Independent Environmental Monitoring Program – BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. - Peterborough

BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. (BWXT), formerly GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy Canada, is licensed by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to operate a nuclear fuel fabrication facility, located in Peterborough, Ontario. BWXT manufactures nuclear fuel bundles for Canada’s nuclear power plants from uranium dioxide (UO2) powder. The BWXT Peterborough facility assembles UO2 pellets manufactured at the BWXT facility in Toronto into CANDU reactor fuel bundles. BWXT has a comprehensive environmental protection program to monitor and control nuclear and hazardous substances released from the site, determine concentrations in the environment, and to assess exposure to the public.

The Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP) results from 2014 and 2018, along with conclusions of available health studies for uranium processing facilities, confirm that the public and the environment in the vicinity of the BWXT Peterborough facility are protected and that there are no expected health impacts.

Legend

[ ] Guideline/Reference Level

 

BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. - Peterborough

Sample Type Sample Description Parameter 2014 Result 2018 Result Guideline/
Reference Level
Expected Health Impact (Yes/No) Sample Code
Soil 0-5 cm Uranium 2.6 mg/kg dry weight 1.38 mg/kg 23 mg/kg dry weight No GP01-S01
Soil 0-5 cm Beryllium 0.8 mg/kg dry weight 1.27 mg/kg 4.0 mg/kg dry weight No GP01-S01
Soil 0-5 cm Uranium 3.5 mg/kg dry weight 1.75 mg/kg 23 mg/kg dry weight No GP02-S02
Soil 0-5 cm Beryllium 1.1 mg/kg dry weight 1.14 mg/kg 4.0 mg/kg dry weight No GP02-S02
Vegetation Grass Uranium <0.1 mg/kg dry weight N/A N/A No GP02-V01
Vegetation Grass Beryllium <0.1 mg/kg dry weight N/A N/A No GP02-V01
Air Ambient Uranium N/A <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 No GP03-A03
Air Ambient Beryllium N/A <0.003 µg/m3 0.01 µg/m3 No GP03-A03
Soil 0-5 cm Uranium 4.7 mg/kg dry weight 1.63 mg/kg 23 mg/kg dry weight No GP03-S03
Soil 0-5 cm Beryllium 1.1 mg/kg dry weight 1.28 mg/kg 4.0 mg/kg dry weight No GP03-S03
Vegetation Grass Uranium N/A <0.1 mg/kg N/A No GP03-V04
Vegetation Grass Beryllium N/A <0.02 mg/kg N/A No GP03-V04
Soil 0-5 cm Uranium 2.8 mg/kg dry weight 1.44 mg/kg 23 mg/kg dry weight No GP04-S04
Soil 0-5 cm Beryllium 0.9 mg/kg dry weight 1.08 mg/kg 4.0 mg/kg dry weight No GP04-S04
Air Ambient Uranium 0.0013 µg/m3 <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 No GP05-A01
Air Ambient Beryllium 0.000077 µg/m3 <0.003 µg/m3 0.01 µg/m3 No GP05-A01
Soil 0-5 cm Uranium 3.5 mg/kg dry weight 1.70 mg/kg 23 mg/kg dry weight No GP05-S05
Soil 0-5 cm Beryllium 1 mg/kg dry weight 1.27 mg/kg 4.0 mg/kg dry weight No GP05-S05
Vegetation Grass Uranium <0.1 mg/kg dry weight <0.1 mg/kg N/A No GP05-V02
Vegetation Grass Beryllium <0.1 mg/kg dry weight <0.02 mg/kg N/A No GP05-V02
Air Ambient Uranium N/A <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 No GP06-A06
Air Ambient Beryllium N/A <0.003 µg/m3 0.01 µg/m3 No GP06-A06
Soil 0-5 cm Uranium 3.5 mg/kg dry weight 1.65 mg/kg 23 mg/kg dry weight No GP06-S06
Soil 0-5 cm Beryllium 1 mg/kg dry weight 1.24 mg/kg 4.0 mg/kg dry weight No GP06-S06
Vegetation Grass Uranium <0.1 mg/kg dry weight N/A N/A No GP06-V03
Vegetation Grass Beryllium <0.1 mg/kg dry weight N/A N/A No GP06-V03
Air Ambient Uranium N/A <0.003 µg/m3 0.03 µg/m3 No GP07-A07
Air Ambient Beryllium N/A <0.003 µg/m3 0.01 µg/m3 No GP07-A07
Soil 0-5 cm Uranium 3.1 mg/kg dry weight 1.67 mg/kg 23 mg/kg dry weight No GP07-S07
Soil 0-5 cm Beryllium 0.7 mg/kg dry weight 1.34 mg/kg 4.0 mg/kg dry weight No GP07-S07
Soil 0-5 cm Uranium 3.4 mg/kg dry weight 1.92 mg/kg 23 mg/kg dry weight No GP08-S08
Soil 0-5 cm Beryllium 1 mg/kg dry weight 1.19 mg/kg 4.0 mg/kg dry weight No GP08-S08
Water Surface water Uranium N/A 0.2 µg/L 15 µg/L No GP09-W01
Water Surface water Beryllium N/A <0.1 µg/L N/A No GP09-W01
Water Surface water Uranium N/A 0.2 µg/L 15 µg/L No GP10-W02
Water Surface water Beryllium N/A <0.1 µg/L N/A No GP10-W02
Table Footnotes

