Completed EAs

Matoush Exploration Project

Start date: November 14, 2008
CEAR reference number: 08-00-46115
Proponent: Strateco Resources Inc.
Location: Chibougamau, Québec

Latest Update

Project Description

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has received an application and a project proposal from Strateco Resources Inc. (Strateco), for the excavation of an underground exploration ramp, in order to conduct an advanced exploration phase for the development of its uranium mining project on the Matoush claim.  Strateco is presently conducting a scoping study for its Matoush Uranium Mine Project, and has determined the existence of a sufficient quantity of uranium. 

The Matoush Project is centrally located within the Province of Québec, situated 260 km northeast of Chibougamau, in the Chibougamau Mining District.

Strateco’s proposal includes the following components:

  • Construction of an underground exploration ramp and associate surface infrastructure (i.e., temporary worker change rooms, ramp ventilation machinery, and a temporary water treatment plant facility); and
  • Construction of the ramp portal and associated surface infrastructure (i.e., garages and mechanical shops).

No bulk samples are planned at this stage of exploration. 

Before the Commission can consider a NSCA licensing decision regarding Strateco’s proposal, an environmental assessment (EA) must be completed in compliance with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act and the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA).  For additional information refer to the JBNQA section on the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency's web site.  The purpose of an EA is to identify the possible environmental effects of a proposed project, and determine whether these effects can be mitigated before the project is allowed to proceed.

Further Information

For questions or information directly related to this environmental assessment, contact the CNSC.

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment; and to respect Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

Date modified:

ÉE achevées

Projet d'exploration Matoush

Début de l'évaluation environnementale : le 14 novembre 2008
Numéro de référence de l'index fédéral: 08-00-46115
Promoteur : Strateco Resources Inc.
Lieu : Chibougamau, Québec

Mise à jour la plus récente

Description du projet

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a reçu une demande et une proposition de projet de Strateco Resources Inc. (Strateco) relativement à l’aménagement d’une rampe d’exploration souterraine servant à la phase d’exploration approfondie du projet d’extraction minière d’uranium que poursuit l’entreprise sur les concessions de la propriété Matoush. Strateco effectue actuellement une étude d’établissement de la portée de son projet et a constaté l’existence d’une quantité suffisante d’uranium.

Le Projet Matoush est situé dans la province de Québec, à 260 km au nord-est de Chibougamau, dans le district minier de Chibougamau.

La proposition de Strateco inclut les éléments suivants :

  • Construction d’une rampe d’exploration souterraine et de l’infrastructure connexe de surface (vestiaires temporaires pour les travailleurs, machinerie servant à la ventilation de la rampe et usine temporaire de traitement de l’eau);
  • Construction de la tête de rampe et de l’infrastructure connexe de surface (garages et ateliers mécaniques).

On ne prévoit pas de prélèvement d’échantillons en vrac à ce stade de l’exploration. 

Avant que la Commission ne prenne une décision d’autorisation sur la proposition de Strateco, une évaluation environnementale doit être réalisé conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale et de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ). Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la rubrique CBJNQ sur le site web de l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale.  Une évaluation environnementale a pour but de cerner les effets environnementaux potentiels d'un projet proposé et de déterminer s'il est possible de les atténuer avant d’autoriser sa réalisation.

Pour plus d’information

Pour obtenir de l’information ou des précisions sur la présente évaluation environnementale, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN.

La CCSN réglemente l'utilisation de l'énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de protéger la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité des Canadiens et l'environnement et de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l'égard de l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire.

Dernière mise à jour :