National Sealed Source Registry and Sealed Source Tracking System Report for 2017

Sealed sources are radioactive nuclear substances encased in a sealed capsule or in a cover to which the substance is bonded. They can be used for a variety of activities, including medical, industrial, commercial, and academic and research applications. An inventory of sealed sources within Canada is housed in the National Sealed Source Registry (NSSR), which was established in 2006 to conform to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Code of Conduct on the Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources. The NSSR is used to maintain an accurate and secure inventory of sealed sources in Canada, with a particular focus on those classified as high risk.

The Sealed Source Tracking System (SSTS) is a secure information-management system used in conjunction with the NSSR to track new and existing high-risk sources within Canada. Source transfers done online through the SSTS update and populate the NSSR so that the information is as current as the licence reporting allows (e.g., reporting within two days of receipt and seven days in advance of any transfer). The CNSC places particular emphasis on capturing data on high risk sources, with the NSSR housing detailed information such as the serial number, isotope, activity, and current location. Information on moderate- and low-risk sources is updated annually using the inventory data included in licensee's annual compliance reports (ACRs) and validated by the CNSC for accuracy and consistency.

Categories of sealed sources

Sealed sources are classified by the IAEA into five different categories:

Category 1

Very high risk
(risk-significant)

Category 2

High risk
(or risk-significant)

Category 3

Moderate risk

Category 4

Low risk

Category 5

Very low risk

For more information on how sealed sources are categorized, consult the CNSC website.

By the end of 2017, the NSSR contained information on 112,543 radioactive sealed sources in Canada. The SSTS actively tracks Category 1 and 2 sources. In 2017, 6,260 Category 1 and 56,970 Category 2 sources were tracked. The remaining 49,313 in the NSSR were Category 3, 4 or 5, which are not subject to mandatory tracking for every movement.

Sealed Source Inventory Trends

The number of sources located in Canada increases every year, mainly due to source manufacturers accepting returned sources for recycling, reuse and long-term storage. Figure 1 shows the total number of sealed sources, as well as the number of sealed sources in each category, that were accounted for in Canada on December 31, 2017. In 2017, there was a 9% increase in the number of high-risk sources compared to 2016, with the majority of the increase coming from the production of Category 2 sources. The increase in Category 3 sealed sources was primarily attributed to the return of sealed sources no longer suitable for use in prescribed equipment and to the decay of Category 2 sources held by licensees.

Figure 1. Breakdown of sealed sources in Canada on December 31, 2017
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Total sources 66139 79077 92831 100996 112543
Category 1 3993 5734 6748 6273 6260
Category 2 32466 39167 45673 51501 56970
Category 3 24242 28701 34899 37675 43784
Category 4 484 224 200 293 258
Category 5 4954 5251 5311 5254 5271

Performance measures and verification

To gauge the effectiveness of the SSTS and verify the accuracy of the data in the system, CNSC inspectors physically cross-reference SSTS data against licensees’ actual inventory of sealed sources. Routine CNSC compliance inspections include requirements to verify sealed source tracking information. Inconsistencies are immediately addressed to ensure accuracy in the data. Typically administrative in nature, these inconsistencies may include errors in source serial numbers and reference dates, or the use of non-standard terminology when identifying sealed source assemblies.

In 2017, 133 inspections were conducted. Of these, 130 (98%) were found to be compliant and 3 (2%) were found to be non-compliant. The licensees that were initially found to be non-compliant have adequately addressed the issues identified during their inspections. The non-compliances included licensees not providing notification of SSTS transactions within the required time frame as per their licence conditions, and not up-to-date tracking information.

For more information on inspection results of Canadian licensees using nuclear substances relative to doses to workers, radiation protection, operating performance and sealed source security, refer to the annual Regulatory Oversight Report on the Use of Nuclear Substances in Canada.

Event mitigation

Licensees must immediately report lost or stolen nuclear substances to the CNSC and must also submit descriptions of any actions taken or proposed to recover missing nuclear substances. The CNSC investigates every such event and informs local, national, and international stakeholders who may assist with recovery. A list of events involving sealed sources can be found in the Lost or Stolen Sealed Sources and Radiation Devices Report.

