Independent Environmental Monitoring Program - Blind River Refinery

Publication date: September 25, 2015

Cameco Corporation (Cameco) is licensed by the CNSC to operate the Blind River Refinery (BRR), located in Blind River, ON. The facility refines uranium concentrates (yellowcake) from uranium mines around the world, including northern Saskatchewan, to produce uranium trioxide (UO3), an intermediate product of the nuclear fuel cycle. The UO3 is then shipped to Cameco’s Port Hope conversion facility for further processing. Cameco maintains a comprehensive environmental protection program to monitor and control uranium and other hazardous substances released from the BRR, determine concentrations of contaminants in the environment, and assess exposure to the public.

The Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP) results for both 2013 and 2014 confirm that the public and the environment around the BRR site are safe and that there are no health impacts.


The map presents the 2014 IEMP BRR results, please refer to the detailed sampling data to view the results from previous sampling campaign.limit

[ ] Guideline/Reference Level
< below the provided laboratory analytical detection


Map Layers

Blind River Refinery Points

Sample Type Sample Description Parameter 2013 Result 2014 Result Guideline/
Reference Level
Expected Health Impact (Yes/No) Background Sample Code
SoilSurfaceUranium1.45 mg/kg1.8 mg/kg23 mg/kgNoN/A BR03-S01A
SoilSurfaceUranium3.38 mg/kg1.1 mg/kg23 mg/kgNoN/A BR11-S02A
SoilSurfaceUranium1.3 mg/kg3.8 mg/kg23 mg/kgNoN/A BR12-S03A
SoilSurfaceUranium1.71 mg/kg0.5 mg/kg23 mg/kgNoN/A BR14-S04A
Soil10-20 cmUranium3.86 mg/kgN/A23 mg/kgNoN/A BR11-S02B
Soil10-20 cmUranium1.62 mg/kgN/A23 mg/kgNoN/A BR12-S03B
WaterSurfaceUranium0.25 µg/L0.26 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR01-W01
WaterSurfaceUranium0.25 µg/L0.25 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR02-W02
WaterSurfaceUranium0.27 µg/L0.25 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR04-W03
WaterSurfaceUranium0.26 µg/L0.28 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR05-W04
WaterSurfaceUranium0.08 µg/L0.04 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR07-W05
WaterSurfaceUranium0.06 µg/L0.04 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR09-W06
WaterSurfaceUranium0.12 µg/L0.19 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR10-W07
WaterSurfaceUranium0.16 µg/L0.15 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR13-W08
WaterSurfaceUranium0.04 µg/L0.05 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR15-W09
WaterSurfaceUranium0.05 µg/L0.04 µg/L15 µg/LNoN/A BR16-W10
WaterSurfaceNitrate1.49 mg/L0.23 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR01-W01
WaterSurfaceNitrate0.75 mg/L1.45 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR02-W02
WaterSurfaceNitrate0.32 mg/L0.31 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR04-W03
WaterSurfaceNitrate0.34 mg/L1.41 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR05-W04
WaterSurfaceNitrate<0.38 mg/L0.08 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR07-W05
WaterSurfaceNitrate<0.38 mg/L1.4 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR09-W06
WaterSurfaceNitrate0.5 mg/L0.93 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR10-W07
WaterSurfaceNitrate<0.38 mg/L1.53 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR13-W08
WaterSurfaceNitrate<0.38 mg/L1.81 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR15-W09
WaterSurfaceNitrate<0.38 mg/L0.97 mg/L13 mg/LNoN/A BR16-W10
WaterSurfacepH7.147.336.5-9.0 NoN/A BR01-W01
WaterSurfacepH7.137.026.5-9.0 NoN/A BR02-W02
WaterSurfacepH7.227.066.5-9.0 NoN/A BR04-W03
WaterSurfacepH6.927.16.5-9.0 NoN/A BR05-W04
WaterSurfacepH6.997.16.5-9.0 NoN/A BR07-W05
WaterSurfacepH7.186.886.5-9.0 NoN/A BR09-W06
WaterSurfacepH6.777.56.5-9.0 NoN/A BR10-W07
WaterSurfacepH6.857.336.5-9.0 NoN/A BR13-W08
WaterSurfacepH6.486.876.5-9.0 NoN/A BR15-W09
WaterSurfacepH6.797.176.5-9.0 NoN/A BR16-W10
AirUranium0.004 µg/m3.0013 µg/m30.03 µg/m3NoN/A BR06-A01
AirUranium<0.0004 µg/m3<0.0003 µg/m30.03 µg/m3NoN/A BR08-A02

1The < symbol indicates that a result is below the provided laboratory analytical detection limit.

