Independent Environmental Monitoring Program: McArthur River mine

Publication date: September 18, 2015

Cameco Corporation (Cameco) is licensed by the CNSC to operate the McArthur River mine, located 620 kilometres north of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Cameco discovered the McArthur River ore body in 1988. Construction of the underground and surface facilities began in 1997 and 1998 respectively, with production mining beginning in late 1999. McArthur River is the world’s largest high-grade uranium mine. Cameco maintains a comprehensive environmental protection program to monitor and control nuclear and hazardous substances released from the McArthur River mine and to determine concentrations of contaminants in the environment.

The Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP) results for 2014 confirm that the public and the environment around the McArthur River mine are safe and that there are no health impacts.

Legend

[ ] Guideline/Reference Level
< below the provided laboratory analytical detection limit

 

McArthur River Mine Points

Sample Type Sample Description Parameter 2014 Result Guideline/
Reference Level
Expected Health
Impact (Yes/No)
Background Sample Code
WaterSurfaceRadium-226< 0.002 Bq/L0.5 Bq/LNo0.00005 - 0.1 Bq/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfaceRadium-226 0.004 Bq/L0.5 Bq/LNo0.00005 - 0.1 Bq/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfacePolonium-210< 0.01 Bq/L0.1 Bq/LNo0.002 - 0.16 Bq/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfacePolonium-210< 0.01 Bq/L0.1 Bq/LNo0.002 - 0.16 Bq/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfaceUranium 0.06 µg/L15 µg/LNo0.005 - 6 µg/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfaceUranium 0.1 µg/L15 µg/LNo0.005 - 6 µg/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfaceLead 0.05 µg/L1 - 7 µg/LNo0.05 - 20 µg/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfaceLead 0.04 µg/L1 - 7 µg/LNo0.05 - 20 µg/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfaceSelenium< 0.11 µg/L1 µg/LNo0.05 - 3 µg/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfaceSelenium 0.12 µg/L1 µg/LNo0.05 - 3 µg/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfaceMolybdenum <1.5 µg/L73 µg/LNo0.05 - 78 µg/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfaceMolybdenum 5.44 µg/L73 µg/LNo0.05 - 78 µg/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfaceArsenic 0.14 µg/L5 µg/LNo0.05 - 8 µg/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfaceArsenic 0.13 µg/L5 µg/LNo0.05 - 8 µg/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfaceNickel 0.09 µg/L25 - 150 µg/LNo0.05 - 94 µg/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfaceNickel 0.09 µg/L25 - 150 µg/LNo0.05 - 94 µg/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfaceCopper 0.14 µg/L2 - 4 µg/LNo0.1 - 15 µg/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfaceCopper 0.24 µg/L2 - 4 µg/LNo0.1 - 15 µg/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfaceZinc< 0.12 µg/L30 µg/LNo0.25 - 50 µg/L MR01-W01
WaterSurfaceZinc 0.51 µg/L30 µg/LNo0.25 - 50 µg/L MR02-W03
WaterSurfacepH 6.68 6.5-9.0No5.8 - 7.4 MR01-W01
WaterSurfacepH 6.57 6.5-9.0No5.8 - 7.4 MR02-W03

1The < symbol indicates that a result is below the provided laboratory analytical detection limit.

2For water samples, the results for non-radiological parameters are compared to CCME Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life; where no CCME guidelines exist, the Health Canada Drinking Water Quality Guidelines are used.

3N/A - Not Available

4Regional background taken from CNSCs report Environmental Performance of Uranium Mine or Mill Regulated Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act: Based on Environmental Data Associated with Operating Uranium Mines and Mills (2000-2012) presented at the Quebec Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement  (BAPE), 2014.

Background

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), licensees of nuclear facilities are required to implement an environmental monitoring program to demonstrate that the public and the environment are protected from emissions related to the facility’s nuclear activities. The results of these monitoring programs are submitted to the CNSC to ensure compliance with applicable guidelines and limits, as set out in regulations that oversee Canada’s nuclear industry.

The CNSC has implemented its IEMP to verify that the public and the environment around licensed nuclear facilities are safe. It is separate from, but complementary to, the CNSC’s ongoing compliance verification program. The IEMP involves taking samples from public areas around the facilities, and measuring and analyzing the amount of radiological (nuclear)and hazardous substances in those samples. CNSC staff collect the samples and send them to the CNSC’s state-of-the-art laboratory for testing and analysis. Sampling for the IEMP of the area outside of the McArthur River mine site perimeter was conducted in 2014.