The International Nuclear and Radiation Events Scale (INES) is a tool for communicating the safety significance of nuclear and radiological events to technical communities and the public. Every event reported from the commercial, academic and research, industrial, and medical sectors is classified in accordance with the INES, based on its safety significance rating. Of the following events, only one event was rated at INES Level 1 (anomaly). All other events were rated at INES Level 0, which are considered below scale and have no safety significance.

Figure 2. INES rating descriptions

Figure 2. INES rating descriptions MAJOR ACCIDENT SERIOUS ACCIDENT ACCIDENT WITH WIDER CONSEQUENCES ACCIDENT WITH LOCAL CONSEQUENCES SERIOUS INCIDENT INCIDENT ANOMALY 0Below ScaleNO SAFETY SIGNIFICANCE INCIDENTS ACCIDENTS 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

A total of 19 sealed sources were involved in 11 events in 2017 (15 lost sources, 2 stolen sources and 2 recovered sources). These sources were classified as Category 4 or 5, which are low- to very-low risk sources.

Figure 3. Number of reported events involving, lost, stolen and found sealed sources from 2013 to 2017
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Lost/stolen 14 13 16 12 10
Found 3 3 1 3 1

Notes for figure 3:

  • No events involved Category 1 sources.
  • No events involved Category 2 sources.
  • No events involved Category 3 sources.
  • Three events involved a total of six Category 4 sources. These are considered low-risk sources and are unlikely to be dangerous. All events involved portable gauges that contained two sealed sources.
    1. Lost Category 4 sources: A portable gauge fell off the back of a truck during transportation. A search was conducted and a police report was filed. Three days later, a member of the public found the gauge and notified the police. The gauge was recovered in its transport box with no visible signs of damage, and the radiation levels were found to be within normal limits. The licensee implemented corrective actions to prevent future recurrences. This event is now closed.
    2. Stolen Category 4 sources: A portable gauge was stolen from the back of a locked vehicle. Local authorities were contacted to report the theft and to release a public notification. The portable gauge has not been recovered and this event remains under investigation. Based on the number of nuclear substances involved and the type of event reported, theft, this event was ranked as an INES Level 1 (anomaly). However, because of the low-risk nature of the sources involved, this event does not pose a significant risk to the public or the environment.
    3. Found Category 4 source: A portable gauge was found on the doorstep of a member of the public who was previously a CNSC licensee. The CNSC issued a contract with a servicing licensee for the pickup, storage and disposal of the gauge. The servicing licensee has confirmed that all services have been rendered, and this event is now closed.
  • Eight events involved Category 5 sources. There were 8 events involving a total of 13 Category 5 sealed sources. All events described below involve lost or missing sealed sources. These are considered very low risk and pose no danger because of their low activities, short half-lives or radiological nature.
    1. In three cases, three sealed sources (one source in each case) used as radioactive seeds were not recovered following surgery. Licensees made efforts to find the seeds, but the searches were unsuccessful. Two licensees have implemented corrective actions to prevent future recurrences. The third incident was determined to be an isolated event and so no further actions were required. Due to the negligible risk to the public and the environment, these events are considered closed.
    2. One sealed source used for teaching purposes was reported missing by a licensee. There is no reason to believe that the source was stolen; it was likely misplaced. The licensee implemented corrective actions to prevent recurrences. Due to the negligible risk to the public and the environment, this event is considered closed.
    3. In one case, a calibration source was misrouted while being delivered to a licensee. The licensee was unaware that the source was being delivered, and attempts to find the source have been unsuccessful. The licensee implemented corrective actions to prevent future recurrences. Due to the negligible risk to the public and the environment, this event is considered closed.
    4. In one case, a licensee reported five sealed sources as missing while performing an inventory check. It is believed that the sources were not stolen but misplaced or lost. The licensee implemented corrective actions to prevent future recurrences. Due to the negligible risk to the public and the environment, this event is considered closed.
    5. In one event, two Category 5 sources were discovered missing from a licensee’s inventory but were later recovered. The licensee’s internal permit to possess sealed sources was temporarily suspended and corrective actions were implemented to prevent recurrences. This event is closed.
    6. In one event, a calibration source was noted to be missing. The licensee believes it may have been inadvertently returned to the supplier along with other isotopes. The supplier was notified, but could not confirm the location of the source. The licensee implemented corrective actions to prevent recurrences. Due to the negligible risk to the public and the environment, this event is considered closed.