2For water samples, the results for non-radiological parameters are compared to CCME Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life; where no CCME guidelines exist, the Health Canada Drinking Water Quality Guidelines are used.

3For soil samples, the results for non-radiological are compared to CCME Canadian Soil Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Environmental and Human Health.

4For air samples, the results are compared to Ontario’s Ambient Air Quality Criteria.

5N/A - Not Available


Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), licensees of nuclear facilities are required to implement an environmental monitoring program to demonstrate that the public and the environment are protected from emissions related to the facility’s nuclear activities. The results of these monitoring programs are submitted to the CNSC to ensure compliance with applicable guidelines and limits, as set out in regulations that oversee Canada’s nuclear industry.

The CNSC has implemented its IEMP to verify that the public and the environment around licensed nuclear facilities are safe. It is separate from, but complementary to, the CNSC’s ongoing compliance verification program. The IEMP involves taking samples from public areas around the facilities, and measuring and analyzing the amount of radiological (nuclear)and hazardous substances in those samples. CNSC staff collect the samples and send them to the CNSC’s state-of-the-art laboratory for testing and analysis. The BRR site was sampled in 2013 and 2014.

2014 results

The 2014 IEMP sampling plan for the BRR site focused on uranium, nitrate and pH. A site-specific sampling plan was developed based on Cameco’s approved environmental monitoring program, CSA Group standards and the CNSC’s regulatory experience with the site. In 2014, samples were collected in publicly accessible areas outside the BRR site perimeter fence and included air, soil and water. View detailed sampling data.

The concentrations of uranium in water and soil and nitrate in water measured in the samples were below the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment’s (CCME) guidelines. The measured concentrations of uranium in air were below the levels set by Ontario’s Ambient Air Quality Criteria. With regard to the pH levels in water, the measured levels were within or very close to the CCME guidelines. No health or environmental impacts are expected at these levels.

The results for the two sampling years are similar and are below all applicable guidelines. Since the IEMP results represent a snapshot in time, the small differences between sample results can be attributed to slight differences in the sampling locations, seasonal variations, facility operations, meteorological conditions, and/or natural variations in background radiation. Over time, CNSC staff will have sufficient data to establish a baseline and monitor trends.

2013 results

The 2013 IEMP sampling plan for the BRR site was very similar to the 2014 plan and focused on uranium, nitrate and pH. Air, soil and water samples were collected by CNSC staff in publicly accessible areas outside the BRR facility site perimeter for both sampling campaigns. View detailed sampling data.

The 2013 IEMP results confirmed that the public and the environment in the vicinity of the BRR site were protected from the releases from the facility and that there were no health or environmental impacts expected at these levels.

To obtain the full technical IEMP report, contact us at or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). Please provide the name of the facility and the report year.


The IEMP results for both 2013 and 2014 confirm that the public and the environment around the BRR site are safe and that there are no health impacts. These results are consistent with the results submitted by Cameco, confirming that the licensee’s environmental protection program protects the health and safety of people and the environment.

Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) - Raffinerie de Blind River

Date de publication : 25 septembre 2015

Cameco Corporation (Cameco) est autorisée par la CCSN à exploiter la raffinerie de Blind River (RBR), située à Blind River (Ontario). L’installation affine le concentré de minerai d’uranium (yellow cake) provenant de mines d’uranium ailleurs dans le monde, y compris celles du nord de la Saskatchewan, pour produire du trioxyde d’uranium (UO3), un produit intermédiaire du cycle du combustible nucléaire. Ce produit est ensuite envoyé à l’installation de conversion de Port Hope, exploitée par Cameco, en vue d’une transformation ultérieure. Cameco exécute un vaste programme de protection de l’environnement dans le but de surveiller et de contrôler les rejets d’uranium et d’autres substances nucléaires et dangereuses provenant de la RBR, de déterminer les concentrations de contaminants dans l’environnement et d’évaluer l’exposition du public.

