Public Commission hearings

The Commission makes decisions on the licensing of major nuclear facilities through a public hearing process.

The public hearing gives involved parties and members of the public an opportunity to be heard before the Commission. Following a public hearing, the Commission deliberates and makes its decision on the matter. The Commission also holds public Commission meetings.

One-part or two-part hearings

Commission hearings are governed by Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission Rules of Procedure, under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act. Public hearings usually take place in a one or two-part process. Two-part public hearings take place on days that are usually 60 days apart. Most decisions involving major nuclear facilities are made through the two-part public hearing process.

One-part public hearing process

For a one-part hearing, all of the evidence from the applicant, CNSC staff and intervenors is heard by the Commission in a single hearing session. To allow potential intervenors to review the proposal and prepare for the hearing, written submissions from the applicant and CNSC staff must be filed at least 60 days prior to the hearing day.

Intervenors are then invited to register their submissions at least 30 days prior to the hearing. Participants may file supplementary information up to seven days prior to the hearing day.

Commission hearings are normally open to the public, but some are also be held in-camera (closed session) in whole or in part. For example, certain protected information may not be discussed in a public forum.

During a public hearing, simultaneous interpretation in one or the other of Canada's official languages is provided when necessary. Verbatim transcripts are produced and published on CNSC’s website the week following each hearing day. The Commission's decision and its reasons for decision are normally published within six weeks after the conclusion of the hearing.

Two-part public hearing process

During Part 1 of a two-part public hearing, the applicant and CNSC staff present written and oral submissions to the Commission and respond to questions from the Commission. 

As with a one-part hearing, intervenors are invited to register their submissions at least 30 days prior to the hearing. Participants may file supplementary information up to seven days prior to the hearing day.

During Part 2, which usually takes place 60 days after Part 1, registered intervenors have an opportunity to make their views known to the Commission and to respond to any related questions from the Commission Members.

Usually, 30 days before Hearing Part 2, intervenors may file their intervention requests and submissions.  This means that intervenors have 30 days to review the information presented during Part 1 and submit their request before Part 2.

The applicant and CNSC staff must also attend Part 2 and be prepared to respond to further questioning by the Commission. 

Watch a public Commission hearing or meeting

CNSC offers online videos, or webcasts, of its public hearings and meetings.  If you are interested in learning about what happens at a public hearing or meeting, watch public Commission hearings or meetings online.

Participate in a public Commission hearing

Members of the public are welcome to observe hearings or to formally participate as intervenors. Find out more on how to participate in a public Commission hearing.

For more information

Audiences publiques de la Commission

La Commission prend des décisions en matière de permis ou d'autorisation concernant les grandes installations nucléaires au moyen d'un processus d'audience publique.

L'audience publique donne aux parties touchées et aux membres du public l'occasion d'être entendus devant la Commission. Après une audience publique, la Commission délibère et rend une décision sur le sujet discuté. La Commission tient aussi des réunions publiques.

Audiences publiques en une ou deux parties

Les audiences de la Commission sont régies par les Règles de procédure de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, prises aux termes de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. Conformément à ces règles, les audiences publiques se tiennent habituellement en une partie ou en deux parties, avec une période de 60 jours entre la Partie 1 et la Partie 2 de l'audience. La plupart des décisions concernant les grandes installations nucléaires sont prises à la suite d'une audience en deux parties.

Processus d'audience publique en une partie

Lors d'une audience publique en une partie, toute la preuve du demandeur, du personnel de la CCSN et des intervenants est entendue par la Commission au cours d'une seule séance. Afin de permettre à des intervenants potentiels d'examiner la proposition et de se préparer en vue de l'audience, les mémoires du demandeur et du personnel de la CCSN doivent être déposés au moins 60 jours avant la date d'audience.

Les intervenants sont invités à soumettre leur mémoire au moins 30 jours avant la date d'audience. Les participants ont jusqu'à sept jours avant la date d'audience pour verser des renseignements supplémentaires au dossier.

Généralement, les audiences de la Commission sont ouvertes au public, mais elles peuvent également avoir lieu à huis clos (séance privée), en partie ou en totalité. Par exemple, les audiences qui portent sur des renseignements protégés ne peuvent se dérouler sous la forme d'un forum public.

Pendant une audience publique, des services d'interprétation sont offerts dans l'une ou l'autre des deux langues officielles du Canada, au besoin. Des transcriptions textuelles sont produites et publiées sur le site Web de la CCSN dans la semaine suivant l'audience publique. La décision de la Commission et ses motifs de décision sont habituellement publiés dans les six semaines suivant la conclusion de l'audience.

Processus d'audience publique en deux parties

Pendant la Partie 1 du processus d'audience en deux parties, le demandeur et le personnel de la CCSN présentent des mémoires et des exposés oraux et répondent aux questions des commissaires.

Comme c'est le cas pour l'audience en une partie, les intervenants sont invités à soumettre leur mémoire au moins 30 jours avant la date d'audience. Les participants ont jusqu'à sept jours avant la date d'audience pour verser des renseignements supplémentaires au dossier.

Pendant la Partie 2, qui a habituellement lieu 60 jours après la Partie 1, les intervenants inscrits à l'audience ont l'occasion de présenter leurs points de vue à la Commission et de répondre aux questions des commissaires sur le sujet abordé.

En général, les intervenants peuvent déposer leurs demandes d'intervention et leurs mémoires 30 jours avant la Partie 2. Ceci veut dire que les intervenants ont habituellement 30 jours après la Partie 1 pour revoir les présentations qui ont eu lieu lors de la Partie 1 et soumettre leur mémoire.

Le demandeur et le personnel de la CCSN doivent assister à la Partie 2 de l'audience et être prêts à répondre à d'autres questions de la Commission.

Webdiffusion des audiences et des réunions publiques de la Commission

La CCSN mise sur la webdiffusion pour présenter en ligne ses audiences et ses réunions publiques. Si vous désirez savoir ce qui se passe lors d’une audience ou d’une réunion publique de la Commission, suivez-en le déroulement grâce à la webdiffusion.

Participation aux audiences publiques de la Commission

Le public est invité à assister aux audiences à titre d’observateur, ou encore à participer officiellement à titre d’intervenant. Renseignez-vous sur la façon de participer à une audience publique de la Commission.

Pour en savoir davantage :

  • Consultez les documents des audiences par date