1 The < symbol indicates that a result is below the provided laboratory analytical detection limit.

2 N/A – not available.

Background

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), licensees of nuclear facilities are required to implement an environmental monitoring program to demonstrate that the public and the environment are protected from emissions related to the facility’s nuclear activities. The results of these monitoring programs are submitted to the CNSC to ensure compliance with applicable guidelines and limits, as set out in regulations that oversee Canada’s nuclear industry.

The CNSC has implemented its IEMP to verify that the public and the environment around licensed nuclear facilities are protected. It is separate from, but complementary to, the CNSC’s ongoing compliance verification program. The IEMP involves taking samples from public areas around the facilities, and measuring and analyzing the amount of radioactive and hazardous substances in those samples. CNSC staff collect the samples and send them to the CNSC’s state-of-the-art laboratory for testing and analysis. The area outside of the BWXT Peterborough site perimeter was sampled in 2014 and 2018.

2014 and 2018 results

he IEMP sampling plans for BWXT Peterborough facility focused on both radioactive and hazardous substances, such as uranium and beryllium. Uranium is both a radioactive substance because it decays at a slow rate by emitting gamma radiation and a hazardous substance because exposure to uranium leads to chemical toxicity. Beryllium is a hazardous substance used in the fuel bundle manufacturing process. A site-specific sampling plan was developed based on the licensee’s approved environmental monitoring program and the CNSC’s regulatory experience with the site. In July 2014 and July 2018, CNSC staff collected air, soil, vegetation and water samples in publically-accessible areas outside the BWXT Peterborough site perimeter. The levels of uranium and beryllium measured in air, soil, vegetation and water were below available guidelines.

The concentrations of uranium and beryllium in air and soil samples were below available guidelines. The concentrations of uranium and beryllium in vegetation samples were below the laboratory method detection limit. No health or environmental effects are expected at these levels.

Focus on health

The CNSC also conducts studies to assess the health of the public near nuclear facilities. Several studies have been carried out in Port Hope, ON, where uranium has been processed to manufacture nuclear fuel for decades. These studies have consistently demonstrated that people who live near uranium processing facilities, such as BWXT, are as healthy as the rest of the Canadian general population. Access the CNSC’s library of health studies and third-party research.

Conclusions

The IEMP 2014 and 2018 results indicate that the public and the environment in the vicinity of the BWXT Peterborough facility are protected and that there are no expected health impacts. These results are consistent with the results submitted by BWXT and the conclusions of available health studies for uranium processing facilities – demonstrating that the licensee’s environmental protection program protects the health and safety of people and the environment.

To obtain the full technical IEMP report, contact us at cnsc.information.ccsn@canada.ca, or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). Please provide the name of the facility and the report year.

Date modified:

Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) : BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. - Peterborough

BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. (BWXT), auparavant GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy Canada, détient un permis de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) l’autorisant à exploiter une installation de fabrication de combustible nucléaire située à Peterborough, en Ontario. BWXT produit des grappes de combustible nucléaire à partir de poudre de dioxyde d’uranium (UO2) pour utilisation dans les centrales nucléaires du Canada. L’installation de BWXT à Peterborough assemble les pastilles d’UO2 en grappes de combustible pour les réacteurs CANDU. BWXT exécute un vaste programme de protection de l’environnement dans le but de surveiller et de contrôler les substances nucléaires et dangereuses provenant de l’installation de BWXT, de déterminer les concentrations de contaminants dans l’environnement et d’évaluer l’exposition du public.

