Independent Environmental Monitoring Program: Nordion (Canada) Inc.

Nordion (Canada) Inc. (Nordion) is licensed by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to operate the Nordion Class IB facility located in Ottawa, ON. At this facility, Nordion processes unsealed radioisotopes for health and life sciences applications, and manufactures sealed radiation sources for industrial applications. Nordion has a comprehensive environmental protection program to monitor and control nuclear and hazardous substances released from the site, determine concentrations in the environment, and assess exposure to the public.

The Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP) results for 2016 indicate that the public and the environment in the vicinity of Nordion are protected and that there is no unreasonable risk to health and the environment.

Legend

[ ] Guideline/Reference Level

 

Nordion

Sample Type Sample Description Parameter 2016 Result Guideline/
Reference Level
Expected Health Impact (Yes/No) Background Sample Code
Air Iodine-131 < 0.0006 Bq/m3 0.228 Bq/m3 No N/A ND01-A01
Air Cesium-137 < 0.000058 Bq/m3 2.56 Bq/m3 No N/A ND01-A01
Air Cobalt-60 < 0.00006 Bq/m3 0.832 Bq/m3 No N/A ND01-A01
Air Iodine-131 < 0.0006 Bq/m3 0.228 Bq/m3 No N/A ND02-A02
Air Cesium-137 < 0.000058 Bq/m3 2.56 Bq/m3 No N/A ND02-A02
Air Cobalt-60 < 0.00006 Bq/m3 0.832 Bq/m3 No N/A ND02-A02
Air Iodine-131 < 0.0006 Bq/m3 0.228 Bq/m3 No N/A ND03-A03
Air Cesium-137 < 0.000058 Bq/m3 2.56 Bq/m3 No N/A ND03-A03
Air Cobalt-60 < 0.00006 Bq/m3 0.832 Bq/m3 No N/A ND03-A03
Soil 5 - 10 cm Cesium-137 2.7 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND01-S01
Soil 5 - 10 cm Cobalt-60 < 1.3 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND01-S01
Soil 5 - 10 cm Cesium-137 5.5 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND02-S02
Soil 5 - 10 cm Cobalt-60 < 1.3 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND02-S02
Soil 5 - 10 cm Cesium-137 1.5 Bq/kg dry weight 58.6 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND03-S03
Soil 5 - 10 cm Cobalt-60 < 1.3 Bq/kg dry weight 14.1 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND03-S03
Sediment 0 - 5 cm Cesium-137 2.2 Bq/kg dry weight 37300 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND04-S04
Sediment 0 - 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1.3 Bq/kg dry weight 5870 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND04-S04
Sediment 0 - 5 cm Cesium-137 1.7 Bq/kg dry weight 37300 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND05-S05
Sediment 0 - 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1.3 Bq/kg dry weight 5870 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND05-S05
Sediment 0 - 5 cm Cesium-137 < 0.9 Bq/kg dry weight 37300 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND06-S06
Sediment 0 - 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1.3 Bq/kg dry weight 5870 Bq/kg dry weight No N/A ND06-S06
Water Surface Water pH 7.86 6.5-9.0 No N/A ND04-W01
Water Surface Water pH 7.72 6.5-9.0 No N/A ND05-W02
Water Surface Water pH 7.77 6.5-9.0 No N/A ND06-W03
Water Surface Water Cesium-137 < 0.24 Bq/L 10 Bq/L No N/A ND04-W01
Water Surface Water Cobalt-60 < 0.28 Bq/L 12.1 Bq/L No N/A ND04-W01
Water Surface Water Cesium-137 < 0.24 Bq/L 10 Bq/L No N/A ND05-W02
Water Surface Water Cobalt-60 < 0.28 Bq/L 12.1 Bq/L No N/A ND05-W02
Water Surface Water Cesium-137 < 0.24 Bq/L 10 Bq/L No N/A ND06-W03
Water Surface Water Cobalt-60 < 0.28 Bq/L 12.1 Bq/L No N/A ND06-W03
Water Surface Water Total Dissolved Solids 636 mg/L 500 mg/L No N/A ND04-W01
Water Surface Water Total Dissolved Solids 624 mg/L 500 mg/L No N/A ND05-W02
Water Surface Water Total Dissolved Solids 647 mg/L 500 mg/L No N/A ND06-W03
Water Surface Water Total Suspended Solids 15.4 mg/L N/A No N/A ND04-W01
Water Surface Water Total Suspended Solids 9 mg/L N/A No N/A ND05-W02
Water Surface Water Total Suspended Solids 4.6 mg/L N/A No N/A ND06-W03
Water Surface Water Gross Alpha - 0.5 Bq/L No N/A ND04-W01
Water Surface Water Gross Alpha - 0.5 Bq/L No N/A ND05-W02
Water Surface Water Gross Alpha - 0.5 Bq/L No N/A ND06-W03
Water Surface Water Gross Beta - 1 Bq/L No N/A ND04-W01
Water Surface Water Gross Beta - 1 Bq/L No N/A ND05-W02
Water Surface Water Gross Beta - 1 Bq/L No N/A ND06-W03

