Best Theratronics Class 1B licence application

Environmental assessment (EA) start date: November 2, 2012
CEAR reference number: 80022
Proponent: Best Theratronics Limited
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Latest update

Project description

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has received a licence application from Best Theratronics Ltd. (BTL) to consolidate four existing licenses for BTL's facility in west Ottawa into a single Class 1B licence. BTL is already licensed to import, export, transfer, and store radiological materials at their facility.  The proposed new Class 1B licence would include the existing licensed activities, in addition to the construction and operation (for testing purposes) of linear accelerators and cyclotrons.

The infrastructure associated with BTL's proposal to construct and operate linear accelerators and cyclotrons is already present in the BTL building, with two exceptions.  BTL would require undertaking the following activities:

  • retrofitting the building interior to add a shielding bunker for cyclotron testing up to 70 MeV
  • adding safety and security devices to areas of the facility (cells 1 through 3) that would be used for testing linear accelerators up to 25 MeV

CNSC authorization, in the form of a new Class 1B licence, is required for BTL to carry out their proposed activities, as per subsection 24(2) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA).

Before the CNSC can consider any licensing actions under the NSCA regarding BTL's proposal, an EA must be completed in compliance with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act. The purpose of an EA is to identify the possible environmental effects of a proposed project, and determine whether these effects can be mitigated before the project is allowed to proceed.

Further information

The CNSC maintains a public registry of documents related to its environmental assessments. Lists and copies of documents may be obtained upon request. For questions or information directly related to this environmental assessment, contact the CNSC.

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

Demande de permis de classe 1B pour Best Theratronics

Début de l'évaluation environnementale : le 2 novembre 2012
Numéro de référence du RRCE : 80022
Promoteur : Best Theratronics Limited
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)

Mise à jour la plus récente

Description du projet

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a reçu de Best Theratronics Ltd. (BTL) une demande afin de regrouper en un seul permis de catégorie 1B les quatre permis existants de ses installations dans l'Ouest d'Ottawa. BTL dispose déjà d'un permis d'importation, d'exportation, de transfert et d'entreposage de matières radioactives pour ses installations. Le nouveau permis proposé de catégorie 1B inclurait les activités actuellement autorisées ainsi que la construction et l'exploitation (à des fins d'essai) d'accélérateurs linéaires et de cyclotrons.

BTL dispose déjà de l'infrastructure requise pour sa proposition de construire et d'exploiter des accélérateurs linéaires et des cyclotrons, à deux exceptions près. L'entreprise devrait donc prendre les mesures suivantes :

  • adapter l'intérieur du bâtiment pour y ajouter une enceinte de protection pour les essais de cyclotrons de 70 MeV maximum
  • ajouter des dispositifs de sûreté et de sécurité à certains endroits (cellules 1 à 3) qui serviraient aux essais d'accélérateurs nucléaires de 25 MeV maximum

L'autorisation de la CCSN prendrait la forme d'un nouveau permis de catégorie 1B, et BTL en a besoin pour réaliser les activités proposées, conformément au paragraphe 24(2) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN).

Avant que la CCSN puisse agir en vertu de la LSRN pour octroyer le permis à l'égard de la proposition de BTL, il faut procéder à une évaluation environnementale (EE) conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale. Le but des EE est de déterminer quels seront les effets environnementaux potentiels des projets proposés et si ces effets peuvent être atténués, et ce avant que les projets aillent de l'avant.

Pour plus de renseignements

La CCSN tient un registre public des documents concernant ses évaluations environnementales. On peut se procurer les listes et les copies des documents sur demande. Pour obtenir de l'information ou des précisions sur la présente évaluation environnementale, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN.

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, de protéger l’environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifiques ou techniques ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire.