Micro Modular Reactor Project

The Impact Assessment Act (IAA) came into force August 28, 2019. Ongoing projects with environmental assessments initiated under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012) and led by the CNSC, will continue under their current processes. The IAA contains provisions to enable these projects to advance in this way.

Start date: July 15, 2019
Reference number: 80182
Proponent: Global First Power
Location: Deep River, Ontario

Visit the CEAR website for all information and documentation related to the project.

Latest update

About the project

On July 12, 2019, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) received a project description from Global First Power for the issuance of a licence to prepare the site for a Micro Modular Reactor (MMR) at the Chalk River Laboratories site, located in Renfrew County, Ontario, approximately 200 km northwest of Ottawa.

The proposed project includes a nuclear plant, which would contain a MMR High Temperature Gas-cooled Reactor that would provide process heat to an adjacent plant, via molten salt. The MMR would produce approximately 15 Megawatt (thermal) of process heat to generate electrical power and/or heat, over an operating life-span of 20 years.

CNSC authorization in the form of a licence issued under subsection 24(2) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act is required in order for the project to proceed.

Before the Commission can consider an NSCA licensing decision regarding Global First Power’s proposal, an environmental assessment (EA) conducted under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 is required. The purpose of an EA is to identify the possible environmental effects of a proposed project, determine whether these effects can be mitigated and whether there are any remaining significant adverse environmental effects before the project is allowed to proceed.

The environmental assessment will consider all licensing phases, including site preparation, construction, operation, and decommissioning.

Further information

The public registry for this project is maintained on the Canadian Environmental Assessment Registry. If you wish to receive email notifications when the CNSC’s website is updated, including notices for hearings, meetings and Participant Funding Program funding opportunities, please subscribe to the CNSC mailing list. For questions or information directly related to this EA, please contact:

Aimee Rupert
Environmental Assessment Officer
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
P.O Box 1046, Station B
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5S9
Telephone: 613-943-9919 or 1-800-668-5284
Fax: 613-995-5086
Email: cnsc.ea-ee.ccsn@canada.ca

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

Date modified:

Projet de microréacteur modulaire

Début de l’évaluation environnementale : le 15 juillet 2019
Numéro de référence : 80182
Promoteur : Global First Power
Lieu : Deep River (Ontario)

Consulter le site Web du Registre canadien d’évaluation environnementale (RCEE) pour tous les renseignements et documents relatifs au projet.

Mise à jour la plus récente

À propos du projet

Le 12 juillet 2019, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a accepté une description de projet de Global First Power en vue de la délivrance d’un permis pour la préparation de l’emplacement d’un projet de microréacteur modulaire (MRM) aux Laboratoires de Chalk River, situés dans le comté de Renfrew, en Ontario, à environ 200 km au nord-ouest d’Ottawa.

Le projet proposé comprend une centrale nucléaire dotée d’un MRM à haute température et refroidi au gaz qui fournirait de la chaleur industrielle à une centrale adjacente au moyen de sels fondus. Le MRM produirait environ 15 mégawatts (thermique) de chaleur industrielle pour générer de l’énergie électrique et/ou de la chaleur au cours d’une durée de vie opérationnelle de 20 ans.

Pour que le projet puisse aller de l’avant, la CCSN doit donner son autorisation sous forme d’un permis délivré en vertu du paragraphe 24(2) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN).

Avant que la Commission puisse rendre une décision d’autorisation en vertu de la LSRN sur la proposition de Global First Power, une évaluation environnementale (EE) doit être réalisée conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012). L’EE a pour but de cerner les effets environnementaux potentiels d’un projet proposé, de déterminer si ces effets peuvent être atténués et s’il reste des effets environnementaux négatifs importants avant l’autorisation du projet. L’évaluation environnementale tiendra compte de toutes les étapes de la délivrance de permis, y compris la préparation de l’emplacement, la construction, l’exploitation et le déclassement.

Pour plus d’information

Le registre public pour ce projet se trouve sur le site du Registre canadien d’évaluation environnementale (RCEE). Si vous souhaitez recevoir des avis électroniques lorsque le site Web de la CCSN est mis à jour, y compris les avis d’audience, de réunion et de financement offert dans le cadre du Programme de financement des participants (PFP), vous abonner à la liste d’envoi de la CCSN. Si vous avez des questions ou souhaitez obtenir des renseignements directement liés à cette évaluation environnementale, veuillez communiquer avec :

Aimee Rupert
Agente d’évaluation environnementale
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
C.P. 1046, Succursale B
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5S9
Téléphone : 613-943-9919 ou 1-800-668-5284
Télécopieur : 613-995-5086
Courriel : cnsc.ea-ee.ccsn@canada.ca

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, de protéger l’environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifiques ou techniques ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire.

Dernière mise à jour :