Ongoing environmental assessments (EAs)

On July 6, 2012, the new Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012) came into effect, eliminating the requirements for federal EAs for low-risk projects. On October 24, 2013, the Minister of the Environment finalized amendments to the Regulations Designating Physical Activities (the Project List) identifying those projects that require EAs. The amendment to the regulations does not impact any EAs currently being completed by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC).

View the Regulations Designating Physical Activities.

To view a specific EA, click on the project title of any EA listed in the table. At the bottom of the EA project page, you will find contact information for the EA specialist responsible for sending you additional information about the EA you are interested in.

EAs that began under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act have a CEAR number. This reference number links externally to the Canadian Environmental Assessment Registry, which contains information about EAs being conducted by all federal authorities across Canada.

All EAs that started before October 30, 2003 were registered in the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency's former Federal Environmental Assessment Index (FEAI). Information pertaining to these older EAs is still available on CNSC's site, and can be accessed by clicking on the project title of the EA. Please note that in May 2006 COGEMA Resources Inc. changed its name to AREVA Resources Canada Inc.

Manitoba
Location Proponent Project EA start date Latest update CEAR number
Pinawa Canadian Nuclear Laboratories In situ decommissioning of the Whiteshell Reactor #1 May 16, 2016 June 3, 2016 80124
Ontario
Location Proponent Project EA start date Latest update CEAR number
Deep River Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Near Surface Disposal Facility Project May 5, 2016 May 25, 2016 80122
Rolphton Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Nuclear Power Demonstration Closure Project May 5, 2016 May 25, 2016 80121
Tiverton Ontario Power Generation (OPG) Proposal to construct and operate a deep geologic repository for disposal of low and intermediate-level radioactive wastes January 30, 2006 February 18, 2016 06-05-17520
Saskatchewan
Location Proponent Project EA start date Latest update CEAR number
Moon Lake Cameco Corporation Postponed – Millennium Mine Project August 21, 2009 May 16, 2014 09-03-49928
Nunavut
Location Proponent Project EA start date Latest update CEAR number
Kivalliq AREVA Resources Canada Inc. The Kiggavik Project January 9, 2009 July 26, 2016 N/A

Évaluations environnementales en cours (ÉE)

Le 6 juillet 2012, la nouvelle Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale 2012 (ACEE 2012) est entrée en vigueur. Cette loi élimine l'exigence en matière de réalisation d'EE fédérales pour les projets à faible risque. Le 24 octobre 2013, le ministre de l'Environnement a apporté les dernières modifications au Règlement désignant les activités concrètes (la liste de projets), qui fait état des projets nécessitant des EE. Ces modifications n'ont aucune incidence sur les EE que réalise actuellement la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire(CCSN).

Consultez le Règlement désignant les activités concrètes.

Pour examiner une EE particulière, veuillez cliquer sur le titre du projet figurant dans le tableau. Vous trouverez, au bas de la page du projet d'EE choisi, les coordonnées du spécialiste chargé de vous transmettre un complément d'information à ce sujet.

Les EE qui ont été entreprises en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale sont assorties d'un numéro « RCEE ». Ce numéro renvoie au Registre canadien d'évaluation environnementale, qui renferme des renseignements sur les EE menées par toutes les autorités fédérales d'un bout à l'autre du Canada.

Toutes les EE entreprises avant le 30 octobre 2003 ont été enregistrées dans l'ancien Index fédéral des évaluations environnementales (IFEE) de l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale. Il est encore possible de consulter les renseignements sur ces EE à partir du site Web de la CCSN, en cliquant sur le titre du document recherché. Veuillez noter que COGEMA Resources Inc. a changé son nom pour AREVA Resources Canada Inc. en mai 2006.

Manitoba
Lieu Promoteur Nom du projet Début de l'EE Numéro de référence du RCEE
Pinawa Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens Déclassement in situ du réacteur Whiteshell-1 le 16 mai 2016 80124
Ontario
Lieu Promoteur Nom du projet Début de l'EE Numéro de référence du RCEE
Deep River Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens Projet d’installation de gestion des déchets près de la surface le 5 mai 2016 80122
Rolphton Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens Projet de fermeture du réacteur nucléaire de démonstration le 5 mai 2016 80121
Tiverton Ontario Power Generation (OPG) Proposition visant à construire et à exploiter un dépôt dans des formations géologiques profondes pour fins d'évacuation des déchets radioactifs de faible et de moyenne activité le 30 janvier 2006 06-05-17520
Saskatchewan
Lieu Promoteur Nom du projet Début de l'EE Numéro de référence du RCEE
Moon Lake Cameco Corporation Reporté – Projet de mine Millennium le 21 août 2009 09-03-49928
Dernière mise à jour :