Results

The 2014 IEMP sampling plan for the McArthur River mine focused on both radiological (nuclear) and non-radiological (hazardous) contaminants. A site-specific sampling plan was developed based on Cameco’s approved environmental monitoring program, CSA Group standards and the CNSC’s regulatory experience with the site. In 2014, water samples were collected at a reference station upstream of the effluent discharge point, and at an exposure station downstream of the effluent discharge point, both located outside the McArthur River Mine site perimeter. View detailed sampling data.

The measured radioactivity in the samples was well below drinking water quality guidelines. No health impacts are expected at these levels.

With respect to the non-radiological analysis, the concentrations of analyzed substances in water were below the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment’s guidelines and within the natural background levels. No health or environmental impacts are expected at these levels.

Conclusions

The IEMP results confirm that the public and the environment around the McArthur River mine are safe and that there are no health impacts. These results are consistent with the results submitted by Cameco, confirming that the licensee’s environmental protection program protects the health and safety of people and the environment.

Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale : Mine de McArthur River

Date de publication : 18 septembre 2015

Cameco Corporation (Cameco) est autorisée par la CCSN à exploiter la mine de McArthur River, située à 620 kilomètres au nord de Saskatoon (Saskatchewan). Cameco a découvert le gisement de McArthur River en 1988. La construction des installations souterraines et en surface a commencé en 1997 et 1998 respectivement, et l’extraction minière a débuté à la fin de 1999. Il s’agit de la plus grande mine d’uranium à haute teneur au monde. Cameco exécute un vaste programme de protection de l’environnement dans le but de surveiller et de contrôler les rejets de substances nucléaires et dangereuses provenant des installations et de déterminer les concentrations de contaminants dans l’environnement.

Les résultats du Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) de 2014 confirment que les rejets provenant de la mine de McArthur River n’ont pas d’incidences négatives sur le public et l’environnement.

Légende

[ ] Directives/Niveau de référence
< résultat est inférieur à la limite de détection analytique en laboratoire

 

McArthur River Mine Points

Type d'échantillon Description de l'échantillon Paramètre Résultat 2014 Directives sur la QE/ Niveau de référence Impact prévu sur la santé (oui/non) Contexte Code de l'échantillon
EauSurfaceRadium-226< 0,002 Bq/L0.5 Bq/Lnon0.00005 - 0.1 Bq/L MR01-W01
EauSurfaceRadium-226 0,004 Bq/L0.5 Bq/Lnon0.00005 - 0.1 Bq/L MR02-W03
EauSurfacePolonium-210< 0,01 Bq/L0.1 Bq/Lnon0.002 - 0.16 Bq/L MR01-W01
EauSurfacePolonium-210< 0,01 Bq/L0.1 Bq/Lnon0.002 - 0.16 Bq/L MR02-W03
EauSurfaceUranium 0,06 µg/L15 µg/Lnon0.005 - 6 µg/L MR01-W01
EauSurfaceUranium 0,1 µg/L15 µg/Lnon0.005 - 6 µg/L MR02-W03
EauSurfacePlomb 0,05 µg/L1 - 7 µg/Lnon0.05 - 20 µg/L MR01-W01
EauSurfacePlomb 0,04 µg/L1 - 7 µg/Lnon0.05 - 20 µg/L MR02-W03
EauSurfaceSélénium< 0,11 µg/L1 µg/Lnon0.05 - 3 µg/L MR01-W01
EauSurfaceSélénium 0,12 µg/L1 µg/Lnon0.05 - 3 µg/L MR02-W03
EauSurfaceMolybdène <1,5 µg/L73 µg/Lnon0.05 - 78 µg/L MR01-W01
EauSurfaceMolybdène 5,44 µg/L73 µg/Lnon0.05 - 78 µg/L MR02-W03
EauSurfaceArsenic 0,14 µg/L5 µg/Lnon0.05 - 8 µg/L MR01-W01
EauSurfaceArsenic 0,13 µg/L5 µg/Lnon0.05 - 8 µg/L MR02-W03
EauSurfaceNickel 0,09 µg/L25 - 150 µg/Lnon0.05 - 94 µg/L MR01-W01
EauSurfaceNickel 0,09 µg/L25 - 150 µg/Lnon0.05 - 94 µg/L MR02-W03
EauSurfaceCuivre 0,14 µg/L2 - 4 µg/Lnon0.1 - 15 µg/L MR01-W01
EauSurfaceCuivre 0,24 µg/L2 - 4 µg/Lnon0.1 - 15 µg/L MR02-W03
EauSurfaceZinc< 0,12 µg/L30 µg/Lnon0.25 - 50 µg/L MR01-W01
EauSurfaceZinc 0,51 µg/L30 µg/Lnon0.25 - 50 µg/L MR02-W03
EauSurfacepH 6,68 6.5-9.0non5.8 - 7.4 MR01-W01
EauSurfacepH 6,57 6.5-9.0non5.8 - 7.4 MR02-W03

1Le symbole < indique que le résultat est inférieur à la limite de détection analytique en laboratoire.

2Pour ce qui est des échantillons d’eau, les résultats pour les paramètres non radiologiques sont comparés aux Lignes directrices du CCME; lorsqu’il n’y a pas de normes CCME, les Recommandation pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada sont utilisées.

3N/A – Non applicable

4Aperçu régional tiré du rapport de la CCSN intitulé Performance environnementale d’une mine ou d’une usine de concentration d’uranium réglementée en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires : évaluation fondée sur des données environnementales relatives à des mines et usines de concentration d’uranium (2000-2012), qui a été présenté au Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) du Québec (2014).

Contexte

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), les titulaires de permis d'installation nucléaire doivent mettre en œuvre un programme de surveillance de l'environnement dans le but de protéger le public, les travailleurs et l'environnement contre les émissions provenant des activités nucléaires de leurs installations. Les résultats de ces programmes de surveillance sont soumis à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) pour assurer la conformité aux lignes directrices et limites applicables, telles qu'établies dans les règlements qui gouvernent l'industrie nucléaire du Canada.

La CCSN a mis en œuvre son PISE dans le but de vérifier que le public et l’environnement se trouvant à proximité des installations nucléaires sont protégés. Le PISE est indépendant du programme de vérification continue de la conformité de la CCSN, mais il le complète. Il consiste à prélever des échantillons dans des aires publiques autour des installations, ainsi qu’à mesurer et à analyser des substances radiologiques (nucléaires)  et non radiologiques (dangereux). Les échantillons sont prélevés par le personnel de la CCSN et envoyés au laboratoire de pointe de la CCSN aux fins d’analyse. Des échantillons ont été prélevés à l’extérieur du périmètre de l’installation de la mine de McArthur River en 2014.

Résultats

Le plan d’échantillonnage du PISE de 2014 pour la mine de McArthur River visait les contaminants radiologiques (nucléaires) et non radiologiques (dangereux). Un plan d’échantillonnage propre au site a été élaboré à partir du programme de surveillance environnementale approuvé de Cameco, des normes du Groupe CSA et de l’expérience en réglementation de la CCSN pour ce site. En 2014, des échantillons d’eau ont été recueillis à une station de référence à l’aval du point de rejet des effluents ainsi qu’à une station de référence en amont. Ces deux stations sont situées à l’extérieur du périmètre du site de la mine de McArthur River. Voir les données d’échantillonnage détaillées.

La radioactivité mesurée dans les échantillons était nettement inférieure aux recommandations pour la qualité de l’eau potable. Aucun impact sur la santé n’est prévu pour ces niveaux.

En ce qui a trait à l’analyse des composantes non radiologiques, les concentrations des substances analysées dans les échantillons d’eau et de sol étaient inférieures aux lignes directrices du Conseil canadien des ministres de l’Environnement (CCME) et elles respectaient les niveaux de rayonnement naturel. Ces niveaux ne devraient pas avoir d’impact sur la santé ou l’environnement.

Conclusions

Les résultats du PISE de 2014 confirment que le public et l’environnement se trouvant à proximité de la mine de McArthur River sont protégés et qu’il n’y a pas d’impact sur la santé. Ils correspondent aux résultats présentés par Cameco, ce qui confirme que le programme de protection de l’environnement du titulaire de permis préserve la santé et la sûreté des personnes et protège l’environnement.