval of both of these clean-up projects. The CNSC has issued a licence for both projects (details belows).

Latest News

Other Milestones

Project description

As a result of radium and uranium processing by former Crown corporation Eldorado Nuclear Limited, low-level radioactive waste was deposited from the 1930s to 1980s in the municipalities of Port Hope and Clarington. The Port Hope Area Initiative (PHAI) is the Government of Canada’s response to a community-recommended solution for this long-standing issue. The Port Hope Area Initiative’s goals are the cleanup and safe, long-term management of the historic low-level radioactive waste in these municipalities. The project is being carried out by the PHAI Management Office, through a partnership between Natural Resources Canada, Public Works and Government Services Canada, and Canadian Nuclear Laboratories.

For more information about the PHAI, visit www.phai.ca

One Initiative, Two Projects

PHAI represents a commitment by the Government of Canada to respond to the community-recommended solutions to this long-standing environmental problem. The two remediation projects under the Initiative are the Port Hope Project and the Port Granby Project.

The projects are moving forward in a phased approach:

  • Phase 1: The planning phase, involving environmental assessment and regulatory review of the PHAI
  • Phase 2: The implementation phase, involving facility construction and contaminated sites remediation
  • Phase 3: The post-closure phase, involving ongoing monitoring and maintenance of the PHAI-built facilities over the long-term

Read Commission Tribunal notices, transcripts and Records of Decision related to facilities in the Port Hope area.

Initiative de la région de Port Hope

Les progrès de l'Initiative de la région de Port Hope (IRPH) - qui comprend les Projets de Port Hope et de Port Granby - sont une priorité pour la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) et ses partenaires du gouvernement fédéral. La CCSN est responsable de la surveillance réglementaire et de l'approbation de ces deux projets d'assainissement. Un permis a été délivré par la CCSN pour chacun des projets (détails ci-dessous).

Dernières nouvelles

Autres étapes

Description du projet

En raison de la transformation du radium et de l’uranium effectuée par la société d’État Eldorado Nuclear Limited, des déchets radioactifs de faible activité ont été entreposés des années 1930 aux années 1980 dans les municipalités de Port Hope et de Clarington. L’Initiative de la région de Port Hope (IRPH) constitue la réponse du gouvernement du Canada à une recommandation publique comme solution à ce problème de longue date. Son objectif consiste à nettoyer les déchets radioactifs hérités de faible activité dans ces municipalités et d'en assurer la gestion sécuritaire et à long terme. L’Initiative est menée par le bureau de l’IRPH, dans le cadre d’un partenariat entre Ressources naturelles Canada, Travaux publics et services gouvernementaux Canada, et les Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens.

Pour en savoir davantage sur l’IRPH, visitez le www.phai.ca

Une initiative, deux projets

L'IRPH représente un engagement de la part du gouvernement du Canada visant à donner suite aux solutions recommandées par la collectivité à ce problème environnemental de longue date. Les deux projets de restauration qui font partie de l'initiative sont le Projet de Port Hope et le Projet de Port Granby.

Les projets procèdent par phases :

  • Phase 1 : La phase de planification (évaluation environnementale et examen réglementaire de l'IRPH)
  • Phase 2 : La phase de mise en œuvre (construction des installations et décontamination des sites)
  • Phase 3 : La phase post-fermeture (surveillance et maintenance à long terme des installations construites dans le cadre de l'IRPH)

Consultez les avis du tribunal de la Commission, les transcriptions et les comptes rendus de délibérations des audiences et des réunions concernant les installations de la région de Port Hope.