The Commission

New

The Government of Canada is seeking applications for CNSC Commission members

The Privy Council Office (PCO) is seeking applications for permanent part-time Commission Members for the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC).

Candidates must apply online via the Governor in Council website by January 16, 2017. The PCO notice provides the full details on the requirements and conditions.

Read the PCO notice: http://www.appointments.gc.ca/slctnPrcs.asp?menu=1&lang=eng&SelectionProcessId=CA938115-572A-4C59-94A9-D3C8485BB9D5

For more information: Marc Leblanc, Commission Secretary, 613-995-6506

Making decisions about the nuclear sector

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) makes independent, fair and transparent decisions on licensing nuclear related activities. This is made possible through our:

Mandate

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

CNSC was established in 2000 under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources. CNSC was created to replace the former Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB), which was founded in 1946. Learn more about Canada's Nuclear History and the AECB.

CNSC's Commission has up to seven appointed permanent members whose decisions are supported by more than 800 employees. These employees review applications for licences according to regulatory requirements, make recommendations to the Commission, and enforce compliance with the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, regulations, and any licence conditions imposed by the Commission.

Legal provisions

The CNSC was established in 2000 under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act to replace the former Atomic Energy Control Board and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources on the Commission's activities under the Act. Neither the Minister nor the Governor in Council has a role in CNSC's decision making or the power of appeal. Its decisions are reviewable only by the Federal Court of Canada.

The CNSC's regulatory framework consists of laws passed by Parliament that govern the regulation of Canada's nuclear industry, and regulations, licences and documents that the CNSC uses to regulate the nuclear industry.

Appointments

CNSC's Commission has up to seven permanent members that are appointed by the Governor in Council based on their qualifications and expertise and can only be removed for cause. Members are appointed on a permanent, part-time basis, meaning they also have individual jobs. Temporary members can also be appointed to the Commission. Commission members commit to the highest standards of ethics and conflict-of-interest guidelines, and carry out their duties impartially.

The President of the Commission is appointed to hold office as a Commission member during good behaviour, and is also designated by the Governor in Council to hold office as President – a full-time rather than part-time position.

Independent Commission

The Commission is an independent administrative tribunal set up at arm's length from government, with no ties to the nuclear industry.

The Commission makes its decisions transparently, guided by clear rules of procedure. Interested parties and members of the public are able to be heard at Public Commission Hearings which are Webcast live and often held in facility host communities to make them as accessible as possible to local residents.

The Commission provides extensive reasons for its decisions, which are based on information that includes public input as well as the recommendations of expert CNSC staff. Decisions, hearing transcripts, webcast archives and other documentationfor content section are publicly available on the CNSC Web site, Facebook and YouTube.

Qualified staff

The Commission is supported by more than 800 scientific, technical and professional staff. These employees review applications for licences according to regulatory requirements, make recommendations to the Commission, and enforce compliance with the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, regulations and any licence conditions imposed by the Commission.

Nuclear Safety Means: Independent Decision Making

La Commission

Nouveau

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à pourvoir des postes de commissaire de la CCSN

Le Bureau du conseil privé (BCP) sollicite des candidatures afin de pourvoir des postes de commissaire permanent à temps partiel pour la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d’ici le 16 janvier 2017 sur le site Web du gouverneur en conseil. L’avis du BCP fournit tous les détails sur les exigences et les conditions.

Lire l’avis du BCP : http://www.appointments.gc.ca/slctnPrcs.asp?menu=1&lang=fra&SelectionProcessId=CA938115-572A-4C59-94A9-D3C8485BB9D5

Pour en savoir plus : Marc Leblanc, Secrétaire de la Commission, 613-995-6506

Les décisions concernant le secteur nucléaire

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) rend des décisions indépendantes, justes et transparentes sur la délivrance de permis d'activités nucléaires, et ce, grâce à :

Mandat

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l'environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l'égard de l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire.

La CCSN a été établie en 2000 en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et rend des comptes au Parlement par l'entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles. La CCSN a été créée pour remplacer l'ancienne Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (CCEA), qui avait été fondée en 1946. Apprenez-en davantage à propos de l'historique nucléaire du Canada et de la CCEA.

La Commission de la CCSN compte jusqu'à sept membres nommés, dont les décisions sont soutenues par plus de 800 employés. Ces employés font l'examen des demandes de permis selon les exigences réglementaires; ils font également des recommandations à la Commission; et ils mettent à exécution en conformité avec la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, la réglementation et toute condition de permis imposée par la Commission.

Outils légaux

La CCSN a été créée en 2000 par la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires en remplacement de la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique; par l'entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles, la CCSN rend compte au Parlement des activités réalisées par la Commission en vertu de la Loi. Le ministre et le gouverneur en conseil ne prennent pas part aux décisions de la CCSN et n'ont pas de droit d'appel. Ces décisions ne peuvent faire l'objet d'une révision judiciaire que par la Cour fédérale du Canada.

Le cadre de réglementation de la CCSN se compose des lois adoptées par le Parlement qui régissent la réglementation du secteur nucléaire canadien, de même que des règlements, des permis et des documents qu'utilise la CCSN pour réglementer le secteur nucléaire.

Nominations

La Commission de la CCSN compte jusqu'à sept membres permanents (commissaires) nommés par le gouverneur en conseil en fonction de leurs compétences et de leur expertise; ils ne peuvent être relevés de leurs fonctions sans motif valable. Les commissaires occupent des postes permanents à temps partiel, ce qui implique qu'ils ont d'autres emplois. Des commissaires temporaires peuvent aussi être nommés à la Commission. Les commissaires observent les normes d'éthique les plus élevées, respectent les directives sur les conflits d'intérêts et s'acquittent de leurs tâches en toute impartialité.

Le président de la Commission est nommé commissaire à titre inamovible. De plus, il est nommé commissaire à temps plein par le gouverneur en conseil.

Commission indépendante

La Commission est indépendante du gouvernement et sans lien avec le secteur nucléaire.

La Commission rend des décisions de façon transparente, sur la foi de règles de procédure claires. Les parties intéressées et le public ont la possibilité d'être entendus durant les audiences publiques, diffusées en direct et souvent organisées dans les collectivités hôtes d'installations nucléaires afin d'être le plus accessibles possible pour les résidants locaux.

La Commission explique ses décisions de façon détaillée, et celles-ci se fondent sur des renseignements qui incluent l'opinion publique et les recommandations des experts de la CCSN. Les décisions, transcriptions d'audience, webdiffusions archivées et autres documents sont disponibles sur le site Web, la page Facebook et les chaînes YouTube de la CCSN.

Personnel qualifié

La Commission est appuyée par plus de 800 employés scientifiques, techniques et professionnels. Ces employés examinent les demandes de permis en fonction des exigences réglementaires, présentent des recommandations à la Commission, et assurent le respect de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, des règlements et des conditions de permis imposées par la Commission.

La sûreté nucléaire, c'est aussi : un processus décisionnel indépendant