Les résultats du Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) de 2014, de 2018 et de 2019, en plus des conclusions des études sur la santé disponibles pour les installations de traitement d’uranium, confirment que le public et l’environnement se trouvant à proximité de l’installation de BWXT à Peterborough sont protégés et qu’il n’y a aucun impact prévu sur la santé.

Légende

[ ] Directives/Niveau de référence

BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada Inc. - Peterborough

Type d'échantillon Description de l'échantillon Paramètre 2014 2018 2019 Directives sur la QE/ Niveau de référence Impact prévu sur la santé (oui/non) Code de l'échantillon
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium 1,2 mg/kg de poids sec 1,38 mg/kg de poids sec 1,42 mg/kg de poids sec 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP01-S01
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium 0,8 mg/kg de poids sec 1,27 mg/kg de poids sec 1,33 mg/kg de poids sec 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP01-S01
Air Ambiant Uranium N/D N/D < 0,00009 µg/m3 0,03 µg/m3 Non GP02-A02
Air Ambiant Béryllium N/D N/D < 0,0003 µg/m3 0,01 µg/m3 Non GP02-A02
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium 1,8 mg/kg de poids sec 1,75 mg/kg de poids sec 1,60 mg/kg de poids sec 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP02-S02
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium 1,1 mg/kg de poids sec 1,14 mg/kg de poids sec 1,34 mg/kg de poids sec 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP02-S02
Air Ambiant Uranium N/D < 0,003 µg/m3 N/D 0,03 µg/m3 Non GP03-A03
Air Ambiant Béryllium N/D < 0,003 µg/m3 N/D 0,01 µg/m3 Non GP03-A03
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium 1,6 mg/kg de poids sec 1,63 mg/kg de poids sec 1,21 mg/kg de poids sec 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP03-S03
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium 1,1 mg/kg de poids sec 1,28 mg/kg de poids sec 1,10 mg/kg de poids sec 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP03-S03
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium 1,5 mg/kg de poids sec 1,44 mg/kg de poids sec 1,60 mg/kg de poids sec 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP04-S04
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium 0,9 mg/kg de poids sec 1,08 mg/kg de poids sec 1,17 mg/kg de poids sec 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP04-S04
Air Ambiant Uranium 0,0013 µg/m3 < 0,003 µg/m3 < 0,00009 µg/m3 0,03 µg/m3 Non GP05-A01
Air Ambiant Béryllium 0,000077 µg/m3 < 0,003 µg/m3 < 0,0003 µg/m3 0,01 µg/m3 Non GP05-A01
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium 1,6 mg/kg de poids sec 1,70 mg/kg de poids sec 1,88 mg/kg de poids sec 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP05-S05
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium 1,0 mg/kg de poids sec 1,27 mg/kg de poids sec 2,34 mg/kg de poids sec 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP05-S05
Air Ambiant Uranium N/D < 0,003 µg/m3 < 0,00009 µg/m3 0,03 µg/m3 Non GP06-A06
Air Ambiant Béryllium N/D < 0,003 µg/m3 < 0,0003 µg/m3 0,01 µg/m3 Non GP06-A06
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 1,97 mg/kg de poids sec 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP06-S06
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium N/D N/D 1,44 mg/kg de poids sec 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP06-S06
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium 1,5 mg/kg de poids sec 1,65 mg/kg de poids sec N/D 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP06-S06
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium 1,0 mg/kg de poids sec 1,24 mg/kg de poids sec N/D 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP06-S06
Air Ambiant Uranium N/D < 0,003 µg/m3 < 0,00009 µg/m3 0,03 µg/m3 Non GP07-A07
Air Ambiant Béryllium N/D < 0,003 µg/m3 < 0,0003 µg/m3 0,01 µg/m3 Non GP07-A07
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium 1,0 mg/kg de poids sec 1,67 mg/kg de poids sec 1,37 mg/kg de poids sec 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP07-S07
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium 0,7 mg/kg de poids sec 1,34 mg/kg de poids sec 1,28 mg/kg de poids sec 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP07-S07
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium 1,7 mg/kg de poids sec 1,92 mg/kg de poids sec 2,05 mg/kg de poids sec 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP08-S08
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium 1,0 mg/kg de poids sec 1,19 mg/kg de poids sec 1,33 mg/kg de poids sec 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP08-S08
Eau Eau de surface Uranium N/D 0,2 µg/L 0,34 µg/L 15 µg/L Non GP09-W01
Eau Eau de Surface Béryllium N/D < 0,1 µg/L < 0,01 µg/L N/D Non GP09-W01
Eau Eau de surface Uranium N/D 0,2 µg/L 0,29 µg/L 15 µg/L Non GP10-W02
Eau Eau de Surface Béryllium N/D < 0,1 µg/L < 0,01 µg/L N/D Non GP10-W02
Sol 0-5 cm Uranium N/D N/D 1,28 mg/kg de poids sec 23 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP11-S11
Sol 0-5 cm Béryllium N/D N/D 1,25 mg/kg de poids sec 4,0 mg/kg de poids sec Non GP11-S11