Transaction statistics

The NSSR is populated by licensees reporting their transactions via the online SSTS interface or by other means (such as fax, email or regular mail). Figures 3, 4 and 5 show transactions entered in the SSTS in 2017, statistics for import and export of sealed sources, and the percentage of online SSTS transactions from 2013 to 2017, respectively.

Figure 4. SSTS transactions in 2017
Import Export Exchange Create Change Cancel Transfer Receive
Transactions 14858 18491 3484 16514 9975 255 5864 5735
  • Create: Creation of a new source manufactured in Canada
  • Exchange: Replacement of one source for another in a radiation device or prescribed equipment at a licensed location
  • Export: Transfer of a sealed source from Canada to a foreign destination
  • Import: Transfer of a sealed source to Canada from a foreign destination
  • Receive: Reception of sources by licensees at licensed locations
  • Transfer: Transfer of sources within Canada between licensees and licensed locations
  • Change: Transaction date change or correction
  • Cancel: Cancellation of transaction due to unforeseen circumstances (e.g., export and shipment cancellations, delayed transfers)

A total of 75,176 sealed source transactions were recorded in the SSTS in 2017, which represents a 15% increase over the number of transactions recorded in 2016.

Figure 5. Number of sealed source imports and exports from 2013 to 2017
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Number of sources imported into Canada 12218 14307 14924 11577 14858
Number of sources exported from Canada 14171 19047 17029 17311 18491

Users of nuclear substances in Canada routinely import and export sealed sources in accordance with their licences. There was a 7% increase in the number of exports, and a 28% increase in the number of imports in 2017 over 2016.

Figure 6. Percentage of SSTS transactions completed online from 2013 to 2017
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Percentage of Web transactions relative to number of transactions 88 94 93 95 94

In 2017, 94% of all transactions were done via the SSTS Web portal, a proportion that has remained steady since 2014.

Licensees’ continued use of the SSTS indicate that its implementation, as well as that of the NSSR, has been effective, and that Canada is maintaining its commitment to the Code of Conduct on the Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources.

Additional resources

Date modified:

Rapport annuel 2017 sur le Registre national des sources scellées et le Système de suivi des sources scellées

Les sources scellées sont des substances nucléaires radioactives qui sont enfermées dans une enveloppe scellée ou munie d’un revêtement ou enrobage auquel la substance est liée. Ces sources servent pour diverses activités, comme dans les applications médicales, industrielles, commerciales, universitaires et de recherche. L’inventaire des sources scellées au Canada se trouve dans le Registre national des sources scellées (RNSS), qui a été conçu en 2006 afin d’être conforme au Code de conduite sur la sûreté et la sécurité des sources radioactives de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA). Le RNSS sert à dresser un inventaire exact et sécurisé des sources scellées au Canada, en mettant l’accent sur les sources classées à risque élevé.

Le Système de suivi des sources scellées (SSSS) est un programme informatique sécurisé de gestion de l’information utilisé avec le RNSS pour assurer le suivi des sources à risque élevé nouvelles et existantes au Canada. Les transferts de sources sont déclarés en ligne au moyen du SSSS et servent à alimenter le RNSS afin que l’information soit aussi actuelle que le permettent les délais de transmission des données prévues par le permis (p. ex. la transmission des données dans les deux jours suivant la réception et dans les sept jours avant tout transfert). La CCSN concentre plus particulièrement ses efforts sur la saisie des données concernant les sources à risque élevé et le RNSS contient des renseignements détaillés sur les sources comme le numéro de série, l’isotope, l’activité et l’emplacement actuel. Les renseignements concernant les sources à risque modéré et faible sont mis à jour annuellement à partir des données d’inventaire incluses dans les rapports annuels de conformité soumis par les titulaires de permis. La CCSN valide cette information à des fins d’exactitude et d’uniformité.

Catégories de sources scellées

L’AIEA classe les sources scellées en cinq catégories :

Catégorie 1

risque très élevé
(ou risque significatif)

Catégorie 2

risque élevé
(ou risque significatif)

Catégorie 3

risque modéré

Catégorie 4

faible risque

Catégorie 5

très faible risque

Pour en savoir plus sur la catégorisation des sources scellées, consulter le site Web de la CCSN.

À la fin de 2017, le Registre national contenait des renseignements sur 112 543 sources scellées radioactives au Canada. Le SSSS assure le suivi actif des sources de catégories 1 et 2. En 2017, le SSSS a assuré le suivi de 6 260 sources de catégorie 1 et de 56 970 sources de catégorie 2. Les 49 313 autres sources dans le RNSS faisaient partie des catégories 3, 4 ou 5, qui ne sont pas assujetties à un suivi obligatoire pour chaque mouvement.

