Scientific and technical information


The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) integrates the best available science with its decision making. The CNSC maintains research initiatives and programs to ensure it keeps abreast of new scientific information, develops its own knowledge base and shares its research findings with stakeholders and scientists in Canada and abroad.

Research is carried out on a wide range of topics, from health studies on nuclear workers and host communities to research on the long-term management of nuclear waste in geological repositories.

Directed by CNSC staff, research initiatives and programs are often completed with the support of independent third parties and/or in collaboration with national and international partners, providing access to valuable expertise, state-of-the-art facilities and the best available data. The outcome of these research activities helps us understand and address new or emerging safety issues; gain third-party perspectives on nuclear science; and share scientific knowledge with the nuclear industry and the public at large. This research helps support the CNSC’s mandate to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public about the activities of the Commission and the industry it regulates.

Search by topic

This Web section was developed to offer the public a way of viewing a comprehensive list of all relevant scientific and technical information currently available on our website. It offers you the opportunity to search topics according to our safety and control areas (SCA). SCAs are the technical topics the CNSC uses across all regulated facilities and activities to assess, evaluate, review, verify and report on regulatory requirements and performance. The SCAs are presented in a comprehensive framework consisting of 14 safety and control areas which are grouped into three primary “functional” areas (Management, Facility and Equipment, and Core Control Processes).

  1. Management system
  2. Human performance management
  3. Operating performance
  4. Safety analysis
  5. Physical design
  6. Fitness for service
  7. Radiation protection
  8. Conventional health and safety
  9. Environmental protection
  10. Emergency management and fire protection
  11. Waste management
  12. Security
  13. Safeguards and non-proliferation
  14. Packaging and transport

Research reports and abstracts

The Science of Safety research reports share some of the key research activities facilitated and supported by the CNSC on a yearly basis. These reports are part of the CNSC’s ongoing effort to ensure that Canadians have access to the science that informs our work.

The CNSC funds an extramural research program called the Research and Support Program. This program provides the CNSC with access to independent advice, expertise, experience, information and other resources via contracts, grants and contributions placed in the private sector, and with other agencies and organizations in Canada and elsewhere. Reports completed through the research program are not published as CNSC reports; abstracts of the reports are available instead.

Technical papers and articles

The CNSC values the use of independent peer reviews and encourages technical staff to submit articles for publication in scientific journals and make presentations about the nuclear industry.

Information scientifique et technique

Recherche

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) tient compte des meilleures données scientifiques accessibles lorsqu’elle prend des décisions. Elle met en œuvre des initiatives et des programmes de recherche afin d’être au courant de la nouvelle information scientifique, de créer sa propre base de connaissances et de communiquer les résultats de ses recherches aux parties intéressées et aux scientifiques au Canada et à l’étranger.

Les recherches portent sur une grande variété de sujets, notamment les études sur la santé visant les travailleurs du nucléaire et les collectivités hôtes ainsi que la recherche sur les dépôts géologiques pour la gestion à long terme des déchets nucléaires.

Les initiatives et les programmes de recherche, dirigés par le personnel de la CCSN, sont souvent réalisés avec l’aide de tiers indépendants ou en collaboration avec des partenaires nationaux et internationaux. Ceux-ci offrent une expertise précieuse, des installations de pointe et les meilleures données qui existent. Ces activités de recherche aident l’organisme de réglementation fédéral à comprendre les problèmes de sûreté nouveaux ou émergents et à en tenir compte, à connaître les points de vue de tiers sur la science nucléaire et à échanger des connaissances scientifiques avec les membres du secteur nucléaire et le grand public. Elles aident aussi à appuyer le mandat de la CCSN en ce qui a trait à la diffusion au public d’information objective sur les plans scientifique, technique ou réglementaire en ce qui concerne les activités de la Commission et du secteur qu’elle réglemente.

Recherche par sujet

Cette section présente toute l’information technique et scientifique pertinente actuellement affichée sur notre site Web. Vous pouvez effectuer des recherches par sujet en fonction de nos domaines de sûreté et de réglementation (DSR). Les DSR sont les catégories techniques dont la CCSN se sert pour réglementer l’ensemble des installations et des activités réglementées en vue d’évaluer, d’examiner et de vérifier les exigences réglementaires et le rendement et de présenter des rapports à ce sujet. Ces 14 DSR, qui composent un cadre complet, sont groupés en trois domaines fonctionnels – Gestion, Installations et équipement et Principaux contrôles et processus.

  1. Système de gestion
  2. Gestion du rendement humain
  3. Conduite de l'exploitation
  4. Analyse de la sûreté
  5. Conception matérielle
  6. Aptitude fonctionnelle
  7. Radioprotection
  8. Santé et sécurité classiques
  9. Protection de l'environnement
  10. Gestion des urgences et protection-incendie
  11. Gestion des déchets
  12. Sécurité
  13. Garanties et non-prolifération
  14. Emballage et transport

Rapports de recherche et résumés

Les rapports de recherche La science de la sûreté mettent en lumière certaines des principales activités de recherche que la CCSN facilite et soutient pendant l’année. Il s’agit d’un effort continu de l’organisation pour veiller à ce que les Canadiens aient accès à la science sur laquelle s’appuie notre travail.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) finance le Programme de soutien et de recherche. Ce programme externe lui donne accès à des conseils, à de l'expertise, à de l'expérience, à de l’information et à d’autres ressources indépendantes, et ce, par l’entremise de contrats, de subventions ou de contributions avec le secteur privé et d’autres organismes et organisations au Canada et ailleurs. Les rapports produits dans le cadre du programme de recherche ne sont pas publiés au titre de rapports de la CCSN; seuls leurs résumés sont affichés sur le site Web.

Documents et articles techniques

La CCSN accorde une grande importance aux examens indépendants par les pairs et elle encourage le personnel technique à soumettre des articles pour publication dans des revues scientifiques.