Les résultats du Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) de 2013 et de 2014 confirment que les rejets provenant de la RBR n’ont pas d’incidences négatives sur le public et l’environnement.

Légende

La carte indique les résultats du PISE de 2014 pour la raffinerie de Blind River; veuillez consulter les données d’échantillonnage détaillées pour connaître les résultats de la campagne d’échantillonnage précédente.

[ ] Directives/Niveau de référence
< résultat est inférieur à la limite de détection analytique en laboratoire

 

Map Layers

Blind River Refinery Points

Type d'échantillon Description de l'échantillon Paramètre Résultat 2013 Résultat 2014 Directives sur la QE/ Niveau de référence Impact prévu sur la santé (oui/non) Contexte Code de l'échantillon
SolSurfaceUranium1,45 mg/kg1,8 mg/kg23 mg/kgnonS.O. BR03-S01A
SolSurfaceUranium3,38 mg/kg1,1 mg/kg23 mg/kgnonS.O. BR11-S02A
SolSurfaceUranium1,3 mg/kg3,8 mg/kg23 mg/kgnonS.O. BR12-S03A
SolSurfaceUranium1,71 mg/kg0,5 mg/kg23 mg/kgnonS.O. BR14-S04A
Sol10-20 cmUranium3,86 mg/kgS.O.23 mg/kgnonS.O. BR11-S02B
Sol10-20 cmUranium1,62 mg/kgS.O.23 mg/kgnonS.O. BR12-S03B
EauSurfaceUranium0,25 µg/L0,26 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR01-W01
EauSurfaceUranium0,25 µg/L0,25 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR02-W02
EauSurfaceUranium0,27 µg/L0,25 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR04-W03
EauSurfaceUranium0,26 µg/L0,28 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR05-W04
EauSurfaceUranium0,08 µg/L0,04 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR07-W05
EauSurfaceUranium0,06 µg/L0,04 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR09-W06
EauSurfaceUranium0,12 µg/L0,19 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR10-W07
EauSurfaceUranium0,16 µg/L0,15 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR13-W08
EauSurfaceUranium0,04 µg/L0,05 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR15-W09
EauSurfaceUranium0,05 µg/L0,04 µg/L15 µg/LnonS.O. BR16-W10
EauSurfaceNitrate1,49 mg/L0,23 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR01-W01
EauSurfaceNitrate0,75 mg/L1,45 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR02-W02
EauSurfaceNitrate0,32 mg/L0,31 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR04-W03
EauSurfaceNitrate0,34 mg/L1,41 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR05-W04
EauSurfaceNitrate<0,38 mg/L0,08 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR07-W05
EauSurfaceNitrate<0,38 mg/L1,4 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR09-W06
EauSurfaceNitrate0,5 mg/L0,93 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR10-W07
EauSurfaceNitrate<0,38 mg/L1,53 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR13-W08
EauSurfaceNitrate<0,38 mg/L1,81 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR15-W09
EauSurfaceNitrate<0,38 mg/L0,97 mg/L13 mg/LnonS.O. BR16-W10
EauSurfacepH7,147,336.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR01-W01
EauSurfacepH7,137,026.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR02-W02
EauSurfacepH7,227,066.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR04-W03
EauSurfacepH6,927,16.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR05-W04
EauSurfacepH6,997,16.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR07-W05
EauSurfacepH7,186,886.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR09-W06
EauSurfacepH6,777,56.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR10-W07
EauSurfacepH6,857,336.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR13-W08
EauSurfacepH6,486,876.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR15-W09
EauSurfacepH6,797,176.5-9.0 nonS.O. BR16-W10
AirUranium0,004 µg/m3,0013 µg/m30.03 µg/m3nonS.O. BR06-A01
AirUranium<0,0004 µg/m3<0,0003 µg/m30.03 µg/m3nonS.O. BR08-A02

1Le symbole < indique que le résultat est inférieur à la limite de détection analytique en laboratoire.

2Pour ce qui est des échantillons d’eau, les résultats pour les paramètres non radiologiques sont comparés aux Lignes directrices du CCME; lorsqu’il n’y a pas de normes CCME, les Recommandation pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada sont utilisées.

3Pour ce qui est des échantillons de sol, les résultats pour les contaminants non radiologiques (dangereux) sont comparés aux Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des sols : environnement et santé humaine du CCME.