Tendance dans l’inventaire des sources scellées

Le nombre de sources que l’on retrouve au Canada augmente chaque année, principalement parce que les fabricants de sources acceptent les sources retournées aux fins de recyclage, de réutilisation ou de stockage à long terme. La figure 1 indique le nombre total de sources scellées, ainsi que la quantité de sources scellées dans chaque catégorie, comptabilisées au Canada au 31 décembre 2017. En 2017, il y a eu une augmentation de 9 % du nombre de sources à risque élevé comparativement à 2016, et la majeure partie de cette augmentation vient de la production de sources de catégorie 2. L’augmentation du nombre de sources scellées de catégorie 3 est principalement attribuable au retour des sources scellées qui ne peuvent plus être utilisées dans l’équipement réglementé et à la désintégration des sources de catégorie 2 que détiennent les titulaires de permis.

Figure 1. Ventilation des sources scellées au Canada, au 31 décembre 2017
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Sources - total 66139 79077 92831 100996 112543
Catégorie 1 3993 5734 6748 6273 6260
Catégorie 2 32466 39167 45673 51501 56970
Catégorie 3 24242 28701 34899 37675 43784
Catégorie 4 484 224 200 293 258
Catégorie 5 4954 5251 5311 5254 5271

Mesures de rendement et vérification

Afin de mesurer l’efficacité du SSSS et de vérifier l’exactitude des données dans le système, les inspecteurs de la CCSN vérifient matériellement si les données saisies dans le Système de suivi correspondent aux stocks réels de sources scellées des titulaires de permis. Les activités régulières d’inspection de la conformité de la CCSN comprennent des exigences relatives à la vérification de l’information de suivi des sources scellées. Les écarts sont immédiatement corrigés pour assurer l’exactitude des données. Généralement de nature administrative, les incohérences incluent les erreurs relevées dans le numéro de série des sources et les dates de référence ainsi que dans l’utilisation d’une nomenclature non standard pour identifier les assemblages de sources scellées.

En 2017, la CCSN a réalisé 133 inspections. De ce nombre, 130 titulaires de permis (98 %) étaient conformes, tandis que trois titulaires de permis (2 %) ne l’étaient pas. Les titulaires de permis qui n’étaient pas conformes ont corrigé adéquatement les problèmes soulevés pendant l’inspection. Les cas de non-conformité incluaient ceux pour lesquels les titulaires de permis n’ont pas donné de notification de transaction dans le SSSS dans les délais indiqués dans leurs conditions de permis ainsi que des renseignements de suivi qui n’étaient pas à jour.

Pour en savoir plus sur les résultats d’inspection des titulaires de permis canadiens utilisant des substances nucléaires quant aux doses reçues par les travailleurs, à la radioprotection, à la conduite de l’exploitation et à la sécurité des sources scellées, consulter le Rapport de surveillance réglementaire sur l’utilisation des substances nucléaires au Canada.

Atténuation des conséquences des événements

Les titulaires de permis doivent signaler immédiatement à la CCSN la perte ou le vol de substances nucléaires et doivent soumettre des descriptions écrites des mesures prises ou proposées en vue de récupérer les substances nucléaires manquantes. La CCSN enquête sur de tels événements et informe les parties intéressées (locales, nationales et internationales) en vue d’obtenir leur aide pour la récupération de ces sources. On trouve la liste de tous les événements liés à des sources scellées dans le Rapport sur la perte ou le vol de sources scellées et d’appareils à rayonnement.

L’Échelle internationale des événements nucléaires et radiologiques (INES) est un outil qui sert à informer les communautés techniques et le public de l’importance, sur le plan de la sûreté, des événements radiologiques et nucléaires. Chaque événement signalé par les secteurs commercial, médical, industriel, universitaire et de recherche est classé conformément à l’INES, selon son degré d’importance sur le plan de la sûreté. Parmi les événements qui suivent, un seul a été classé au niveau 1 (anomalie) de l’échelle INES. Tous les autres événements ont été classés au niveau 0, ce qui signifie qu’ils sont en dessous de l’échelle et qu’ils n’ont aucune importance du point de vue de la sûreté.

