Perspectives on nuclear issues

Nuclear is a fascinating and complex topic. Countless studies, opinion pieces and news articles are frequently released. Below are a number of links of interest that represent some of the voices contributing to the debates over the use of nuclear technology in Canada, including regulatory aspects.

2016

2016

  • In a June 2016 TED talk, Joe Lassiter, Senior Fellow at Harvard Business School, focuses on one of the world’s most pressing problems: developing clean, secure and carbon-neutral supplies of reliable, low-cost energy. His analysis of the world's energy realities includes a look at nuclear power.
  • David Ropeik, an instructor in the Environmental Studies Program of the Harvard Extension School and a consultant in risk communication, recently published an article titled “The Dangers of Radiophobia”. In this article, he explores society’s fear of nuclear radiation, arguing that the level of alarm far exceeds the actual danger and that these fears pose dangers of their own to human health.
  • A recent article in Nuclear Engineering International magazine titled “Expanding the Table” discusses how nuclear safety regulators must maintain their independence to effectively provide impartial nuclear safety oversight to the nuclear industry, and that the strength of relationships and communication with a variety of stakeholders can contribute to an informed dialogue without compromising the regulator’s independence.
  • On June 6, 2016, Canada 2020 hosted its 3rd Annual Global Energy Outlook. The event was headlined by Daniel Yergin, best-selling author and Vice Chairman of IHS and Founder of IHS Cambridge Energy Research Associates. Mr. Yergin was joined on stage by the Honourable Jim Carr, Minister of Natural Resources, who posed questions on global energy trends and their impacts on Canada. Minister Carr raised nuclear energy, noting that most people in Canada do not know that 60 percent of Ontario’s electricity comes from nuclear. Mr. Yergin commented that nuclear has to be part of the agenda and that shutting it down is counterintuitive, especially if the current focus is to pursue renewable energy.
  • The Guardian recently published an article entitled Why it's time to dispel the myths about nuclear power that clarifies some of the myths around the Chernobyl and Fukushima accidents.
  • In February 2016, Bill Gates was featured in an interesting video in which he shared his views on combatting climate change. He uses an equation to calculate greenhouse gas emissions and explain the need for clean energy sources.

Perspectives sur les questions nucléaires

Le domaine nucléaire est fascinant et complexe. Un nombre incalculable d'études, d'articles d'opinion et d'articles de journaux sont publiés fréquemment. Ceux-ci représentent certains des points de vue quant à l'utilisation de la technologie nucléaire au Canada, y compris les aspects réglementaires.

2016

2016

  • En juin 2016, Joe Lassiter, professeur agrégé à la Harvard Business School, a donné un exposé TED (en anglais seulement) sur un des problèmes mondiaux les plus pressants : produire de l’énergie propre, sécuritaire, fiable, économique et neutre en carbone. Son analyse de la situation énergétique mondiale englobe l’énergie nucléaire.
  • David Ropeik, instructeur du programme d’études environnementales de la Harvard Extension School et consultant en communication des risques, a récemment publié un article intitulé « The Dangers of Radiophobia » (en anglais seulement). Dans cet article, il examine la peur des gens à l’égard du rayonnement nucléaire, en soutenant que le niveau de peur dépasse de loin le danger réel, et que ces peurs présentent des dangers particuliers pour la santé humaine.
  • Selon un article publié récemment dans la revue Nuclear Engineering International intitulé « Expanding the Table » (en anglais seulement), les organismes de réglementation nucléaire doivent demeurer indépendants afin de pouvoir exercer une surveillance efficace et impartiale de la sûreté nucléaire pour le secteur nucléaire. Il explique aussi que la force des rapports et la communication avec les parties intéressées peuvent contribuer à établir un dialogue éclairé avec elles sans compromettre l’indépendance de l’organisme de réglementation.
  • Le 6 juin 2016, Canada 2020 a tenu sa 3e conférence annuelle Global Energy Outlook (en anglais seulement). La tête d’affiche était Daniel Yergin, auteur à succès, vice-président d’IHS et fondateur d’IHS Cambridge Energy Research Associates. M. Yergin fut accompagné sur scène par l’honorable Jim Carr, ministre des Ressources naturelles, qui a posé des questions sur les tendances mondiales en matière d’énergie et leurs incidences sur le Canada. M. Carr a mentionné l’énergie nucléaire, soulignant que la plupart des Canadiens ne savent pas que 60 % de l’électricité produite en Ontario provient du nucléaire. M. Yergin a fait remarquer que l’énergie nucléaire doit faire partie du paysage énergétique et qu’il serait contre-intuitif de s’en défaire, surtout dans le contexte actuel où l’on espère mettre en valeur les sources d’énergie renouvelable.
  • Le journal The Guardian a récemment publié un article intitulé « Why it’s time to dispel the myths about nuclear power » (en anglais seulement) qui dissipe certains mythes à propos des accidents de Tchernobyl et de Fukushima.
  • En février 2016, Bill Gates a donné son opinion sur la lutte aux changements climatiques dans une vidéo intéressante (en anglais seulement). Il s’est servi d’une équation pour calculer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et expliquer la nécessité d’adopter des sources d’énergie propre.