1 The < symbol indicates that a result is below the provided laboratory analytical detection limit.

2 N/A – not available

3 For radiological parameters where no guidelines exist, CNSC reference levels were established based on conservative assumptions using CSA standard N288.1-14. The reference level for a particular radionuclide in a particular medium (e.g., water, air, food) represents the activity concentration that would result in a dose of 0.1 mSv/a (millisieverts/year), a dose at which no health impacts are expected.

4 For water samples, the results are compared to Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life; where no CCME guidelines exist, the Health Canada Drinking Water Quality Guidelines are used.

5 "-" The gross alpha and gross beta levels in surface water could not be assessed because the total dissolved solids in the water samples exceeded the limit (500 mg/L) of the validated laboratory method.

Background

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), licensees of nuclear facilities are required to implement an environmental monitoring program to demonstrate that the public and the environment are protected from emissions related to the facility's nuclear activities. The results of these monitoring programs are submitted to the CNSC to ensure compliance with applicable guidelines and limits, as set out in regulations that oversee Canada's nuclear industry.

The CNSC has implemented its IEMP to verify that the public and the environment around licensed nuclear facilities are safe. It is separate from, but complementary to, the CNSC's ongoing compliance verification program. The IEMP involves taking samples from public areas around the facilities, and measuring and analyzing the amount of radiological (nuclear)and hazardous substances in those samples. CNSC staff collect the samples and send them to the CNSC's independent laboratory for testing and analysis. In 2016, as part of the IEMP, CNSC staff conducted sampling in public areas outside of the Nordion facility perimeter.

2016 results

The 2016 IEMP sampling plan for Nordion focused on radiological (nuclear) contaminants. A site-specific sampling plan was developed based on the licensee's approved environmental monitoring program. The site-specific sampling plan also took into consideration the CNSC's regulatory experience with the site. In June 2016, CNSC staff collected air, soil, sediment and water samples in publically-accessible areas outside the Nordion facility perimeter. The levels of radioactivity measured in air, soil, sediment and water were below available guidelines and CNSC reference levels. CNSC reference levels are based on conservative assumptions about the exposure that would result in a dose of 0.1 mSv/year. No health impacts are expected at this dose level. The gross alpha and gross beta levels in surface water could not be assessed because the total dissolved solids (TDS) in the water samples exceeded the limit (500 mg/L) of the validated laboratory method. The guidelines for TDS are an aesthetic objective only and do not pose any concern for the environment or human health. Aesthetic objectives are established for parameters that may impair the taste, odour or colour of water. Nordion’s operation does not impact the levels of TDS in surface water and TDS was measured solely for the purposes of the laboratory method. Additional surface water samples will be taken in future IEMP sampling campaigns.

Conclusions

The IEMP results indicate that the public and the environment in the vicinity of Nordion are protected and that there is no unreasonable risk to health and the environment. These results are consistent with the results submitted by Nordion, demonstrating that the licensee's environmental protection program protects the health and safety of people and the environment.

Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale : Nordion (Canada) Inc.

Nordion (Canada) Inc. (Nordion) est titulaire d'un permis de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) l'autorisant à exploiter l'installation de catégorie IB située à Ottawa, en Ontario. L'entreprise traite à cette installation des radio-isotopes non scellés destinés à des utilisations en sciences de la santé et de la vie, et elle produit des sources radioactives scellées pour des applications industrielles. Nordion exécute un vaste programme de protection de l'environnement dans le but de surveiller et de contrôler les rejets de substances nucléaires et dangereuses provenant de l'installation, de déterminer les concentrations de contaminants dans l'environnement et d'évaluer l'exposition du public.

Les résultats du Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) de 2016 indiquent que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité de Nordion sont protégés et que l'installation ne pose pas de risque inacceptable pour la santé et l'environnement.

