Participant Funding for the Regulatory Oversight Report for Uranium Mines and Mills in Canada: 2018

The participant funding offering for the Regulatory Oversight Report for Uranium Mines and Mills in Canada: 2018 is open from May 27, 2019 to July 26, 2019.

Participant funding notice

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is offering participant funding to assist Indigenous peoples, members of the public and stakeholders in reviewing CNSC staff’s Regulatory Oversight Report for Uranium Mines and Mills in Canada: 2018 and submitting comments, in writing, to the Commission. In addition, the CNSC will allow Indigenous intervenors the opportunity to make oral presentations in the spirit of reconciliation and in recognition of the Indigenous oral tradition of sharing knowledge.

On December 11 and 12, 2019, the CNSC will hold a public meeting at which CNSC staff will present the report to the Commission. The report will provide CNSC staff’s assessment of the regulatory performance in 2018 of licensees and their facilities authorized by the CNSC for the mining and milling of uranium.

Up to $50,000 in participant funding will be disbursed among all eligible applicants for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information through informed and topic-specific interventions to the Commission.

To apply for participant funding, interested parties must complete and submit a participant funding application form (PDF 1292 Kb). Certain terms and conditions apply. An application form can be submitted in the following way:

  • Email: cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    c/o Participant Funding Program Administrator
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, ON, Canada  K1P 5S9
  • Fax: 613-995-5086

The deadline for submitting a participant funding application is July 26, 2019.

A funding review committee that is independent of the CNSC will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

For information on how to participate, visit the Public Commission meetings and Participant Funding Program sections of the CNSC website.

For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact:

Adam Zenobi
Participant Funding Program Administrator
613-992-8469
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Date modified:

Financement des participants offert pour l’examen du Rapport de surveillance réglementaire des mines et usines de concentration d’uranium au Canada : 2018

Les demandes de financement des participants pour l’examen du Rapport de surveillance réglementaire des mines et usines de concentration d’uranium au Canada : 2018 seront acceptées du 27 mai au 26 juillet 2019.

Avis de financement des participants

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) offre du financement pour aider les peuples autochtones, le public et les parties intéressées à examiner le Rapport de surveillance réglementaire des mines et usines de concentration d’uranium au Canada : 2018 (le Rapport) du personnel de la CCSN et à soumettre des commentaires écrits sur le Rapport à la Commission. De plus, la CCSN donnera aux intervenants autochtones l’occasion de faire des présentations orales dans un esprit de réconciliation et pour reconnaître leur tradition de transmission orale des connaissances.

La CCSN tiendra une réunion publique les 11 et 12 décembre 2019 pendant laquelle son personnel présentera le Rapport à la Commission. Ce rapport traitera de l’évaluation effectuée par le personnel de la CCSN du rendement des titulaires de permis et de leurs installations autorisées par la CCSN pour l’extraction et la concentration d’uranium.

De l’aide financière pouvant atteindre 50 000 $ sera répartie parmi l’ensemble des demandeurs admissibles pour la présentation de renseignements nouveaux et utiles à la Commission au moyen d’interventions propres au sujet examiné.

Pour faire une demande de financement des participants, les parties intéressées doivent remplir et soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement des participants (PDF 1343 Ko) et respecter certaines conditions générales. Le formulaire de demande peut être soumis par l’un des moyens suivants :

  • Courriel : cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    a/s de : Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
    280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5S9
    Canada
  • Télécopieur : 613-995-5086

La date limite pour soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement est le 26 juillet 2019.

Un comité d’examen de l’aide financière, indépendant de la CCSN, examinera toutes les demandes et formulera des recommandations sur l’attribution des fonds.

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l’environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de participer, consultez les sections Réunions publiques de la Commission et Programme de financement des participants du site Web de la CCSN.

Pour toute question sur cette possibilité de financement, communiquez avec :

Adam Zenobi
Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
613-992-8469
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Dernière mise à jour :