Ongoing EAs

Redevelopment of the Port Hope Conversion Facility (Vision 2010)

Environmental assessment (EA) start date: October 19, 2006
CEAR reference number: 06-03-22672
Proponent: Cameco Corporation
Location: Port Hope, Ontario

Latest update:

Project description

In a letter to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC), Cameco Corporation (Cameco) proposed the Vision 2010 project, which involves a comprehensive redevelopment of its Port Hope Conversion Facility located in Port Hope, Ontario.

The project consists of decommissioning and demolishing approximately 20 old or underutilized buildings, removing contaminated soils, building materials and stored historical wastes, and constructing new replacement buildings. Onsite plant operations would be maintained while the works are being carried out.

Three of the 20 buildings that will be decommissioned include:

  • north UO2/Waste Recovery Building (Building No. 2)
  • metals plant (building no. 5C)
  • east UF6 (building no. 27)

Each of these three buildings are Class 1B nuclear facilities used to refine or convert uranium with a capacity of more than 100 tonnes per year.

On January 20, 2010, Cameco Corporation announced that the centre pier buildings will be included in the redevelopment. The centre pier buildings will be added to the “preliminary list of buildings to be decommissioned and/or demolished,” as defined in the scope of the project in section 2.1 of the comprehensive study environmental assessment guidelines. This does not change the scope of the project which includes the entire licensed site.

The proposed project is to be carried out in conjunction with the Port Hope Area Initiative, a joint federal-municipal government undertaking for the cleanup and long-term management of low-level radioactive and industrial waste in the Municipality of Port Hope, Ontario. Vision 2010 is considered as the “near-term decommissioning component” of the overall site decommissioning strategy.

CNSC authorization of the Vision 2010 project requires an action by the Commission made under the authority set out in subsection 24(2) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA). Before the Commission can make a licensing decision regarding this proposal, a comprehensive study EA of the proposal must be conducted in compliance with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA). The purpose of an EA is to identify potential adverse environmental effects of a proposal before irrevocable decisions are made.

Milestones for the redevelopment of Cameco Corporation's Port Hope Conversion Facility (Vision 2010)

Further information

For questions or information directly related to this environmental assessment, contact the CNSC.

Date modified:

EE en cours

Le réaménagement de l'installation de conversion de Port Hope (Vision 2010)

Début de l'évaluation environnementale : le 19 octobre 2006
Type : Étude approfondie
Numéro de référence de l'index fédéral : 06-03-22672
Promoteur :Cameco Corporation
Lieu : Port Hope (Ontario)

Mise à jour la plus récente

Description du projet

Dans une lettre adressée à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), Cameco Corporation (Cameco) a proposé le projet Vision 2010. Ce projet concerne le réaménagement complet de l'installation de conversion de Port Hope, située à Port Hope (Ontario).

Le projet consiste à déclasser et à démolir environ 20 vieux bâtiments ou bâtiments désaffectés, l'élimination des sols contaminés, des matériaux des bâtiments et des déchets historiques stockés, de même que la construction de nouveaux bâtiments de remplacement. L'exploitation de l'usine sera maintenue pendant les travaux.

Parmi les 20 bâtiments qui seront déclassés, on compte les trois bâtiments suivants :

  • Bâtiment nord de récupération des déchets/d'UO2 (bâtiment no 2)
  • Usine de métaux (bâtiment no 5C)
  • UF6 est (bâtiment no 27)

Ces trois bâtiments sont des installations nucléaires de catégorie IB utilisés pour le raffinage ou la conversion de l'uranium, d'une capacité de production supérieure à 100 tonnes par année.

Le 20 janvier 2010, Cameco Corporation a annoncé que les bâtiments centraux du quai seront inclus dans le projet de réaménagement. Ces bâtiments seront ajoutés à la « Liste préliminaire des bâtiments à déclasser et/ou à démolir », comme défini dans la portée du projet, à la section 2.1 des lignes directrices de l'étude approfondie. Cette mesure n'aura pas d'impact sur la portée du projet, qui vise tout le site autorisé. 

Cameco propose de réaliser le projet de pair avec l'Initiative de la région de Port Hope, une collaboration du gouvernement fédéral et de la municipalité de Port Hope pour le nettoyage et la gestion à long terme des déchets industriels et des déchets radioactifs de faible activité dans la municipalité de Port Hope, en Ontario. Vision 2010 est considéré comme la composante à court terme de la stratégie globale de déclassement du site.

Pour que la CCSN autorise le projet Vision 2010, une action de la Commission, prise en vertu du paragraphe 24(2) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), sera requise. Aussi, avant que la CCSN ne rende une décision d'autorisation à l'égard de ce projet, celui-ci doit faire l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale. L'évaluation a pour but de cerner les effets environnementaux négatifs potentiels avant de donner le feu vert au projet.

Étapes importantes du réaménagement de l'installation de conversion de Port Hope (Vision 2010) de la société Cameco

Pour plus de renseignements

Pour obtenir de l’information ou des précisions sur la présente évaluation environnementale, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN.

Dernière mise à jour :