Légende

[ ] Directives/Niveau de référence

 

Nordion

Type d'échantillon Description de l'échantillon Paramètre Résultat 2016 Directives sur la QE/ Niveau de référence Impact prévu sur la santé (oui/non) Contexte Code de l'échantillon
Air Iode-131 < 0,0006 Bq/m3 0,228 Bq/m3 Non N/D ND01-A01
Air Césium-137 < 0,000058 Bq/m3 2,56 Bq/m3 Non N/D ND01-A01
Air Cobalt-60 < 0,00006 Bq/m3 0,832 Bq/m3 Non N/D ND01-A01
Air Iode-131 < 0,0006 Bq/m3 0,228 Bq/m3 Non N/D ND02-A02
Air Césium-137 < 0,000058 Bq/m3 2,56 Bq/m3 Non N/D ND02-A02
Air Cobalt-60 < 0,00006 Bq/m3 0,832 Bq/m3 Non N/D ND02-A02
Air Iode-131 < 0,0006 Bq/m3 0,228 Bq/m3 Non N/D ND03-A03
Air Césium-137 < 0,000058 Bq/m3 2,56 Bq/m3 Non N/D ND03-A03
Air Cobalt-60 < 0,00006 Bq/m3 0,832 Bq/m3 Non N/D ND03-A03
Sol 5 - 10 cm Césium-137 2,7 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND01-S01
Sol 5 - 10 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,3 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND01-S01
Sol 5 - 10 cm Césium-137 5,5 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND02-S02
Sol 5 - 10 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,3 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND02-S02
Sol 5 - 10 cm Césium-137 1,5 Bq/kg de poids sec 58,6 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND03-S03
Sol 5 - 10 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,3 Bq/kg de poids sec 14,1 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND03-S03
Sédiments 0 - 5 cm Césium-137 2,2 Bq/kg de poids sec 37 300 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND04-S04
Sédiments 0 - 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,3 Bq/kg de poids sec 5 870 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND04-S04
Sédiments 0 - 5 cm Césium-137 1,7 Bq/kg de poids sec 37 300 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND05-S05
Sédiments 0 - 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,3 Bq/kg de poids sec 5 870 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND05-S05
Sédiments 0 - 5 cm Césium-137 < 0,9 Bq/kg de poids sec 37 300 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND06-S06
Sédiments 0 - 5 cm Cobalt-60 < 1,3 Bq/kg de poids sec 5 870 Bq/kg de poids sec Non N/D ND06-S06
Eau Eau de surface pH 7,86 6,5 - 9,0 Non N/D ND04-W01
Eau Eau de surface pH 7,72 6,5 - 9,0 Non N/D ND05-W02
Eau Eau de surface pH 7,77 6,5 - 9,0 Non N/D ND06-W03
Eau Eau de surface Césium-137 < 0,24 Bq/L 10 Bq/L Non N/D ND04-W01
Eau Eau de surface Cobalt-60 <0,28 Bq/L 12,1 Bq/L Non N/D ND04-W01
Eau Eau de surface Césium-137 < 0,24 Bq/L 10 Bq/L Non N/D ND05-W02
Eau Eau de surface Cobalt-60 <0,28 Bq/L 12,1 Bq/L Non N/D ND05-W02
Eau Eau de surface Césium-137 < 0,24 Bq/L 10 Bq/L Non N/D ND06-W03
Eau Eau de surface Cobalt-60 <0,28 Bq/L 12,1 Bq/L Non N/D ND06-W03
Eau Eau de surface Matières dissoutes totales 636 mg/L 500 mg/L Non N/D ND04-W01
Eau Eau de surface Matières dissoutes totales 624 mg/L 500 mg/L Non N/D ND05-W02
Eau Eau de surface Matières dissoutes totales 647 mg/L 500 mg/L Non N/D ND06-W03
Eau Eau de surface Total des solide en suspension 15,4 mg/L N/A Non N/D ND04-W01
Eau Eau de surface Total des solide en suspension 9,0 mg/L N/A Non N/D ND05-W02
Eau Eau de surface Total des solide en suspension 4,6 mg/L N/A Non N/D ND06-W03
Eau Eau de surface Particules alpha brutes - 0,5 Bq/L Non N/D ND04-W01
Eau Eau de surface Particules alpha brutes - 0,5 Bq/L Non N/D ND05-W02
Eau Eau de surface Particules alpha brutes - 0,5 Bq/L Non N/D ND06-W03
Eau Eau de surface Particules bêta brutes - 1 Bq/L Non N/D ND04-W01
Eau Eau de surface Particules bêta brutes - 1 Bq/L Non N/D ND05-W02
Eau Eau de surface Particules bêta brutes - 1 Bq/L Non N/D ND06-W03

