Public Commission meetings

The Commission holds public meetings for Commission members to consider a wide range of topics related to the nuclear regulatory process and, in certain cases, to make legislative, policy or administrative decisions on matters of particular or general application.

Major facility-specific licensing applications are not considered at Commission meetings. They are considered at public hearings. For information on the public hearing process, see Public Commission hearings.

Typically, a Commission meeting includes CNSC staff presentations followed by discussions by the Commission members on significant development reports, facility or industry sector developments or status reports, and mid-term licensee performance reports. CNSC staff may also present technical briefings on a wide range of subjects related to the regulation of the nuclear industry.

The CNSC By-laws outline the conduct of Commission meetings.

Meeting schedule

The Commission usually holds public meetings immediately following the close of public hearings or on the following day but may also schedule a meeting at any time.

Participate in a public Commission meeting

Members of the public are welcome to observe meetings or to formally participate as intervenors in meetings which invite public participation. To determine if a Commission meeting invites public participation, please refer to the notice of public meeting. Find out more on how to participate in a public Commission meeting.

Attending or observing public Commission meetings

Most Commission meetings are open to the public. Members of the public who wish to observe meetings can do so without stating their intention to attend the meeting. Meetings that are held "in-camera" (closed session, in whole or in part) when certain protected information cannot be discussed in a public forum are not open to the public.

Find out more about how to observe a public Commission meeting.

Watch a public Commission hearing or meeting online

If you are interested in learning about what happens at a public hearing or meeting, watch public Commission webcasts. All webcasts are archived on the CNSC website for at least one year.

Meeting documents

During a public meeting, simultaneous interpretation in one or the other of Canada's official languages is provided. Verbatim transcripts and webcasts are produced and published on the CNSC Web site the week following the meeting. The meeting minutes are approved at the next Commission meeting and published afterwards.

Notices of meetings and agendas

A notice of Commission meeting, followed by a meeting agenda, will be published in advance of the meeting and posted on this website. The notice of Commission meeting provides information on the purpose of the meeting, date, time and location.

You can also receive email notification of new information posted on CNSC Web site by adding your email address to our Subscription centre.

Other meeting documents

Contact

For more information about public meetings, contact the Commission Registry.

Date modified:

Réunions publiques de la Commission

Les réunions publiques de la Commission servent à informer les commissaires sur toute une gamme de sujets reliés au processus de réglementation nucléaire et, le cas échéant, à solliciter une décision de la Commission sur des questions d'application spécifique ou générale de nature légale, politique ou administrative.

Les décisions en matière de permis ou d'autorisation relatives aux grandes installations nucléaires ne sont pas prises lors des réunions de la Commission, mais plutôt lors des audiences publiques. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les audiences publiques, veuillez consulter la rubrique sur les audiences publiques de la Commission.

De manière générale, pendant une réunion, les commissaires assistent à des exposés du personnel de la CCSN, et discutent ensuite des faits saillants qui leur sont rapportés, des développements survenus dans une installation spécifique ou dans le secteur industriel et des rapports de rendement d'étape ou de mi-parcours des titulaires de permis. Le personnel de la CCSN peut aussi présenter des séances d'information technique sur des sujets liés à la réglementation du secteur nucléaire.

Les séances à huis clos sont tenues, par exemple, si certains renseignements protégés ne peuvent être discutés dans un forum public. Le Règlement administratif de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire décrit le déroulement des réunions de la Commission.

Assister à une réunion publique

D'habitude, le public peut assister aux réunions de la Commission en tant qu'observateur lorsque ces réunions ne sont pas tenues à huis clos. Les séances à huis clos sont tenues, par exemple, si certains renseignements protégés ne peuvent être discutés dans un forum public.

Renseignez-vous sur la façon d'assister à une réunion à titre d'observateur.

Webdiffusion des audiences et des réunions publiques de la Commission

La CCSN mise sur la webdiffusion pour présenter en ligne ses audiences et ses réunions publiques. Si vous désirez savoir ce qui se passe lors d'une audience ou d'une réunion publique de la Commission, suivez-en le déroulement grâce à la webdiffusion.

Documents des réunions

Pendant une réunion publique, des services d'interprétation sont offerts dans l'une ou l'autre des deux langues officielles du Canada, au besoin. Des transcriptions textuelles sont produites et publiées sur le site Web de la CCSN dans la semaine suivant la réunion. Le procès-verbal de la réunion est approuvé à la prochaine réunion de la Commission puis publié par la suite.

Un avis de réunion publique et un ordre du jour sont publiés avant chaque réunion et affichés sur le présent site Web. L'avis donne de l'information sur l'objet, la date, l'heure et le lieu de la réunion.

Vous pouvez également être informé par courriel de toute nouvelle information publiée sur le site Web de la CCSN, en vous inscrivant auprès de notre Centre d'abonnement.

Pour en savoir davantage :

Points de contact

Pour en savoir plus sur les réunions publiques, communiquez avec le Secrétariat de la Commission.