4Pour ce qui est des échantillons d’air, les résultats sont comparés aux critères de qualité de l’air ambiant de l’Ontario.

5N/A – Non applicable

Contexte

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), les titulaires de permis d'installation nucléaire doivent mettre en œuvre un programme de surveillance de l'environnement dans le but de protéger le public, les travailleurs et l'environnement contre les émissions provenant des activités nucléaires de leurs installations. Les résultats de ces programmes de surveillance sont soumis à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) pour assurer la conformité aux lignes directrices et limites applicables, telles qu'établies dans les règlements qui gouvernent l'industrie nucléaire du Canada.

La CCSN a mis en œuvre son PISE dans le but de vérifier que le public et l’environnement se trouvant à proximité des installations nucléaires sont protégés. Le PISE est indépendant du programme de vérification continue de la conformité de la CCSN, mais il le complète. Il consiste à prélever des échantillons dans des aires publiques autour des installations, ainsi qu’à mesurer et à analyser des substances radiologiques (nucléaires)  et non radiologiques (dangereux). Les échantillons sont prélevés par le personnel de la CCSN et envoyés au laboratoire de pointe de la CCSN aux fins d’analyse. Des échantillons ont été prélevés pour la RBR en 2013 et en 2014.

Résultats de 2014

Le plan d’échantillonnage du PISE de 2014 pour le site de la RBR visait l’uranium, le nitrate et le pH. Un plan d’échantillonnage propre au site a été élaboré à partir du programme de surveillance environnementale approuvé de Cameco, des normes du Groupe CSA et de l’expérience en réglementation de la CCSN pour ce site. En 2014, des échantillons d’air, de sol et d’eau, entres autres, ont été recueillis dans des zones accessibles au public à l’extérieur de la clôture du périmètre du site de la RBR. Voir les données d’échantillonnage détaillées

En ce qui a trait à l’analyse de l’uranium dans l’eau et le sol et du nitrate dans l’eau, les concentrations mesurées dans les échantillons étaient inférieures aux lignes directrices du Conseil canadien des ministres de l’Environnement (CCME). Les concentrations d’uranium dans l’air étaient inférieures aux niveaux établis par les critères de qualité de l’air ambiant de l’Ontario. Le pH de l’eau était respectait ou presque les lignes directrices du CCME. Ces niveaux ne devraient pas avoir d’impact sur la santé ou l’environnement.

Les résultats pour les deux années d’échantillonnage sont semblables, et respectent toutes les lignes directrices applicables. Puisque les résultats du PISE constituent un aperçu de la situation dans le temps, les petites différences entre les résultats des échantillonnages peuvent être expliquées par les légères différences entre les points d’échantillonnage, les variations saisonnières, les activités aux installations, les conditions météorologiques ou les variations naturelles du rayonnement de fond. Au fil du temps, le personnel de la CCSN aura recueilli suffisamment de données pour établir une base de référence et surveiller les tendances.

Résultats de 2013

Le plan d’échantillonnage du PISE de 2013 pour le site de la RBR était très semblable à celui de 2014 et portait principalement sur l’uranium, le nitrate et le pH. Dans le cadre des deux campagnes d’échantillonnage, le personnel de la CCSN a effectué des prélèvements d’eau, de sol et d’air dans des endroits accessibles au public à l’extérieur du périmètre du site de l’installation. Voir les données d’échantillonnage détaillées.

Les résultats du PISE de 2013 confirment que le public et l’environnement se trouvant à proximité du site de la RBR sont protégés contre les rejets provenant des installations et qu’il n’y a pas d’impact sur la santé à ces niveaux.

Pour obtenir le rapport technique complet du PISE (en anglais seulement), veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN à cnsc.informationinfo.ccsn@canada.ca  ou par téléphone, au 613-995-5894 ou au 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez indiquer le nom de l’installation et l’année du rapport.

Conclusions

Les résultats du PISE de 2013 et de 2014 confirment que le public et l’environnement se trouvant à proximité de la RBR sont protégés et qu’il n’y a pas d’impact sur la santé. Ils correspondent aux résultats présentés par Cameco, ce qui confirme que le programme de protection de l’environnement du titulaire de permis préserve la santé et la sûreté des personnes et protège l’environnement.