Figure 2. Descriptions du classement de l’INES

Figure 2. Descriptions du classement de l’INES ACCIDENT MAJEUR ACCIDENT GRAVE ACCIDENT (entraînant un risque hors du site) ACCIDENT (n’entraînant pas de risque important à l’extérieur du site) INCIDENT GRAVE INCIDENT ANOMALIE 0ÉCART INCIDENT ACCIDENT 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

Au total, il y a eu 11 événements en 2017 liés à 19 sources scellées (15 sources perdues, 2 sources volées et 2 sources récupérées). Ces sources étaient de catégories 4 ou 5, soit des sources de faible et de très faible risque.

Figure 3. Nombre d’événements signalés concernant des sources scellées perdues, volées ou trouvées, de 2013 à 2017
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Perdues/volées 14 13 16 12 10
Trouvées 3 3 1 3 1

Notes pour la figure 3 :

  • Aucun événement lié à des sources de catégorie 1
  • Aucun événement lié à des sources de catégorie 2
  • Aucun événement lié à des sources de catégorie 3
  • Il y a eu 3 événements liés à 6 sources de catégorie 4. Ces sources sont considérées comme présentant un faible risque et sont peu susceptibles de poser un danger. Tous les événements concernaient des jauges portatives renfermant deux sources scellées.
    1. Sources de catégorie 4 perdues : Une jauge portative est tombée de l’arrière d’un camion pendant son transport. Des recherches ont été effectuées et un rapport de police a été rempli. Trois jours plus tard, un membre du public a trouvé la jauge et en a avisé la police. La jauge a été récupérée dans sa boîte de transport et n’avait aucun signe visible de dommages. Les niveaux de rayonnement se trouvaient à l’intérieur des limites normales. Le titulaire de permis a pris des mesures correctives pour éviter qu’un tel incident se reproduise. Cet événement est maintenant clos.
    2. Sources de catégorie 4 volées : Une jauge portative a été volée à l’arrière d’un véhicule verrouillé. Les autorités locales ont été contactées pour signaler le vol et pour publier un communiqué au public. La jauge portative n’a pas été récupérée, et cet événement fait l'objet d'une enquête. Compte tenu du nombre de sources nucléaires concernées et du type d’événement signalé, soit un vol, l’événement a été classé au niveau 1 (anomalie) de l’échelle INES. Cependant, en raison du faible risque que présentent les sources volées, cet événement ne pose aucun risque important pour le public ou l’environnement.
    3. Sources de catégorie 4 trouvées : Une jauge portative a été trouvée devant la porte d’entrée d’un membre du public qui était auparavant un titulaire de permis de la CCSN. La CCSN a émis un contrat auprès d’un titulaire de permis fournissant des services d’entretien afin qu’il ramasse, qu’il entrepose et qu’il élimine la jauge. Le titulaire de permis fournissant les services d’entretien a confirmé que tous les services demandés ont été rendus, et l’événement est jugé clos.
  • Il y a eu 8 événements liés à des sources scellées de catégorie 5. Il y a eu 8 cas liés à la perte de 13 sources scellées de catégorie 5 au total. Tous les événements décrits ci-dessous concernent des sources scellées perdues ou manquantes. Ces sources présentent un très faible risque et ne posent aucun danger en raison de leur faible activité, de leur courte période radioactive ou de leur nature radiologique.
    1. Dans trois cas, trois sources scellées (une pour chaque cas) utilisées comme grains radioactifs n’ont pas été récupérées une fois la chirurgie terminée. Les titulaires de permis ont déployé des efforts pour retrouver les grains, mais les recherches n’ont pas porté fruit. Deux titulaires de permis ont mis en œuvre des mesures correctives pour éviter qu’un tel incident se reproduise. Le troisième incident a été déterminé comme un cas isolé et aucune autre mesure n’était requise. En raison du risque négligeable pour le public et l’environnement, ces trois événements sont jugés clos.
    2. Un titulaire de permis a signalé qu’une source scellée servant à des fins d’enseignement était manquante. Il n’y a aucune raison de croire que la source a été volée; elle a probablement été égarée. Le titulaire de permis a pris des mesures correctives pour éviter qu’un tel incident se reproduise. En raison du risque négligeable pour le public ou l’environnement, cet événement est jugé clos.
    3. Dans un cas, une source d’étalonnage a été incorrectement acheminée pendant son transport à destination d’un titulaire de permis. Le titulaire de permis n’était pas au courant que la source avait été expédiée, et toutes les tentatives pour retrouver la source ont échoué. Le titulaire de permis a pris des mesures correctives pour éviter qu’un tel incident se reproduise. En raison du risque négligeable pour le public ou l’environnement, cet événement est jugé clos.
    4. Dans un cas, un titulaire de permis a signalé cinq sources scellées manquantes pendant qu’il procédait à une vérification d’inventaire. On ne croit pas que les sources aient été volées, elles ont plutôt été égarées ou perdues. Le titulaire de permis a pris des mesures correctives pour éviter qu’un tel incident se reproduise. En raison du risque négligeable pour le public ou l’environnement, cet événement est jugé clos.
    5. Dans un cas, un titulaire de permis a découvert qu’il manquait 2 sources de catégorie 5 à son inventaire, mais elles ont été récupérées plus tard. Le permis interne du titulaire de permis l’autorisant à posséder des sources scellées a été temporairement suspendu et des mesures correctives ont été mises en œuvre pour éviter qu’un tel événement se reproduise. Cet événement est clos.
    6. Dans un cas, une source d’étalonnage a été déclarée manquante. Le titulaire de permis croit qu’elle pourrait avoir été renvoyée par inadvertance au fournisseur avec d’autres isotopes. Le fournisseur a été avisé, mais n’a pu confirmer où la source se trouve. Le titulaire de permis a pris des mesures correctives pour éviter qu’un tel incident se reproduise. En raison du risque négligeable pour le public ou l’environnement, cet événement est jugé clos.

