Agreements signed at the International Atomic Energy Agency's 55th General Conference

Canada signs memorandum of understanding to exchange nuclear regulatory information and training with Israel at the International Atomic Energy Agency’s 55th General Conference


CNSC President Michael Binder (right) and Dr Shaul Chorev (left), Head of the Israel Atomic Energy Commission

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to exchange nuclear regulatory information and training with the Israel Atomic Energy Commission. The MOU was signed at the International Atomic Energy Agency’s 55th General Conference in Vienna, Austria.

Canada signs administrative arrangement to exchange nuclear regulatory information and training with Jordan at the International Atomic Energy Agency’s 55th General Conference

The CNSC has signed an administrative arrangement to exchange nuclear regulatory information and training with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission of Jordan. The arrangement was signed at the International Atomic Energy Agency’s 55th General Conference in Vienna, Austria.


CNSC President Michael Binder (right) and Dr Jamal Sharaf (left), Director General of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission of Jordan

These types of MoUs and arrangements:

  • describe how regulators will exchange information and training
  • facilitate the sharing of information and personnel connected to licensing and regulatory supervision of nuclear installations, storage and treatment of radioactive waste, as well as other matters related to the peaceful use of nuclear energy
  • emphasize the priority that signatories assign to nuclear safety and the regulation of nuclear activities

The CNSC maintains similar MoUs with nuclear regulators in Argentina, Australia, Finland, France, Indonesia, the Republic of Korea, Romania, Russia, South Africa, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Canada signs joint arrangement with the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the United States Department of Transportation


CNSC President Michael Binder (right) and United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Chairman Gregory B. Jaczko (left)

The CNSC has signed a trilateral arrangement with the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the United States Department of Transportation for the sharing of information and best practices on the implementation of RD 364, Joint Canada–United States Guide for Approval of Type B(U) and Fissile Material Transportation Packages (RD-364). The purpose of the joint guide is to streamline the process between the two countries for the certification of transport packages.

The guide assists applicants in demonstrating the ability of a package design to meet Canadian or American regulations, or both, as applicable. It is also intended to assist in the review and approval of applications.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Ententes signées à l'occasion de la réunion de l'International Nuclear Regulators Association

Le Canada signe un protocole d'entente relativement à l'échange d'information sur la réglementation nucléaire et à la prestation de formation avec Israël lors de la 55e Conférence générale de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique


Le président de la CCSN, Michael Binder (à droite) et Shaul Chorev (à gauche), directeur de la Commission de l'énergie atomique d'Israël

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a signé un protocole d'entente relativement à l'échange d'information sur la réglementation nucléaire et à la prestation de formation avec la Commission de l'énergie atomique d'Israël lors de la 55e Conférence générale de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique tenue à Vienne, en Autriche.

Le Canada signe une entente administrative relativement à l'échange d'information sur la réglementation nucléaire et à la prestation de formation avec la Commission de réglementation nucléaire de la Jordanie lors de la 55e Conférence générale de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique.

La CCSN a signé une entente administrative relativement à l'échange d'information sur la réglementation nucléaire et à la prestation de formation avec la Commission de réglementation nucléaire de la Jordanie. Cette entente a été signée lors de la 55e Conférence générale de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique tenue à Vienne, en Autriche.


Le président de la CCSN, Michael Binder (à droite) et Jamal Sharaf (à gauche), directeur général de la Commission de réglementation nucléaire de la Jordanie

Ces types de protocole d'entente ou d'accord :

  • décrivent comment les organismes de réglementation échangeront l'information et donneront la formation
  • facilitent le partage d'information et de personnel en ce qui concerne l'autorisation et la supervision réglementaire des installations nucléaires, le stockage et le traitement des déchets radioactifs, et les autres questions relatives à l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire
  • insistent sur la priorité que les signataires accordent à la sûreté nucléaire et à la réglementation des activités nucléaires.

La CCSN maintient des protocoles d'entente semblables avec les organismes de réglementation nucléaire de l'Afrique du Sud, de l'Argentine, de l'Australie, de la Corée du Sud, des États-Unis, de la Finlande, de la France, de l'Indonésie, de la Roumanie, du Royaume-Uni et de la Russie.

Le Canada signe une entente conjointe avec la Nuclear Regulatory Commission et le département des Transports des États-Unis


Le président de la CCSN, Michael Binder (à droite), et le président de la Nuclear Regulatory Commission des États-Unis, Gregory B. Jaczko (à gauche)

La CCSN a signé une entente trilatérale avec la Nuclear Regulatory Commission et le département des Transports des États-Unis. Cette entente prévoit l'échange d'information et de pratiques exemplaires concernant la mise en œuvre du Guide d'approbation des colis de transport du type B(U) et des colis transportant des matières fissiles Canada–États-Unis (RD 364). Ce guide vise à simplifier le processus de certification des colis de transports entre les deux pays.

Ce guide aide les demandeurs à démontrer que la conception d'un colis satisfait aux règlements canadiens ou américains, ou les deux, le cas échéant. Il vise également à aider les vérificateurs lors de l'examen et de l'approbation des demandes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.