1 Le symbole < indique que le résultat est inférieur à la limite de détection analytique en laboratoire.

2 N/D – non disponible

Employées de la CCSN prélevant des échantillons d’eau et de sol près de BWXT à Peterborough, en 2019.

Contexte

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), les titulaires de permis d’installations nucléaires doivent mettre en œuvre des programmes de surveillance de l’environnement dans le but de protéger le public et l’environnement contre les émissions provenant des activités nucléaires de leurs installations. Les résultats de ces programmes de surveillance sont soumis à la CCSN pour assurer la conformité aux recommandations et limites applicables, telles qu’établies dans les règlements qui gouvernent l’industrie nucléaire du Canada.

La CCSN a mis en œuvre son PISE dans le but de vérifier que le public et l’environnement se trouvant à proximité des installations nucléaires autorisées sont protégés. Le PISE est distinct du programme de vérification continue de la conformité de la CCSN, mais s’ajoute en complément. Il consiste à prélever des échantillons dans les espaces publics autour des installations ainsi qu’à mesurer et à analyser des quantités de substances radiologiques (nucléaires) et dangereuses. Les échantillons sont prélevés par le personnel de la CCSN et envoyés au laboratoire de la CCSN aux fins d’analyse et d’essais. En 2014, 2018 et 2019, des échantillons ont été prélevés dans des aires publiques à l’extérieur du périmètre de l’installation de BWXT à Peterborough.

Résultats de 2014, 2018 et 2019

Les plans d’échantillonnage du PISE pour l’installation de BWXT à Peterborough étaient axés sur les substances dangereuses et radioactives, comme l’uranium et le béryllium. L’uranium est à la fois une substance radioactive (elle se désintègre lentement en émettant un rayonnement gamma) et une substance dangereuse (car l’exposition à l’uranium entraîne une toxicité chimique). Le béryllium est une substance dangereuse utilisée dans le processus de fabrication des grappes de combustible. Un plan d’échantillonnage propre au site a été élaboré à partir du programme de surveillance de l’environnement approuvé du titulaire de permis et de l’expérience en réglementation de la CCSN pour ce site. En juillet 2014, juillet 2018 et mai 2019, le personnel de la CCSN a prélevé des échantillons d’air, de sol et d’eau dans des zones accessibles au public à l’extérieur du périmètre de l’installation BWXT à Peterborough. Les concentrations d’uranium et de béryllium mesurées dans ces échantillons étaient inférieures aux recommandations disponibles.

Accent mis sur la santé

La CCSN réalise également des études pour évaluer la santé du public vivant à proximité d’installations nucléaires. Plusieurs études ont été réalisées à Port Hope, en Ontario, où l’uranium est traité depuis des décennies pour fabriquer du combustible nucléaire. Ces études ont toujours démontré que les personnes vivant à proximité d’installations de traitement de l’uranium, comme BWXT, sont autant en santé que le reste de la population canadienne. Accéder à la bibliothèque de la CCSN qui contient des études sur la santé et des recherches effectuées par des tiers.

Conclusion

Les résultats du PISE pour 2014, 2018 et 2019 indiquent que le public et l’environnement à proximité de l’installation de BWXT à Peterborough sont protégés et qu’il n’y a pas d’impact attendu sur la santé. Ces résultats correspondent aux résultats présentés par BWXT et aux conclusions des études sur la santé disponibles pour les installations de traitement de l’uranium, ce qui démontre que le programme de protection de l’environnement du titulaire de permis préserve la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des personnes et protège l’environnement.

Pour obtenir le rapport technique complet du PISE, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN à cnsc.information.ccsn@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 613-995-5894 ou au 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez indiquer le nom de l’installation et l’année du rapport.

Dernière mise à jour :