Canada's National Reports to the Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste Management

What is the Joint Convention?

The Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste Management (Joint Convention) is an international agreement governing all aspects of spent fuel and radioactive waste management.

Canada was one of the first countries (known as Contracting Parties) to ratify the Joint Convention, which came into force on June 18, 2001.

The Joint Convention is the first legally binding international treaty on safety in these areas. It represents the participating countries’ commitment to achieving and maintaining a consistently high level of safety in the management of spent fuel and radioactive waste, as part of the global safety regime for ensuring the protection of people and the environment.

The Joint Convention’s objectives are to:

  • achieve and maintain a high level of safety in spent fuel and radioactive waste management
  • protect individuals, society and the environment from ionizing radiation
  • prevent accidents and, if necessary, mitigate their consequences

Joint Convention review meetings

The Joint Convention encourages Contracting Parties to report, and to promote open and transparent discussions, on the safety of spent fuel and radioactive waste management. The mechanism for achieving these objectives is a peer review of national programs for spent fuel and radioactive waste management. The Joint Convention calls for a review meeting to be held at least once every three years. The Contracting Parties participating in the Joint Convention are required to submit a national report at each review meeting, demonstrating the measures they have taken to implement their obligations under the agreement. The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) publishes summary reports (which include the outcomes of review meetings), on their website.

National reports to the Joint Convention

Canada’s national reports are published together with responses to questions received from other Contracting Parties. The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC), the country’s independent nuclear regulator, submits these documents on behalf of Canada.

Fifth report

The Fifth Review Meeting was held on May 11–22, 2015, at IAEA headquarters in Vienna, Austria.


Fourth report

Third report

Second report

First report

Contributors to Canada’s Joint Convention reports

The CNSC regulates the safe management of radioactive waste and spent fuel, and is responsible for coordinating the national reports for the IAEA review meetings.

These reports, however, represent a collective work, and involve the cooperation of various federal departments, as well as input from licensees and industry organizations.

The following organizations contribute to the writing and review of these documents:

Federal departments and agencies

  • Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
  • Natural Resources Canada

Industry organizations

Rapports nationaux du Canada pour la Convention commune sur la sûreté de la gestion du combustible usé et sur la sûreté de la gestion des déchets radioactifs

Qu’est-ce que la Convention commune?

La Convention commune sur la sûreté de la gestion du combustible usé et sur la sûreté de la gestion des déchets radioactifs (Convention commune) [en anglais seulement] est une entente internationale qui régit tous les aspects de la gestion du combustible usé et des déchets radioactifs.

Le Canada a été l’un des premiers pays (partie contractante) à ratifier la Convention commune, qui est entrée en vigueur le 18 juin 2001.

La Convention commune est le premier traité international sur la sûreté ayant force obligatoire dans ces domaines. Les parties contractantes à la Convention s’engagent à atteindre et à maintenir dans le cadre du régime mondial de sûreté un niveau de sûreté constamment élevé en matière de gestion du combustible usé et des déchets radioactifs afin d’assurer la protection des personnes et de l’environnement.

Voici les objectifs de la Convention commune :

  • atteindre et maintenir un haut niveau de sûreté en matière de gestion du combustible usé et des déchets radioactifs
  • protéger les personnes, la société et l’environnement contre le rayonnement ionisant
  • prévenir les accidents et atténuer les conséquences de ces accidents au cas où ils se produiraient

Réunions d’examen sur la Convention commune

La Convention commune encourage les parties contractantes à présenter des rapports et à promouvoir la tenue de discussions ouvertes et transparentes sur la sûreté de la gestion du combustible usé et des déchets radioactifs. Pour assurer l’atteinte de ces objectifs, elle prévoit un mécanisme d’examen par les pairs des programmes nationaux de gestion du combustible usé et des déchets radioactifs. La Convention commune prévoit aussi la tenue de réunions d’examen au moins une fois tous les trois ans. Les parties contractantes à la Convention commune sont tenues de soumettre à l’occasion de chaque réunion d’examen un rapport national sur les mesures prises pour répondre aux obligations qui découlent de la Convention. L’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA) publie des rapports sommaires (qui incluent les résultats des réunions d’examen) sur son site Web.

Rapports nationaux pour la Convention commune

Les rapports nationaux du Canada sont publiés avec les réponses aux questions reçues d’autres parties contractantes. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), l’organisme de réglementation nucléaire indépendant du pays, soumet ces documents au nom du Canada.

Cinquième rapport

La cinquième réunion d’examen s’est déroulée du 11 au 22 mai 2015 à l’administration centrale de l’AIEA à Vienne (Autriche).


Quatrième rapport

Troisième rapport

Deuxième rapport

Premier rapport

Contributeurs aux rapports du Canada pour la Convention commune

La CCSN réglemente la gestion sûre des déchets radioactifs et du combustible usé et elle coordonne l’élaboration des rapports nationaux en vue des réunions d’examen de l’AIEA.

Ces rapports sont le fruit d’une collaboration entre divers ministères fédéraux, avec l’aide de titulaires de permis et d’organisations du secteur.

Les organisations suivantes contribuent à la rédaction et à la révision des documents.

Ministères et organismes fédéraux

  • Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
  • Ressources naturelles Canada

Organisations du secteur