The Kiggavik project

Environmental assessment (EA) start date: January 9, 2009
Type:
Part 5 review under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (led by the Nunavut Impact Review Board)
Proponent: AREVA Resources Canada Inc.
Purpose of facility: proposed uranium mining and milling operation
Location: Kivalliq, Nunavut

Latest update

Project description

The Kiggavik Project is a proposed uranium mining and milling operation located in the Kivalliq region of Nunavut approximately 80 km west of the community of Baker Lake.

AREVA Resources Canada is proposing to use open pit and underground mining methods to develop the ore at two main sites: Kiggavik and Sissons. Ore would be excavated, trucked to an ore stockpile and directed to a mill to produce yellowcake, a uranium concentrate. A dock site at Baker Lake would serve as a transfer and storage facility for materials and supplies. A 90 - 100 km haul road would be constructed to link the Baker Lake dock site to the main project site.

The project would also include the construction of an accommodation complex for employees, warehouse and maintenance facilities, fuel and explosives storage, water treatment plants, administration buildings and roads.

An EA is required to be conducted before the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) can consider issuing a licence to AREVA to allow this project to proceed. The Kiggavik project falls under the jurisdiction of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement, and is therefore subject to the NIRB's EA process rather than the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012. The CNSC will provide technical advice to the Nunavut Impact Review Board and participate in their process.

Further information

For questions or information directly related to this environmental assessment, contact the CNSC.

Le projet Kiggavik

Début de l'évaluation environnementale (ÉE) : le 9 janvier 2009
Type : Examen de la partie 5 en vertu de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut (dirigé par le Nunavut Impact Review Board)
Promoteur : Areva Resources Canada Inc.
Vocation de l'installation : projet d'exploitation et de concentration de l'uranium
Lieu : Kivalliq, Nunavut

Mise à jour la plus récente

Description du projet

Le projet Kiggavik porte sur une proposition de mine et d'usine de concentration d'uranium qui seraient situées dans la région Kivalliq du Nunavut, à environ 80 km à l'ouest de la localité de Baker Lake.

AREVA Resources Canada (en anglais seulement) propose une extraction souterraine et en surface à deux sites principaux : Kiggavik et Sissons. le minerai serait extrait, transporté par camion jusqu'à une aire de stockage puis dirigé vers une usine de concentration pour être transformé en yellowcake, un concentré d'oxyde jaune d'uranium. Un dock situé à Baker Lake serait utilisé pour le transfert et l'entreposage des matériaux et de l'équipement. Une route de transport de 90 à 100 km serait construite pour relier le dock et le site principal.

Le projet inclurait aussi un complexe d'hébergement pour les employés, des installations pour le stockage et l'entretien, un entrepôt pour le carburant et les explosifs, des usines de traitement de l'eau, des immeubles administratifs et des routes.

Une ÉE doit être effectuée avant que la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) n'évalue la possibilité de délivrer un permis à AREVA. Le projet Kiggavik est du ressort de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. Il est donc assujetti à la Commission du Nunavut chargée du processus d'ÉE et non à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale 2012. La CCSN fournira une aide technique à la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l'examen des répercussions et participera à son évaluation.

Pour plus d'information

Pour obtenir de l’information ou des précisions sur la présente évaluation environnementale, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN.