Health Effects of the Chernobyl Accident

February 2015

Quick facts

  • The 1986 accident at the Chernobyl nuclear plant in Ukraine was the largest uncontrolled radioactive release in history.
  • The initial steam explosion resulted in the deaths of two workers. 134 plant staff and emergency workers suffered acute radiation syndrome (ARS) due to high doses of radiation; of those, 28 of them later died from ARS.
  • From 1986 to 2005, more than 6,000 cases of thyroid cancer were reported in children who were exposed at the time of the accident; 15 of these cases were fatal.
  • There were no other demonstrated increases in the rates of solid cancers, leukemia and non-cancerous diseases from the radiation exposure.
  • In the three most-affected countries – Belarus, the Russian Federation and Ukraine – radiation doses to the general public were relatively low.

The 1986 accident at the Chernobyl nuclear plant in Ukraine was the largest uncontrolled radioactive release in history.

On April 26, 1986, steam and hydrogen explosions at the Chernobyl plant's Unit 4 led to a rupture in the reactor vessel and a fire that lasted 10 days. The explosions and fire caused the release of large amounts of radioactive iodine and cesium into the air, mostly near the plant; the wind carried some material over Belarus, the Russian Federation, Ukraine and other parts of Europe.

The following summarizes the health effects published in the 2008 United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR) report entitled Health effects due to radiation from the Chernobyl accident. The findings in this report are based on more than 20 years of studies of the health consequences of radiation exposure from the Chernobyl accident.

Chernobyl Explosion

A photograph taken hours after the Chernobyl explosion, showing extensive damage to Unit 4.

Radiation released during the Chernobyl accident

Workers and the public were exposed to three main types of radionuclides: iodine-131, cesium-134 and cesium-137.

When iodine-131 is released into the environment, it is quickly transferred to humans and taken up by the thyroid gland. However, I-131 has a short half-life (8 days). Children exposed to radioactive iodine usually receive higher doses than adults, because their thyroid gland is smaller and they have a higher metabolism.

Cesium isotopes have longer half-lives (approximately 2 years for cesium-134 and 30 years for cesium-137), increasing the chance of long-term exposure through ingestion of contaminated food and water, inhalation of contaminated air, or from radionuclides deposited in soil.

Worker health impacts

On the day of the accident, there were 600 workers onsite. 134 suffered acute radiation sickness, 28 of whom died in the first three months. For those who survived radiation sickness, recovery took several years.

Among the 600 workers onsite, increased incidences of leukemia and cataracts were recorded for those exposed to higher doses of radiation; otherwise, there has been no increase in the incidence of solid cancers or leukemia among the rest of the exposed workers. There is no evidence of increases in other non-cancerous diseases from ionizing radiation.

The 530,000 registered recovery operation workers who worked at the accident site between 1986 and 1990 were exposed to doses ranging from 20 to 500 mSv (averaging 120 mSv). This cohort's health is still being closely followed.

Warning Signs

Signs warn against entering areas around Chernobyl affected by high levels of radiation.

Public health impacts

The 115,000 members of the public who had to be evacuated from the area around the plant received an average effective radiation dose of 30 mSv. Radiation doses to the general public in the three contaminated countries (Belarus, the Russian Federation and Ukraine) were relatively low, with an average effective dose of 9 mSv, about the dose of a medical CT scan (i.e., 10 mSv). The total worldwide average effective dose from natural background radiation is around 2.4 mSv per year. In Canada, it is 1.8 mSv per year.

Among the residents of Belarus, the Russian Federation and Ukraine, as of 2005 there have been over 6,000 cases of thyroid cancer reported in children and adolescents who were exposed at the time of the accident. 15 of these cases were fatal. Long-term increases in thyroid cancer incidence are difficult to predict, but more cases are expected over the next few decades. A large number of these thyroid cancers is likely attributable to children drinking milk containing radioactive iodine from cows who had eaten contaminated grass.

The radiation dose due to Chernobyl in other European countries was less than 1 mSv. In more distant countries, radiation from the accident had no impact on the annual background doses and was considered to be non-significant to public health.

Chernobyl Firefighters

Firefighters who first responded to the Chernobyl disaster are memorialized in a nearby statue.

Psychological or mental health problems

According to several international studies, people exposed to radiation from Chernobyl have high anxiety levels and are more likely to report unexplained physical symptoms and poor health.