1 Le symbole < indique que le résultat est inférieur à la limite de détection analytique en laboratoire.

2 N/D – non disponible

3 Lorsqu'il n'y a pas de lignes directrices applicables aux paramètres radiologiques, les niveaux de référence de la CCSN ont été établis à partir d'hypothèses prudentes s'appuyant sur la norme CSA N288.1-14. Le niveau de référence pour un radionucléide donné dans un milieu particulier (p. ex. eau, air, aliments) correspond à la concentration de l'activité qui donnerait une dose de 0,1 mSv/année (millisievert/année) et qui ne devrait pas avoir de répercussions sur la santé.

4 Pour les échantillons d'eau, les résultats sont comparés aux Recommandations pour la protection de la vie aquatique du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement (CCME). Si aucune recommandation n'a été formulée par le CCME, les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada de Santé Canada sont appliquées.

5 "-" Les niveaux alpha brutes et les niveaux bêta bruts dans l'eau de surface n'ont pas pu être évalués, car la concentration de matières dissoutes totales (MDT) dans les échantillons d'eau dépassait la limite (500 mg/L) de la méthode de laboratoire validée.

Contexte

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), les titulaires de permis d'installation nucléaire doivent mettre en œuvre un programme de surveillance de l'environnement dans le but de protéger le public, les travailleurs et l'environnement contre les émissions provenant des activités nucléaires de leurs installations. Les résultats de ces programmes de surveillance sont soumis à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) pour assurer la conformité aux lignes directrices et limites applicables, telles qu'établies dans les règlements qui gouvernent l'industrie nucléaire du Canada.

La CCSN a mis en œuvre son PISE dans le but de vérifier que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité des installations nucléaires sont protégés. Le PISE est indépendant du programme de vérification continue de la conformité de la CCSN, mais il le complète. Il consiste à prélever des échantillons dans des aires publiques autour des installations, ainsi qu'à mesurer et à analyser des substances radiologiques (nucléaires) et non radiologiques (dangereux). Les échantillons sont prélevés par le personnel de la CCSN et envoyés au laboratoire de pointe de la CCSN aux fins d'analyse. En 2016, dans le cadre du PISE, du personnel de la CCSN a prélevé des échantillons dans des aires publiques à l'extérieur du périmètre de l'installation de Nordion.

Résultats de 2016

Le plan d'échantillonnage du PISE de 2016 pour Nordion visait les contaminants radiologiques (nucléaires). Un plan d'échantillonnage propre au site a été élaboré à partir du programme de surveillance environnementale approuvé du titulaire de permis. Ce plan tenait également compte de l'expérience en réglementation de la CCSN pour ce site. En juin 2016, des échantillons d'air, de sol, de sédiments et d'eau ont été recueillis dans des zones accessibles au public à l'extérieur du périmètre de l'installation de Nordion. La radioactivité mesurée dans l'air, le sol, le sédiment et l'eau était inférieure aux recommandations disponibles et aux niveaux de référence de la CCSN. Ces derniers sont établis sur la base d'hypothèses prudentes concernant l'exposition qui entraînerait une dose de 0,1 mSv/an. Aucun impact sur la santé n'est attendu à ce niveau de dose. Les niveaux alpha brutes et les niveaux bêta bruts dans l’eau de surface n’ont pas pu être évalués, car la concentration de matières dissoutes totales (MDT) dans les échantillons d’eau dépassait la limite (500 mg/L) de la méthode de laboratoire validée. Les recommandations fédérales concernant les MDT ont un objectif purement esthétique, et les résultats obtenus ne sont pas préoccupants pour l’environnement et la santé humaine. Les objectifs esthétiques sont établis pour des paramètres qui pourraient altérer le goût, l’odeur ou la couleur de l’eau. Les activités de Nordion n’ont pas d’incidence sur les niveaux de MDT dans l’eau de surface. Les MDT ont été mesurées uniquement aux fins de la méthode de laboratoire. D’autres échantillons d’eau de surface seront prélevés lors de futures campagnes d’échantillonnage du PISE.

Conclusion

Les résultats du PISE de 2016 indiquent que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité de l'installation de Nordion sont protégés et qu'il n'y a pas d'effets sur la santé. Ils correspondent aux résultats présentés par Nordion, ce qui démontre que le programme de protection de l'environnement du titulaire de permis préserve la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des personnes, et protège l'environnement.