Canadian Regulatory Requirements for Safety Analysis of Nuclear Power Plants

Abstract of the technical paper presented at:
The 2nd International Nuclear Energy Congress
Warsaw, Poland
May 22-24, 2012

Prepared by:
J. Kowalski
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Abstract

In Canada, all nuclear power plants are licensed by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) which operates under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) [1]. In addition to NSCA, the CNSC establishes lower level expectations in regulatory documents (RDs) that provide regulatory requirements with respect to the NSCA and license conditions. The CNSC also publishes guidance documents (GDs), which clarify the regulatory requirements and provide guidance as to how a licensee can meet these requirements.

It is mandatory that safety analysis be performed in order to license the nuclear power plant for operation. The main purpose of safety analysis is to verify that applicable safety requirements are met in all lifecycle phases of the nuclear power plant and to demonstrate that the reactor has adequate safety margins under normal and accident conditions. The analysis typically involves deterministic safety analysis, a probabilistic safety assessment and hazards analysis.   During the design stage of the nuclear power plant, the safety analysis is carried out in parallel with the design process, with iteration taking place between these two activities.

Over the past several years, the CNSC staff has been working to ensure that it has the appropriate regulatory framework [2-4] and internal processes in place for licensing all types of reactors. The present paper provides a Canadian regulatory perspective dealing with safety analysis used for licensing the nuclear power plants.  Key requirements for deterministic safety analysis are discussed in detail and include: selection of events to be analyzed, acceptance criteria, analysis methods and analysis documentation and the review and updates of safety analysis.

The paper describes the treatment of initiating events, event combination and classification of events. Acceptance criteria that serve as thresholds of safe reactor operation for anticipated operational occurrences (AOOs) and design basis accidents (DBAs) are provided. Dose limits for AOOs and DBAs are also presented.

The selection of safety analysis and assumptions needs to be such that the appropriate level of confidence can be achieved in the analysis results. The main safety analysis methods used in Canada are described including the limit of operating envelope (LOE) method and best estimate and uncertainty assessment (BEAU). The treatment of uncertainties in both methodologies is also discussed.

To demonstrate that the deterministic safety analysis complies with the regulatory requirements, the following rule must be followed:

  • Analysis should be performed over accidents, allowable plant configurations, operating conditions sufficient to provide a high level of confidence in safe plant operation.
  • Qualified computer codes should be used to perform analysis with adequate representation of the plant and modeling uncertainties.
  • The analysis results should be compared against appropriate acceptance criteria and their acceptability confirmed. Adequate safety margins must be demonstrated.
  • The analysis should be documented in a manner that is retrievable and the safety analysis report should be reviewed by qualified experts before being submitted to the regulatory body.

In summary, the paper presents Canadian regulatory requirements and perspective in making safety cases for licensing nuclear power plants. Our experience, practices and expectations are provided depending on the scope of analysis acceptance criteria and safety analysis methodology.

References

  1. Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, “Nuclear Safety and Control Act", Ottawa, 2000.
  1. Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, “Safety Analysis of Nuclear Power Plants", Ottawa, 2008.
  1. Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, “Probabilistic Safety Assessment (PSA) for Operating Nuclear Power Plants", Ottawa, 2003.
  1. Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, “Design of New Nuclear Plants", Ottawa, 2008.
Date modified:

Exigences de la réglementation canadienne concernant l’analyse de sûreté des centrales nucléaires

Résumé de l’exposé technique présenté au
Deuxième congrès international de l’énergie nucléaire
Varsovie, Pologne
Du 22 au 24 mai 2012

Préparé par
J. Kowalski
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Résumé

Au Canada, toutes les centrales nucléaires sont réglementées par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), qui est assujettie à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) [1]. Pour compléter cette loi, la CCSN établit des exigences connexes dans des documents d’application de la réglementation, qui définissent les exigences réglementaires liées à la LSRN et les conditions des permis. En outre, elle publie des documents d’orientation qui clarifient les exigences réglementaires et indiquent au titulaire de permis comment satisfaire à ces exigences.

Il est obligatoire de réaliser l’analyse de sûreté pour autoriser l’exploitation d’une centrale nucléaire. Le principal objectif de cette analyse est de vérifier si les exigences en matière de sûreté sont appliquées dans toutes les phases du cycle de vie de la centrale nucléaire et de démontrer que les marges de sûreté du réacteur sont adéquates dans des conditions normales d’exploitation et dans des conditions d’accident. Habituellement, cette analyse comporte une analyse de sûreté déterministe, une évaluation de la sûreté probabiliste et une analyse des dangers. Pendant la conception de la centrale nucléaire, l’analyse de sûreté est réalisée parallèlement au processus de conception, et il y a itération entre ces deux activités.

Depuis quelques années, le personnel de la CCSN s’emploie à mettre en place le cadre de réglementation [2‑4] et les processus internes appropriés pour autoriser tous les types de réacteur. Le présent exposé donne un aperçu de la réglementation canadienne en ce qui a trait à l’analyse de sûreté utilisée pour autoriser les centrales nucléaires. Les principales exigences de l’analyse de sûreté déterministe sont traitées en détail et sont notamment les suivantes : sélection des événements à analyser; critères d’acceptation; méthodes d’analyse; documentation à l’appui de l’analyse; et examen et mises à jour de l’analyse de sûreté.

L’exposé décrit le traitement des événements déclencheurs, la combinaison d’événements et la classification des événements. Il énonce les critères d’acceptation qui représentent les seuils de sûreté pour l’exploitation des réacteurs dans les cas d’événements opérationnels anticipés (EOA) et d’accidents de dimensionnement (AD) et donne les limites de dose pour les EOA et les AD.

Il faut choisir les méthodes et les hypothèses de l’analyse de sûreté de façon à assurer la fiabilité appropriée des résultats. Les principales méthodes d’analyse de sûreté utilisées au Canada sont décrites, notamment la méthode portant sur la limite des paramètres d’exploitation (LPE) et la méthode d’analyse de la meilleure estimation et de l’incertitude (AMEI). Il est également question du traitement des incertitudes liées aux deux méthodes.

Pour démontrer que l’analyse de sûreté déterministe est conforme aux exigences réglementaires, il faut suivre la règle suivante.

  • Réaliser une analyse pour les accidents, la configuration de la centrale autorisée et les conditions d’exploitation, qui permettra d’avoir une grande confiance dans la sûreté de l’exploitation de la centrale.
  • Pour réaliser l’analyse, utiliser des codes informatiques admissibles où sont adéquatement représentées les incertitudes liées à la centrale et à la modélisation.
  • Comparer les résultats de l’analyse aux critères d’acceptation appropriés et confirmer leur acceptabilité. Démontrer que les marges de sûreté sont adéquates.
  • Assurer l’accessibilité de la documentation de l’analyse et demander à des experts compétents d’examiner le rapport de l’analyse de sûreté avant de le remettre à l’organisme de réglementation.

En résumé, l’exposé présente les exigences et les points de vue de la réglementation canadienne liés aux analyses de sûreté requises pour autoriser les centrales nucléaires. Notre expérience, nos pratiques et nos attentes sont décrites en fonction de la portée des critères d’acceptation de l’analyse et de la méthode utilisée pour la réaliser.

Documents de référence

  1. Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, Ottawa, 2000.
  1. Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, L’analyse de sûreté des centrales nucléaires, Ottawa, 2008.
  1. Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, Études probabilistes de sûreté pour les centrales nucléaires, Ottawa, 2003.
  1. Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, Conception des nouvelles centrales nucléaires, Ottawa, 2008.
Dernière mise à jour :