Concerns about fertility and birth defects

There is no evidence of decreased fertility in men or women in the affected regions. Because doses to the general population were low, it is unlikely that there would be any increase in stillbirths, adverse pregnancy outcomes, delivery complications, or negative impacts on children's overall health. Regardless, monitoring remains important and is ongoing.

Summary

Chernobyl today

Today the Chernobyl site is maintained and monitored extensively by a team of dedicated caretakers.

The 2008 UNSCEAR report on Chernobyl confirmed that, while new research data has become available, the major conclusions about the 1986 Chernobyl accident's health consequences are essentially consistent with previous assessments. Thyroid cancer in individuals who were children at the time of the accident remains the major health consequence. The previous fear of an increase in leukemia rates has not materialized, nor have any fertility problems arisen. As previous assessments indicate, psychological effects – such as high anxiety – and general poor health were observed. Previous studies have shown that there were no global consequences of the accident in Asia and North America, which remains true today.

For more information on Chernobyl:

Effets de l'accident de Tchernobyl sur la santé

Février 2015

Faits en bref

  • L'accident survenu en 1986 à la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl, en Ukraine, a causé le plus grand rejet radioactif non contrôlé de l'histoire.
  • L'explosion initiale de vapeur a provoqué la mort de deux employés. De plus, 134 employés de la centrale et intervenants d'urgence furent atteints du syndrome d'irradiation aiguë (SIA) en raison des fortes doses de rayonnement reçues. De ce nombre, 28 sont décédés.
  • De 1986 à 2005, plus de 6 000 cas de cancer de la thyroïde ont été signalés chez les personnes exposées au moment de l'accident alors qu'elles étaient enfants; 15 de ces cas ont été fatals.
  • Aucune augmentation des taux de cancers solides, de leucémie ou de maladies non cancéreuses résultant de l'exposition au rayonnement n'a pu être démontrée.
  • Dans les trois pays les plus touchés – la Biélorussie, la Fédération de Russie et l'Ukraine, les doses de rayonnement reçues par le grand public se sont avérées relativement faibles.

L'accident survenu le 26 avril1986 à la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl, en Ukraine, a donné lieu au plus grand rejet radioactif non contrôlé de l'histoire.

Des explosions de vapeur et d'hydrogène à la tranche 4 de la centrale ont mené à une rupture de la cuve du réacteur et à un incendie qui a duré 10 jours. Les explosions et l'incendie ont causé le rejet de grandes quantités d'iode et de césium radioactifs dans l'atmosphère, principalement près de la centrale; cependant, certaines substances ont été transportées par le vent en Biélorussie, en République de Russie, en Ukraine et dans d'autres régions de l'Europe.

Les sections qui suivent résument les effets sur la santé constatés dans le rapport intitulé « Health effects due to radiation from the Chernobyl accident », publié en 2008 par le Comité scientifique des Nations Unies pour l'étude des effets des rayonnements ionisants (UNSCEAR). Les conclusions contenues dans ce rapport reposent sur plus de 20 ans d'études sur les conséquences sanitaires de l'exposition au rayonnement de l'accident de Tchernobyl.

Chernobyl Explosion

Photo prise quelques heures après l'explosion à Tchernobyl, montrant les lourds dommages à la tranche 4.

Rayonnement libéré par l'accident de Tchernobyl

Les employés et le public furent exposés à trois grands types de radionucléides: l'iode 131, le césium 134 et le césium 137.

L'iode 131 libéré dans l'environnement est rapidement absorbé par la glande thyroïde de l'humain. Cependant, l'iode 131 a une courte demi‑vie (8 jours). Les enfants exposés à de l'iode radioactif reçoivent des doses plus élevées que les adultes, puisqu'ils ont une glande thyroïde plus petite et un métabolisme plus élevé.

Les isotopes de césium ont une demi‑vie plus longue (environ 2 ans pour le césium 134 et 30 ans pour le césium 137), ce qui augmente les risques d'exposition à long terme par ingestion de nourriture ou d'eau contaminée, par inhalation d'air contaminé ou par exposition à des radionucléides dans le sol.

Effets sur la santé des employés

Le jour de l'accident, il y avait 600 employés sur le site de l'accident; 134 d'entre eux furent atteints du syndrome d'irradiation aiguë (SIA) et parmi ces derniers, 28 sont décédés dans les trois mois qui ont suivi l'accident. Les survivants au SIA ont mis plusieurs années à se rétablir.

Parmi les 600 employés sur le site, on a  constaté une augmentation de l'incidence de leucémie ou de cataractes chez ceux qui avaient été exposés aux doses de rayonnement les plus fortes. Autrement, l'incidence de cancers solides et de leucémie chez le reste des employés exposés n'a pas augmenté. De plus, il n'y a aucun signe d'incidence accrue d'autres maladies non cancéreuses liée à l'exposition au rayonnement ionisant.

Les 530 000 travailleurs participant à l'opération de récupération sur le site de l'accident entre 1986 et 1990 ont été exposés à des doses se situant entre 20 et 500 mSv (120 mSv en moyenne). La santé de cette cohorte continue à être surveillée de près.

Warning Signs

Panneaux interdisant d'entrer dans certaines zones près de Tchernobyl en raison des niveaux élevés de rayonnement.

Effets sur la santé de la population

Les 115 000 personnes qui ont dû être évacuées de la zone avoisinante ont reçu en moyenne une dose efficace de 30 mSv. Les doses de rayonnement reçues par le grand public dans les trois pays contaminés (Biélorussie, Fédération de Russie et Ukraine) étaient relativement faibles; la dose efficace a été en moyenne de 9 mSv, environ la même dose qu'un tomodensitogramme (10 mSv). La dose efficace moyenne attribuable au rayonnement naturel est d'environ 2,4 mSv par année à l'échelle mondiale. Au Canada, elle est de 1,8 mSv par année.

En date de 2005, plus de 6 000 cas de cancer de la thyroïde ont été signalés chez les résidents de la Biélorussie, de la Fédération de Russie et de l'Ukraine qui avaient été exposés au rayonnement au moment de l'accident, alors qu'ils étaient enfants ou adolescents. Quinze de ces cas se sont avérés mortels. Il est difficile de prédire la hausse de l'incidence des cancers de la thyroïde à long terme, mais on s'attend à plus de cas dans les prochaines décennies. Il est probable qu'une grande proportion de ces cancers soit attribuable à l'ingestion d'iode radioactif chez les enfants ayant bu du lait provenant des vaches qui avaient mangé de l'herbe contaminée.

La dose de rayonnement liée à l'accident de Tchernobyl dans d'autres pays européens a été de moins de 1 mSv. Dans les pays plus éloignés, les doses de rayonnement dues à l'accident n'ont eu aucune incidence sur le rayonnement naturel annuel et furent considérées comme insignifiantes sur le plan de la santé publique.

Chernobyl Firefighters

Statue rendant hommage aux pompiers qui étaient premiers intervenants à la suite de l'accident de Tchernobyl.

Troubles psychologiques ou mentaux

Selon plusieurs études internationales, les personnes exposées au rayonnement issu de l'accident de Tchernobyl souffrent davantage d'anxiété et sont plus susceptibles de démontrer des problèmes de santé ou des symptômes physiques inexpliqués.

Préoccupations au sujet de la fertilité et des anomalies congénitales

Dans les régions touchées, il n'existe aucune preuve de baisse de fertilité ni chez les hommes ni chez les femmes. Étant donné la faiblesse des doses reçues par le grand public, une hausse du nombre d'enfants mort-nés, de problèmes pendant la grossesse, de complications à l'accouchement ou de répercussions négatives sur la santé globale des enfants est peu probable. Malgré cela, la surveillance demeure importante et elle se poursuit.

Résumé

Chernobyl today

Aujourd'hui, le site de Tchernobyl est maintenu et surveillé intensément par une équipe de gardiens dévoués.

Le rapport de 2008 de l'UNSCEAR a confirmé, malgré la disponibilité de nouvelles données de recherche, que les conclusions majeures concernant les conséquences sur la santé de l'accident survenu en 1986 à la centrale de Tchernobyl correspondent sensiblement aux constatations précédentes. Le cancer de la thyroïde chez les personnes qui étaient des enfants à l'époque de l'accident demeure la principale conséquence sur la santé. L'inquiétude quant à la hausse du taux de leucémie ne s'est jamais concrétisée, et il n'y a eu aucun problème de fertilité rattaché à l'accident. Conformément aux constatations précédentes, des effets psychologiques (anxiété) et une mauvaise santé générale ont été observés. Des études avaient déjà montré que l'accident n'avait eu aucune incidence globale en Asie ou en Amérique du Nord, ce qui demeure vrai à ce jour.

Pour en savoir davantage sur Tchernobyl :