Assessment of the Effect of the Advanced Drift-Flux Model of ASSERT-PV on CHF, Flow and Void Fraction Distributions

Abstract of the journal article publised in Annals of Nuclear Energy
June 2017

Prepared by:
N. Hammouda
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Y.F. Yao
Canadian Nuclear Laboratories

Abstract

This paper examines the effect of the drift-flux model of ASSERT-PV on critical heat flux (CHF) predictions. More specifically, it looks at how the drift-flux model influences local void fraction and flow distribution across a bundle. Numerical experiments are performed to examine the trends and relative behaviour of the different components of the drift-flux model under various flow conditions.

The drift-flux model of ASSERT-PV is composed of three components: (a) the lateral component or diversion cross-flow, caused by pressure difference between connected subchannels, (b) the turbulent diffusion component or turbulent mixing through gaps in subchannels, caused by instantaneous turbulent fluctuations or flow oscillations, and (c) the void drift component that occurs due to the two-phase tendency toward a preferred distribution.

This study shows that the drift-flux model has a significant impact on CHF predictions. The lateral component of the drift-flux model has a stronger effect on CHF predictions than the axial component, especially for horizontal flow. Predictions of CHF, void fraction and flow distributions are most sensitive to the turbulent diffusion component of the drift-flux model, followed by the void drift component. Buoyancy drift can be significant, but does not have as much influence on CHF and flow distribution predictions as the turbulent diffusion and void drift do.

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca or call 613.995.5894 or 1.800.668.5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Évaluation de l’effet du modèle avancé à flux de dérive du ASSERT-PV sur les distributions du taux de vide, de l’écoulement et du FTC

Résumé de l'article publié dans Annals of Nuclear Energy
Juin 2017

Préparé par :
N. Hammoda
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Y.F. Yao
Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens

Résumé

Nous examinons l’effet du modèle à flux de dérive du programme ASSERT-PV sur la prévision du flux thermique critique (FTC). Précisément, nous considérons comment le modèle à flux de dérive influe sur la distribution locale de l’écoulement et du taux de vide dans une grappe. Nous effectuons des expériences numériques pour examiner les tendances et le comportement des différents éléments du modèle à flux de dérive dans diverses conditions d’écoulement.

Le modèle à flux de dérive du ASSERT-PV se compose de trois éléments : a) l’élément latéral ou écoulement transversal dérivé, causé par la différence de pression entre les sous-canaux reliés, b) l’élément de diffusion turbulente ou mixage turbulent dans les interstices des sous-canaux, causé par les fluctuations turbulentes instantanées ou oscillations de l’écoulement et c) l’élément de dérive du vide qui se produit en raison de la tendance en écoulement diphasique à une distribution privilégiée.

Notre étude montre que le modèle à flux de dérive a un effet considérable sur les prévisions du FTC, l’élément latéral ayant un effet plus fort que l’élément axial, surtout pour l’écoulement horizontal. Les prévisions des distributions de l’écoulement, du taux de vide et du FTC sont plus sensibles à l’élément de diffusion turbulente du modèle, suivi de l’élément de dérive du vide. La dérive de poussée peut être importante, mais elle influe moins sur les prévisions de distribution de l’écoulement et du FTC que la diffusion turbulente et la dérive du vide.

Pour obtenir une copie du document correspondant au résumé, veuillez communiquer avec nous à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca ou en composant le 613.995.5894 ou le 1.800.668.5284 (au Canada). Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :