Regulating the packaging and transport of nuclear substances in Canada

September 2010

Quick facts

  • There are approximately 150 transport package certificates issued in Canada, with about 50 certificates added or renewed on a yearly basis.
  • Every organization involved in the transport of radioactive material must:
    • have an emergency plan in place
    • maintain a radiation protection program
    • train their workers
    • report to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) any incident involving radioactive materials
    • maintain records for two years after the transport takes place.
  • Canadian police agencies have considerable training in dealing with nuclear shipments.
  • The CNSC will not issue a licence or package certification unless it is convinced that the shipment will be completed safely, without posing risks to the health, safety or security of Canadians or the environment

In this fact sheet

Top of page


Canada is one of the major producers of nuclear substances (radioactive material) in the world and has an excellent safety record for the transport of radioactive material. More than a million packages containing radioactive material are transported safely in Canada each year. The responsibility for ensuring safe transport of nuclear substances is jointly shared between the CNSC and Transport Canada.

Transport Canada's Transportation of Dangerous Goods (tdG) Regulations deal with the transport of all classes of dangerous goods, while the CNSC's Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances (PTNS) Regulations are primarily concerned with health, safety and security of the public, and protection of the environment related to the special characteristics of radioactive material. Both the tdG and PTNS regulations apply to all persons who handle, offer for transport, transport or receive nuclear substances.

Top of page

Regulating the packaging and transport of nuclear substances

All industrialized countries use the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) TS-R-1, Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material as the basis to regulate the packaging and transport of radioactive material. Through the PTNS Regulations, the CNSC regulates all aspects of the packaging of radioactive material, including the design, production, use, inspection, maintenance and repair of packages. The CNSC also regulates all phases of transport from the preparation of packages for shipment until unloading at the final destination.

There are exemptions currently in place under the PTNS Regulations, which include persons who have undergone medical treatments, certain consumer products once sold to consumers (e.g., smoke detectors), and radioactive material that is a component of a transport vehicle (such as depleted uranium counterweights used in aircrafts).

Top of page

Safety of transport package design

The basic philosophy that has guided the development of the CNSC Regulations is that safety relies heavily on the design of the transport package. Package designs are combined with additional regulatory controls including labeling, placarding, quality assurance and maintenance records, and allow for radioactive material to be carried safely in all modes of transport such as road, rail, air and sea transportation.

All nuclear substances are transported in packages that are selected based on the nature, form and quantity or activity of the substance. There are general design requirements that apply to all package types to ensure that they can be handled safely and easily, secured properly, and are able to withstand routine conditions of transport.

Non-certified packages

Examples of non-certified packages

Examples of non-certified packages

Packages designed for the transport of low risk levels of radioactive material do not require certification by the CNSC due to their low level of risk. These packages carry quantities that will have little or no impact on the health and safety of Canadians. The responsibility for meeting the regulations rests with the consignor, who must be able to provide written demonstration that the package meets the regulatory performance standards. Substances transported in these types of packages can include surface contaminated objects, portable gauges, returned empty packages, and radioactive medical isotopes.

Certified packages

Example of a certified package

Example of a certified package

Packages designed for the transport of high risk levels of radioactive material require certification by the CNSC before they can be used in Canada. Persons must register their use of the package with the CNSC and acknowledge that they have the necessary training to properly prepare it for shipment. These packages are required to undergo stringent testing since improper handling of their contents can give rise to severe consequences. Testing must simulate both normal and hypothetical conditions of transport and can include free-drop testing, puncture testing, thermal testing and simulated aircraft accidents. These packages are designed to transport material such as Cobalt-60, sources used for industrial radiography, used nuclear fuel and enriched uranium.

Top of page

Certification process for transport packages

For packages that require certification, CNSC specialists carry out the technical review of the information and test results submitted by the applicant to ensure that the package design meets all regulatory requirements. The regulations require that a demonstration of compliance be done by conducting actual tests on prototypes or scale test models, by engineering calculations and reasoned arguments using national or international industry standards, or through reference to similar, previously certified designs.

An application for package certification typically contains information on:

  • structural design
  • thermal and shielding evaluation
  • containment of the nuclear substance in the package
  • the operation of the package
  • the maintenance program
  • the quality assurance program followed for the design, the manufacture and maintenance of the package

For packages approved in other countries, a Canadian re-validation is required prior to their use in Canada. This process ensures that the package design meets all of the requirements of the Canadian regulations.

The PTNS Regulations are based on the IAEA Regulations which provide standards for ensuring a high level of safety of people, property and the environment against radiation and other hazards associated with the transport of nuclear substances. The approval requirements are relative to the hazards posed by the nuclear substance being transported. The design requirements for packages requiring CNSC approval ensure that in the event of a severe accident, there is a very low level of probability of significant radioactive release.

Based on the recommendations of CNSC specialists, certificates are issued by the Commission or by designated officers who have been designated by the Commission.

Top of page

Licensing requirements for the packaging and transport of nuclear substances

Did you know?

A transportation security plan requires:

  • a full description of the nuclear material
  • a threat assessment to identify any credible threats
  • a description of the type of vehicle used to transport
  • the proposed security measures in place during transport, such as continuous tracking and type of escort
  • the communications arrangement between the carrier and the response force (e.g., Canadian police agencies)
  • the communication arrangement between the licensee and the response force
  • the primary and alternate transportation routes

Transport activities are generally exempt from licensing by the CNSC provided the package meets regulatory requirements. However, under the regulations, there are three specific circumstances for which a transport licence is required:

  • transits of high risk levels of nuclear substances where there is no Canadian licensee involved in the shipment either at origin or destination
  • special arrangement shipments where there are measures in place to ensure the safety of the shipment (e.g., material that is not able to be placed in a regulated package type)
  • transport of plutonium and enriched uranium above the quantities specified in the Nuclear Security Regulations. In order to transport these shipments, a transportation security plan must be in place and approved by the CNSC. The primary purpose of this plan is to assure that the nuclear material to be transported will receive adequate physical protection against any threats that may arise during its transport

There are approximately 150 transport licences issued every year in Canada. Most of these licences are issued for specific shipments, and are only valid for a limited period of time (three months on average). Transport licences can be issued either by the Commission or by designated officers who have been designated by the Commission.

Top of page

Preparing packages for transport

In preparing a package for shipment, the consignor is responsible for ensuring that the package meets all of the requirements specified in the regulations.

Packages are to be categorized and labeled based on the radiation level at both the surface and at one metre from the package (this is referred to as the transport index (TI)). The TI is used to limit the number of packages onboard a transport vehicle and to segregate packages from persons or other goods.

The consignor is also responsible for preparing the transport document, which contains a description of the package being transported, the shipping name of the dangerous good, the United Nations number, the form of the material, the isotope, the maximum activity, the category of package, the transport index and the applicable identification mark for each approval certificate.

The person receiving a shipment of radioactive material is usually a CNSC licensee. In accordance with the PTNS Regulations, that person must verify that the package is not damaged and has not been tampered with.

Top of page

Emergency preparedness

Did you know?
  • Current regulations don't allow the public disclosure of security information on the location, routes and timing of shipments, nor any security arrangements or procedures specific to the transport of certain types of packages. This type of information is considered prescribed, and is limited to persons who have a legitimate need to know, such as police response forces.

Under the PTNS and the tdG Regulations, the shipper must have measures in place to respond in the event of an emergency involving the transport of their radioactive material. In addition, the tdG Regulations require the shipper to display a 24-hour emergency telephone number on the shipping document that accompanies a shipment of dangerous goods. The purpose of these requirements is to ensure that appropriate technical assistance is immediately available to initial emergency responders.

The PTNS Regulations require that all incidents be immediately reported to the CNSC. Once notified of a transport incident involving radioactive material, CNSC transport staff will follow up to provide appropriate technical information and advice to responders onsite. CNSC staff can be deployed immediately, if needed, to assist in managing the incident.

Top of page

Compliance with CNSC regulations

CNSC inspectors do regular compliance verifications to ensure that licensees and carriers comply with the PTNS Regulations. They verify proof of training for transport workers, review transport documents and inspect packages to ensure they are prepared for transport in accordance with regulations. If a licensee or carrier is found to be non-compliant with these regulations, the CNSC uses a graded enforcement approach for the implementation of corrective measures. The CNSC remains committed to ensuring the health, safety and security of the environment and the Canadian public.

Réglementation de l'emballage et du transport des substances nucléaires au Canada

Septembre 2010

En bref:

  • Chaque année, environ 150 certificats d'homologation de colis de transport sont délivrés au Canada, et environ 50 certificats sont ajoutés ou renouvelés.
  • Toutes les entreprises qui s'occupent du transport de matières radioactives doivent :
    • mettre en place un plan d'urgence
    • adopter un programme de radioprotection
    • former leurs travailleurs
    • signaler à la CCSN tout incident mettant en jeu des matières radioactives
    • conserver les dossiers durant les deux années suivant la date du transport
  • Les services de police canadiens reçoivent une formation considérable pour être en mesure de s'occuper des expéditions de substances nucléaires.
  • La CCSN n'octroie des permis et des certificats d'homologation de colis que si elle est convaincue que l'expédition sera effectuée de manière sécuritaire, sans poser de risque pour la santé, la sûreté ou la sécurité des Canadiens ni pour l'environnement.

Dans cette fiche d'information

Haut de la page

Vue d'ensemble

Le Canada est l'un des principaux producteurs de substances nucléaires (matières radioactives) au monde et affiche un excellent dossier en matière de sûreté dans le transport des matières radioactives. Chaque année, plus d'un million de colis contenant des matières radioactives sont transportés de manière sécuritaire au Canada. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) et Transports Canada se partagent la responsabilité d'assurer la sécurité du transport des substances nucléaires.

Le Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (RTMD) de Transports Canada vise le transport de toutes les classes de marchandises dangereuses, alors que le Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (RETSN) de la CCSN concerne principalement la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité du public et la protection de l'environnement en relation avec les caractéristiques particulières des matières radioactives. Tant le RTMD que le RETSN s'appliquent à tous ceux qui manipulent, offrent de transporter, transportent ou reçoivent des substances nucléaires.

Haut de la page

Réglementation de l'emballage et du transport des substances nucléaires

Tous les pays industrialisés s'inspirent du Règlement de transport des matières radioactives (TS-R-1) de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA) pour établir leur réglementation de l'emballage et du transport des matières radioactives. Au moyen du RETSN, la CCSN réglemente tous les aspects de l'emballage des matières radioactives, y compris la conception, la production, l'utilisation, l'inspection, l'entretien et la réparation des colis. La CCSN réglemente également toutes les étapes du transport, depuis la préparation des colis pour le transport jusqu'à leur déchargement à la destination finale.

Certaines exemptions sont actuellement en vigueur en vertu du RETSN, notamment en ce qui concerne les personnes ayant subi des traitements médicaux, certains produits vendus à des consommateurs (p. ex. détecteurs de fumée) ainsi que les matières radioactives faisant partie d'un véhicule de transport (p. ex. contrepoids en uranium appauvri utilisés dans les aéronefs).

Haut de la page

Sûreté de la conception des colis de transport

Les règlements de la CCSN ont été élaborés en fonction du principe de base selon lequel la sûreté dépend grandement de la conception des colis de transport. Ce principe, auquel s’ajoutent des contrôles réglementaires supplémentaires liés à l’étiquetage, la pose de plaques, l’assurance de la qualité et les registres d’entretien, assure un transport sûr des matières radioactives dans tous les modes de transport, tels que le transport routier, ferroviaire, aérien et maritime.

Tous les colis sont choisis selon la nature, la forme, la quantité et le niveau d’activité des substances nucléaires à transporter. Des exigences générales en matière de conception s’appliquent à tous les types de colis afin d’assurer une manipulation facile et sécuritaire, un emballage sûr et une résistance aux conditions normales de transport.

Exemples de colis non homologués

Colis non homologués

Les colis conçus pour le transport de matières radioactives à faible risque n'ont pas besoin d'être homologués par la CCSN en raison de leur faible niveau de risque. Ces colis contiennent des quantités n'ayant que peu ou pas d'effet sur la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens. La responsabilité de se conformer aux règlements appartient à l'expéditeur, qui doit être en mesure de fournir une preuve écrite que le colis est conforme aux normes de rendement de la réglementation. Les substances transportées dans ces types de colis incluent des objets contaminés superficiellement, des jauges portatives, des colis vides en retour et des isotopes radioactifs médicaux

Colis homologués

Exemple de colis homologué

Exemple de colis homologué

Les colis conçus pour le transport de matières radioactives à risque élevé doivent être homologués par la CCSN avant d'être utilisés au Canada. Les personnes doivent inscrire l'usage d'un colis homologué auprès de la CCSN et indiquer qu'elles possèdent la formation nécessaire pour bien les préparer en vue de l'expédition. Ces colis doivent subir des tests rigoureux, car la manipulation incorrecte de leur contenu peut entraîner de graves conséquences. Les tests doivent simuler des conditions de transport tant normales qu'hypothétiques et comprennent une épreuve en chute libre, une épreuve de perforation, une épreuve thermique et des simulations d'accidents d'avion. Ces colis sont conçus pour transporter des matières telles que le Cobalt-60, les sources utilisées pour la radiographie industrielle, le combustible nucléaire usé ainsi que l'uranium enrichi.

Haut de la page

Processus d'homologation des colis de transport

Pour les colis requérant une homologation, les spécialistes de la CCSN procèdent à l'examen technique de l'information et des résultats des tests applicables soumis par le demandeur afin de s'assurer que la conception du colis est conforme à toutes les exigences réglementaires. Les règlements exigent qu'une démonstration de conformité soit effectuée, soit au moyen d'essais effectués sur des prototypes ou des modèles à l'échelle; soit au moyen de calculs techniques et d'arguments logiques conformes aux normes (nationales ou internationales) de l'industrie; ou en se reportant à des conceptions similaires homologuées précédemment.

Une demande d'homologation de colis contient habituellement de l'information sur :

  • la conception structurale
  • l'évaluation thermique et du blindage
  • le confinement de la substance nucléaire dans le colis
  • le mode d'emploi de l'emballage
  • le programme d'entretien
  • le programme d'assurance de la qualité adopté pour la conception, la fabrication et l'entretien du colis

Les colis homologués dans d'autres pays doivent faire l'objet d'une revalidation canadienne avant de pouvoir être utilisés au Canada. Ce processus sert à s'assurer que la conception du colis répond à toutes les exigences des règlements canadiens.

Le Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (RETSN) s'inspire du Règlement de l'AIEA qui précise les normes nécessaires pour assurer un niveau élevé de sécurité des personnes, des biens et de l'environnement contre les dangers du rayonnement et autre dangers associés au transport des substances nucléaires. Les exigences d'approbation sont fonction des dangers que présente le transport des substances nucléaires. Les exigences relatives à la conception des colis nécessitant l'approbation de la CCSN sont établies de manière à réduire à un très faible niveau la probabilité d'un important rejet de matières radioactives de ces colis par suite d'un grave accident.

Les certificats d'homologation sont délivrés en fonction des recommandations des spécialistes de la CCSN par le tribunal de la Commission ou par un fonctionnaire désigné par le tribunal de la Commission.

Haut de la page

Exigences d'autorisation pour l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires

Le saviez-vous?

Un plan de sécurité en matière de transport requiert :

  • une description complète de la substance nucléaire
  • une évaluation pour déterminer toute menace plausible
  • une description du type de véhicule utilisé pour le transport
  • les mesures de sécurité proposées en vigueur durant le transport, telles que le suivi continu et le type d'escorte
  • les arrangements en matière de communications pris entre le transporteur et la force d'intervention (p. ex. les services de police canadiens)
  • les arrangements en matière de communications pris entre le titulaire de permis et la force d'intervention
  • les voies de transport primaires et de rechange

Les activités de transport sont généralement exemptées de la possession d'un permis par la CCSN, à condition que le colis utilisé soit conforme aux exigences réglementaires. Toutefois, en vertu des règlements, il existe trois cas précis où un permis de transport est exigé :

  • transits de substances nucléaires à un niveau de risque élevé alors qu'aucun titulaire de permis canadien ne participe à l'expédition, que ce soit au lieu d'origine ou à la destination
  • expéditions prévoyant des arrangements spéciaux, pour lesquelles des mesures sont mises en place afin d'assurer la sûreté du colis (p. ex. une matière qu'il est impossible de placer dans un type de colis réglementé)
  • transport de plutonium et d'uranium enrichi dépassant les quantités précisées dans le Règlement sur la sécurité nucléaire. Pour pouvoir transporter ces colis, un plan de sécurité en matière de transport doit être mis en place et approuvé par la CCSN. Ce plan vise principalement à garantir que la substance nucléaire destinée à être transportée fera l'objet d'une protection physique adéquate contre toute menace pouvant survenir durant son transport

Environ 150 permis de transport sont délivrés chaque année au Canada. La majorité de ces permis sont délivrés pour des colis en particulier et ne sont valides que pendant une période limitée (en moyenne trois mois). Les permis de transport peuvent être octroyés par le tribunal de la Commission ou par l'un des fonctionnaires désignés nommés par ce dernier.


Haut de la page

Préparation des colis pour le transport

En préparant un colis pour le transport, l'expéditeur doit s'assurer qu'il est conforme à toutes les exigences précisées dans les règlements.

Les colis doivent être catégorisés et étiquetés selon l'intensité du rayonnement à la surface et à un mètre du colis [cela se rapporte à l'indice de transport (IT)]. L'IT sert à limiter le nombre de colis à bord d'un véhicule de transport et à isoler les colis des personnes ou d'autres marchandises.

L'expéditeur est également responsable de préparer le document de transport, qui comprend une description du colis transporté, l'appellation réglementaire de la matière dangereuse, le numéro ONU, la forme de la matière, l'isotope, l'activité maximale, la catégorie du colis, l'indice de transport et la marque d'identification qui s'applique à chaque certificat d'approbation.

La personne qui reçoit un colis de matière radioactive est généralement titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN. Conformément au RETSN, cette personne doit vérifier que le colis n'est pas endommagé et qu'il n'a pas été ouvert.

Haut de la page

Capacité d'intervention en cas d'urgence

Le saviez-vous?

  • Les règlements en vigueur ne permettent pas la divulgation publique d'information sur l'emplacement, les voies et le moment des expéditions ni sur toute mesure ou procédure de sécurité relative au transport de certains types de colis. Ce type d'information est considéré comme réglementé et est limité aux personnes qui ont ce droit d'accès à l'information, comme les forces d'intervention policières.

En vertu du RTMD et du RETSN, l'expéditeur doit avoir mis en place des mesures d'intervention en cas d'urgence relativement au transport de ses matières radioactives. En outre, selon le RtdM, l'expéditeur doit inscrire un numéro de téléphone d'urgence valide 24 heures sur 24 sur le document d'expédition accompagnant un colis de marchandises dangereuses. Ces exigences ont pour but de s'assurer que les intervenants d'urgence initiaux aient un accès immédiat à de l'assistance technique appropriée.

Par ailleurs, le RETSN exige que tous les incidents soient immédiatement déclarés à la CCSN. Dès qu'elle est avertie d'un incident de transport mettant en jeu des matières radioactives, le personnel affecté au transport de la CCSN en fera le suivi afin de fournir de l'information et des conseils techniques appropriés aux intervenants sur place. Le personnel de la CCSN peut être affecté immédiatement, si nécessaire, pour aider à gérer l'incident.

Conformité aux règlements de la CCSN

Des inspecteurs de la CCSN effectuent régulièrement des vérifications de la conformité afin de s'assurer que les titulaires de permis et les transporteurs se conforment au RETSN. Ils vérifient la preuve de formation des travailleurs du transport, examinent les documents de transport et inspectent les colis afin de s'assurer qu'ils sont préparés pour le transport conformément aux règlements. S'il s'avère qu'un titulaire de permis ou un transporteur ne se conforme pas aux règlements, la CCSN adopte une approche d'application graduelle de mise en œuvre de mesures correctives. La CCSN demeure déterminée à préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et à protéger l'environnement.

Haut de la page