Statistiques relatives aux transactions

Le RNSS est alimenté par les titulaires de permis qui déclarent leurs transactions dans l’interface en ligne ou d’une autre façon (par télécopieur, par courriel ou par la poste). Les figures 3, 4 et 5 montrent les transactions saisies dans le SSSS en 2017, les statistiques concernant l’importation et l’exportation de sources scellées et le pourcentage de transactions en ligne via le SSSS, de 2013 à 2017, respectivement.

Figure 4. Transactions dans le SSSS en 2017
Importation Exportation Échange Création Modification Annulation Transfert Réception
Transactions 14858 18491 3484 16514 9975 255 5864 5735
  • Création : Fabrication de nouvelles sources au Canada
  • Échange: Remplacement d’une source par une autre dans un appareil à rayonnement ou un équipement réglementé, dans un lieu autorisé
  • Exportation: Expédition d’une source scellée du Canada vers tout autre pays
  • Importation: Expédition d’une source scellée vers le Canada en provenance de l’étranger
  • Réception: Réception de sources par des titulaires de permis dans des emplacements autorisés
  • Transfert: Nombre de sources transférées entre titulaires de permis et entre emplacements autorisés, à l’intérieur du Canada
  • Modification: Modification ou correction de la date d’une transaction
  • Annulation: Annulation d’une transaction en raison de circonstances imprévues (p. ex. annulation d’une exportation ou d’une expédition et report de transferts)

Au total, 75 176 transactions ont été enregistrées en 2017 dans la SSSS, ce qui représente une augmentation de 15 % par rapport à 2016.

Figure 5. Nombre d’importations et d’exportations de sources scellées, de 2013 à 2017
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Nombre de sources importées au Canada 12218 14307 14924 11577 14858
Nombre de sources exportées du Canada 14171 19047 17029 17311 18491

Les utilisateurs de substances nucléaires au Canada importent et exportent couramment des sources scellées, conformément à leurs permis. Il y a eu une augmentation de 7 % du nombre d’exportations et une augmentation de 28 % du nombre d’importations en 2017, comparativement à 2016.

Figure 6. Pourcentage de transactions dans le SSSS effectuées en ligne, de 2013 à 2017
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Pourcentage de transactions en ligne relativement au nombre total de transactions 88 94 93 95 94

En 2017, 94 % de toutes les transactions ont été effectuées via le portail Web du SSSS, une proportion qui demeure stable depuis 2014.

Les titulaires de permis continuent d’utiliser le SSSS, ce qui signifie que sa mise en œuvre, tout comme celle du RNSS, a été efficace et que le Canada respecte son engagement relativement au Code de conduite sur la sûreté et la sécurité des sources radioactives.

Autres ressources

Dernière mise à jour :