Validation of Thermalhydraulic Computer Codes Used in Safety Analysis: Regulatory Perspective

Abstract of the technical paper/presentation presented at:
ASME Verification and Validation Symposium (V&V)
May 3-5, 2017

Prepared by:
Janusz E. Kowalski
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Abstract

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) and the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) frameworks specify the requirements for validation activities applicable to the computer codes used in the design and safety analyses of nuclear power plants [1, 2]. The regulatory framework requires that thermalhydraulic codes’ capabilities and limits, as well as the quantification of code accuracy, must be assessed during the validation process.

During the past three decades, considerable resources have been devoted in Canada to establish and conduct validation of the computer codes used in safety analysis. The validation effort was primarily phenomena-based and did not fully quantify the code prediction accuracy of key safety parameters.

Recently, CNSC staff have indicated the need to change the validation approach and conduct future validation using key parameters such as trip parameters and figure of merit (FOM). In this new approach, the identification of important phenomena and parameters is directly linked to the acceptance criteria and FOM, forming an essential step of the parameter-based validation process.

This paper describes the regulatory approach used in the review of code validation submissions, including the assessment approach and the review acceptance criteria. CNSC expectations on the code validation process are discussed, with a focus on the data qualification and methodology used for determining the code accuracy.

The scope of the review performed by CNSC staff may be different from case to case. It may consist either of a comprehensive evaluation of the validation program or a more detailed assessment of specific validation activities (e.g., qualification of the data used for validation exercises).

References

  • 1) Deterministic Safety Analysis, regulatory document REGDOC-2.4.1, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, May 2014.
  • 2) Quality Assurance of Analytical, Scientific, and Design Computer Programs, Canadian Standard Association, N286.7-16, January 2016.

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.information.ccsn@canada.ca or call 613.995.5894 or 1.800.668.5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Validation des codes informatiques pour la thermohydraulique utilisés dans l’analyse de sûreté : Perspective réglementaire

Résumé du document technique/de l’exposé présenté à la :
Symposium de vérification et de validation (V&V)
Du 3 au 5 mai 2017

Préparé par :
Janusz E. Kowalski
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Résumé

Les cadres de travail de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) et de l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) précisent les exigences relatives aux activités de validation applicables aux codes informatiques utilisés dans les analyses de la sûreté et de la conception des centrales nucléaires [1, 2]. Le cadre de réglementation exige d’évaluer les capacités et les limites des codes pour la thermohydraulique et de quantifier l’exactitude des codes lors du processus de validation.

Au cours des trois dernières décennies, des ressources considérables ont été investies au Canada pour établir les codes informatiques utilisés dans l’analyse de sûreté et les valider. Les efforts de validation étaient principalement fondés sur les phénomènes et n’ont pas quantifié en totalité l’exactitude de prédiction des codes pour ce qui est des paramètres de sûreté clés.

Récemment, le personnel de la CCSN a souligné la nécessité de modifier la méthode de validation et de procéder aux validations futures en utilisant des paramètres clés, comme les paramètres de déclenchement automatique et le facteur de mérite (FOM). Selon cette nouvelle méthode, l’identification des paramètres et des phénomènes importants est directement liée aux critères d’acceptation et au FOM, ce qui constitue une étape essentielle du processus de validation fondé sur les paramètres.

Le présent document de travail décrit l’approche réglementaire utilisée pour examiner les documents soumis relativement à la validation des codes, y compris la méthode d’évaluation et les critères d’acceptation pour l’examen. On y discute des attentes de la CCSN relativement au processus de validation des codes, en mettant l’accent sur la quantification des données et la méthodologie utilisée pour déterminer l’exactitude des codes.

La portée de l’examen effectué par le personnel de la CCSN peut différer d’un dossier à l’autre. Il peut s’agir d’une évaluation exhaustive du programme de validation ou bien d’une évaluation plus détaillée de certaines activités de validation (par exemple, la quantification des données utilisées dans les exercices de validation).

Références

  • 1) Analyste déterministe de la sûreté, document d’application de la réglementation REGDOC-2.4.1, Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, mai 2014.
  • 2) Assurance de la qualité des programmes informatiques scientifiques, d’analyse et de conception, Association canadienne de normalisation, N286.7-F16, janvier 2016.

Pour obtenir une copie du document correspondant au résumé, nous invitons à communiquer avec nous par courriel à cnsc.information.ccsn@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 613.995.5894 ou sans frais au 1.800.668.5284 (au Canada). Veuillez nous indiquer le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :