Proposal to construct and operate a deep geologic repository for disposal of low and intermediate-level radioactive wastes

The Impact Assessment Act (IAA) came into force August 28, 2019. Ongoing projects with environmental assessments initiated under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012) and led by the CNSC, will continue under their current processes. The IAA contains provisions to enable these projects to advance in this way.

Environment assessment (EA) start date: January 30, 2006
CEAR reference number: 06-05-17520
Proponent: Ontario Power Generation (OPG)
Location: Bruce Nuclear Site, Municipality of Kincardine (Tiverton), Ontario

Latest update

Project description

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) received a letter of intent from OPG to apply for regulatory approval to prepare, construct and operate a deep geologic disposal facility on the Bruce Nuclear Site within the municipality of Kincardine, Ontario.

A DGR has been proposed for the disposal of low- and intermediate-level radioactive wastes currently stored on the Bruce Site. The DGR will also hold waste produced from the continued operation of OPG-owned nuclear generating stations at Bruce, Pickering and Darlington, Ontario.

Low level waste consists of industrial items that have become contaminated with low levels of radioactivity during routine clean-up and maintenance at nuclear generating stations. This can include mops, rags, floor sweepings, clothing and tools. Low level waste may be safely handled by workers using normal industrial practices and equipment without any special radiation protection.

Intermediate level wastes are radioactive to a level where shielding is required to protect workers during handling. These wastes typically include ion exchange resins, filters and irradiated core components.

The DGR project includes the site preparation, construction, operation and long-term performance of above-ground and below-ground facilities, which are expected to be located within the boundaries of the Bruce Site. Operations would involve those activities required to operate and maintain the DGR facility, remove wastes from the Western Waste Management Facility (WWMF) on the Bruce Site, receive wastes from the WWMF and nuclear generating stations, emplacement of the wastes into the repository, including the closure activities and monitoring of the repository.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, OPG will require licences from the CNSC for activities to be undertaken with respect to the DGR project. Before the Commission can make licensing decisions for this proposal, an EA of the proposal must be conducted in compliance with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act. The purpose of an EA is to identify the possible environmental effects of a proposed project, and determine whether these effects can be mitigated before the project is allowed to proceed.

Further information

The Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency maintains a public registry of documents related to its EAs. For questions or submissions directly related to this EA, please contact:

Deep Geologic Repository Project
Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency
Kelly McGee, Panel Co-Manager / Debra Myles, Panel Co-Manager
160 Elgin Street, 22nd Floor
Place Bell Canada
Ottawa  ON  K1A 0H3
Telephone: 613-957-0700 or 1-866-582-1884
Fax: 613-957-0941
Email: DGR.Review@ceaa-acee.gc.ca

Or contact the CNSC.
Date modified:

Proposition visant à construire et à exploiter un dépôt dans des formations géologiques profondes pour fins de stockage des déchets radioactifs de faible et de moyenne activité

Début de l'évaluation environnementale (ÉE) : le 30 janvier 2006
Numéro de référence du RCEE : 06-05-17520
Promoteur : Ontario Power Generation (OPG)
Lieu : Site nucléaire de Bruce, Tiverton, municipalité de Clarington (Ontario)

Mise à jour la plus récente

Description du projet

OPG a avisé la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) de son intention de demander une approbation réglementaire en vue de préparer, de construire et d'exploiter une installation d'évacuation des déchets dans des formations géologiques profondes sur le site nucléaire de Bruce, dans la municipalité de Kincardine, en Ontario.

Un dépôt dans des formations géologiques profondes a été proposé pour y stocker en permanence (méthode d'évacuation) les déchets radioactifs de faible et de moyenne activité qui sont actuellement stockés sur le site de Bruce. Ce dépôt servirait également à recevoir les déchets produits par l'exploitation continue des centrales nucléaires d'OPG à Bruce, à Pickering et à Darlington, en Ontario.

Les déchets de faible activité sont constitués d'articles industriels qui sont devenus contaminés par de faibles niveaux de radioactivité lors des activités courantes de nettoyage et d'entretien aux centrales nucléaires. Ces articles peuvent comprendre des vadrouilles, des chiffons, des balayures, des vêtements et des outils. Les déchets de faible activité peuvent être manutentionnés de façon sécuritaire par les travailleurs à l'aide d'un matériel courant et des pratiques industrielles normales sans protection radiologique spéciale.

Les déchets de moyenne activité comportent un niveau de radioactivité tel qu'il est nécessaire de protéger les travailleurs contre les rayonnements lors de leur manutention. Ces déchets comprennent habituellement des résines échangeuses d'ions, des filtres et des composantes irradiées du cœur d'un réacteur.

Le projet de dépôt dans des formations géologiques profondes comprend la préparation du site, la construction, l'exploitation et le rendement à long terme des installations en surface et souterraines, lesquelles devraient être situées dans les limites du site de Bruce. Les activités requises pour le fonctionnement du dépôt comprendraient toutes les tâches liées à l'exploitation et au maintien de l'installation de dépôt, au retrait des déchets de l'installation de gestion des déchets Western (IGDW) sur le site de Bruce, à la réception des déchets de l'IGDW et des centrales nucléaires et au stockage des déchets dans le dépôt, y compris les activités de fermeture et la surveillance du dépôt.

Aux termes de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, OPG devra obtenir des permis de la CCSN pour les activités à entreprendre dans le cadre du projet. Avant que la Commission ne puisse prendre une décision concernant la proposition, le projet doit faire l'objet d'une ÉE, conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale. L'évaluation a pour but de cerner les effets environnementaux potentiels et d'établir s'il est possible de les atténuer avant de donner le feu vert.

Pour plus d'information

L'Agence canadienne de l'évaluation environnementale tient un registre public des documents concernant ses ÉEs. Pour soumettre des questions ou de l'information portant directement sur cette ÉE, veuillez communiquer avec :

Projet de stockage dans des couches géologiques profondes
Agence canadienne de l'évaluation environnementale
Kelly McGee, cogestionnaire de la CEC
Debra Myles, cogestionnaire de la CEC
160, rue Elgin, 22e étage
Place Bell Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 613-957-0700 ou 1-866-582-1884
Télécopieur : 613-957-0941
Courriel : DGR.Review@ceaa-acee.gc.ca

Ou encore, communiquez avec la CCSN.
Dernière mise à jour :