Participant funding for the Regulatory Oversight Report on the Use of Nuclear Substances in Canada: 2019 and Class IB Accelerators in Canada: 2018-2019

This participant funding opportunity is open from June 19 to July 20, 2020.

Participant funding notice

The CNSC is offering participant funding to assist Indigenous peoples, members of the public and stakeholders in reviewing CNSC staff’s two-part regulatory oversight report ‒ Part I, Use of Nuclear Substances in Canada: 2019 and Part II, Class IB Accelerators in Canada: 2018 and 2019 (the report) ‒ and submitting comments in writing to the Commission. In addition, Indigenous intervenors will have the opportunity to make oral presentations in the spirit of reconciliation and in recognition of the Indigenous oral tradition of sharing knowledge. Oral presentations will be made remotely due to potential travel restrictions or limitations relating to the COVID-19 pandemic.

On November 4 and 5, 2020, the CNSC will hold a public meeting where CNSC staff will present the report to the Commission. Parts I and II of the report will consist of a standalone presentation and a plain-language executive summary. Part I will provide CNSC staff’s assessment of the safety performance of licensees in the medical, industrial, academic and research, and commercial sectors that used nuclear substances in Canada in 2019. Part II will summarize CNSC staff's assessment of the performance of the two Class IB accelerator facilities in Canada, TRIUMF and Canadian Light Source Inc.

Up to $20,000 in participant funding will be disbursed among all eligible applicants for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information through informed and topic-specific interventions to the Commission. PFP applications must clearly demonstrate how the proposed intervention will provide the Commission with information directly related to the report, the safety performance of nuclear substances licensees in 2019 or safety performance at the two Class IB accelerator facilities in 2018-2019. Funding for travel to the Commission meeting is not within the scope of this funding opportunity. However, Indigenous groups may still participate remotely.

To apply, submit a participant funding application form. Certain terms and conditions apply. An application form can be submitted by:

  • Email: cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    c/o Participant Funding Program Administrator
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, ON, Canada K1P 5S9
  • Fax: 613-995-5086

Deadline for submitting a participant funding application: July 20, 2020

A funding review committee that is independent of the CNSC will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact:

Adam Zenobi
Participant Funding Program Administrator
613-415-2814
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Date modified:

Financement des participants offert pour l’examen du Rapport de surveillance réglementaire sur l’utilisation des substances nucléaires au Canada en 2019 et sur les accélérateurs de catégorie IB au Canada en 2018-2019

Les demandes de financement des participants seront acceptées du 19 juin au 20 juillet 2020.

Avis de financement des participants

La CCSN offre du financement pour aider les peuples autochtones, le public et les parties intéressées à examiner un rapport de surveillance réglementaire du personnel de la CCSN qui comporte deux parties : Partie I, Utilisation des substances nucléaires au Canada : 2019, et Partie II, Accélérateurs de catégorie IB au Canada : 2018 et 2019 (le rapport) et à soumettre des commentaires écrits à la Commission. De plus, la CCSN donnera aux intervenants autochtones l’occasion de faire des présentations orales dans un esprit de réconciliation et pour reconnaître leur tradition de transmission orale des connaissances. En raison des limites ou restrictions sur les déplacements liées à la pandémie de COVID-19, les présentations orales se dérouleront à distance.

La CCSN tiendra une réunion publique les 4 et 5 novembre 2020 pendant laquelle son personnel présentera le rapport à la Commission. Les Parties I et II du rapport consisteront toutes deux en un exposé et un résumé en langage clair et simple. La Partie I présentera l’évaluation du personnel de la CCSN à l’égard du rendement en matière de sûreté des titulaires de permis dans les secteurs médical, industriel, commercial, et universitaire et de la recherche qui ont utilisé des substances nucléaires au Canada en 2019. La Partie II fera la synthèse de l’évaluation du personnel de la CCSN à l’égard du rendement des deux installations de catégorie IB dotées d’un accélérateur au Canada (TRIUMF et le Centre canadien de rayonnement synchrotron).

De l’aide financière pouvant atteindre 20 000 $ sera répartie parmi l’ensemble des demandeurs admissibles pour la présentation de renseignements nouveaux et utiles à la Commission au moyen d’interventions propres au sujet examiné. Les demandes de financement doivent indiquer clairement dans quelle mesure l’intervention proposée fournira à la Commission de l’information concernant directement le rapport, le rendement en matière de sûreté des titulaires de permis de substances nucléaires au cours de 2019 ou aux deux installations de catégorie IB dotées d’un accélérateur en 2018-2019. L’aide financière pour se rendre à la réunion publique n’est pas disponible.

Pour faire une demande de financement, il faut remplir et soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement des participants et respecter certaines conditions générales. Le formulaire de demande peut être soumis par l’un des moyens suivants :

  • Courriel : cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    a/s de : Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
    280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5S9
    Canada
  • Télécopieur : 613-995-5086

Date limite pour soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement : 20 juillet 2020

Un comité d’examen de l’aide financière, indépendant de la CCSN, examinera toutes les demandes et formulera des recommandations sur l’attribution des fonds.

Pour toute question sur cette possibilité de financement, communiquez avec :

Adam Zenobi
Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
613-415-2814
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Dernière mise à jour :