How PFP works

Interested in finding out more about the CNSC’s Participant Funding Program (PFP)? The CNSC just launched a video that explains how we provide financial assistance through our PFP program to help get the public involved in our regulatory activities. Find out how the PFP works, who can apply, what are eligible expenses, and more. View the video.

The Canadian Nuclear safety Commission's (CNSC) Participant Funding Program is effectively managed according to the six following steps:

1. Public announcement

The CNSC announces that participant funding is available for a specific matter and posts the information on its website. This notice states who may apply and the maximum funding amount available. PFP application forms can be submitted for a specific period of time, as indicated in the notice and determined on a case-by-case basis.

2. Complete funding application

Parties wishing to apply for participant funding must complete the Funding Application Form by the stated deadline. Funding applicants are required to outline their proposal and projected expenditures, and explain how their proposed activities will add value to the CNSC’s regulatory processes.

3. Funding recommendations

An independent funding review committee reviews all funding applications and makes recommendations for each applicant. Funding applicants are notified of funding decisions, which are also posted on the CNSC website.

4. Contribution agreement

A contribution agreement (PDF) is sent to successful funding applicants. It outlines what information the CNSC expects to receive from the applicant, and the maximum funding approved for the matter. Successful funding applicants must sign and return the contribution agreement to the CNSC for the release of any approved funding.

5. Fulfillment of contribution Agreement

Successful applicants must provide deliverables to the CNSC within the agreed-upon timelines, in accordance with the terms and conditions of the program. A final financial report (PDF) of eligible expenditures must be submitted to the CNSC to complete the requirements of the contribution agreement. Recipients are not required to submit receipts to the CNSC, but are strongly encouraged to retain them for at least three (3) years in the event of an audit.

6. Payment conditions

Payment is normally made by the CNSC following the receipt of the signed contribution agreement, the deliverable(s) and the final financial report within the agreed-upon timelines. Subject to the maximum contribution established in the contribution agreement, the CNSC will reimburse the recipient only for eligible costs incurred.

Where warranted, an advance payment may be issued following the receipt of a signed contribution agreement. Recipients must contact the PFP administrator to request advance payments. Should an advance payment be made by the CNSC, the percentage of remaining funding, or appropriate difference owing, shall be made following the recipient’s fulfillment of the contribution agreement. Advance payments shall not exceed seventy-five (75) percent of the maximum amount approved for that recipient.

For additional information, please consult the Participant Funding Program Guide (PDF) and our PFP frequently asked questions or contact us.

Participant Funding Program

Comment le PFP fonctionne

Pour ceux qui aimeraient en savoir plus sur le Programme de financement des participants (PFP), la CCSN vient de lancer une vidéo expliquant comment nous fournissons de l’aide financière grâce au PFP afin d’inciter le public à participer à nos activités réglementaires. Découvrez comment fonctionne le PFP, qui peut présenter une demande, quelles demandes sont admissibles, etc. Visionner la vidéo.

Le PFP de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) est géré efficacement aux termes des six étapes suivantes :

1. Annonce publique

La CCSN annonce qu’une aide financière aux participants est disponible pour un sujet donné et affiche l’information sur son site Web. Cet avis indique quelles personnes sont admissibles ainsi que le montant maximal disponible. Le formulaire de demande doit être soumis dans un délai prescrit, tel qu’indiqué dans l’avis et déterminé au cas par cas.

2. Remplir la demande d’aide financière

Les parties intéressées qui souhaitent demander une aide financière aux participants doivent remplir le Formulaire de demande d’aide financière avant la date limite indiquée. Les requérants doivent fournir les grandes lignes de leur proposition, établir les dépenses prévues et expliquer comment leurs activités proposées apporteront de la valeur aux processus d’application de la réglementation de la CCSN.

3. Recommandations sur le financement

Un comité indépendant d’examen de l’aide financière (CEAF) examine toutes les demandes et formule des recommandations au sujet de chaque demande. Les requérants sont avisés des décisions de financement prises. Ces décisions sont également affichées sur le site Web de la CCSN.

4. Accord de contribution

Un accord de contribution (PDF) est envoyé aux requérants approuvés. Cet accord décrit l’information que la CCSN s’attend à recevoir du requérant ainsi que le montant maximal approuvé pour le dossier. Les requérants approuvés doivent signer et retourner l’accord de contribution à la CCSN afin qu’elle débloque les fonds accordés.

5. Respect de l’accord de contribution

Les requérants approuvés doivent fournir leurs produits livrables à la CCSN dans le respect des délais impartis, et conformément aux modalités et conditions du Programme. Un rapport financier final (PDF) des dépenses admissibles doit être remis à la CCSN afin de respecter les exigences de l’accord de contribution. Les bénéficiaires ne sont pas tenus de présenter leurs reçus à la CCSN, mais il leur est fortement conseillé de conserver ceux-ci pendant au moins trois (3) ans, en cas de vérification.

6. Conditions de paiement

Le paiement est normalement effectué par la CCSN une fois qu’elle a reçu l’accord de contribution signé, les produits livrables et le rapport financier final dans les délais convenus. En fonction du montant maximal fixé dans l’accord de contribution, la CCSN remboursera le bénéficiaire uniquement des dépenses admissibles engagées.

Lorsque cela est justifié, une avance peut être versée sur réception de l’accord de contribution signé. Les bénéficiaires doivent communiquer avec l’administrateur du PFP pour demander une avance. Si la CCSN verse une avance, le pourcentage des fonds restants, ou le solde approprié, sera versé une fois que le bénéficiaire aura respecté en entier les conditions de l’accord de contribution. Les avances consenties à un bénéficiaire ne peuvent dépasser soixante-quinze (75) pour cent du montant maximal approuvé pour ce bénéficiaire.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le Guide du PFP (PDF), la foire aux questions ou communiquez avec nous.

Programme d'aide financière