Completed EAs

Decommissioning of the fuel storage and handling bays at Chalk River Laboratories

Start Date: April 2000
Type: Screening
FEAI reference number: 16692
Proponent: Atomic Energy of Canada Limited
Location: Chalk River, Ontario

Latest Update

Project Description

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has received notice from Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) of its intent to proceed with the decommissioning of the Fuel Storage and Handling Bays located at the Chalk River Laboratories (CRL) in Chalk River, Ontario.

The Fuel Storage and Handling Bays were built in the mid 1940s and provided underwater storage for experimental and driver fuels used in the now shutdown National Research Experimental research reactor and act as a storage bay for irradiated fuel from the Nuclear Power Demonstration reactor.

The bays were taken out of active operation in 1993 and all fuels and stored materials were removed to either the CRL waste management areas or other storage facilities on the CRL site by October 1995. No irradiated fuel has been stored in the bays since that time. The fuel was moved to engineered storage facilities at CRL. Components used in operations to transport, store and examine fuel remain in the bays. The bays have undergone preliminary decontamination through vacuuming, and the structural integrity of Buildings 204 A/B wall structures has been assessed.

Before CNSC makes its decision on AECL's licence amendment application, an environmental assessment must be completed in compliance with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act. The purpose of an environmental assessment is to identify the possible environmental effects of a proposed project, and determine whether these effects can be mitigated before the project is allowed to proceed.

Step Ahead

  • Decision of the Commission

Further Information

CNSC maintains a public registry of documents related to its environmental assessments. Lists and copies of documents may be obtained upon request. For questions or information directly related to this environmental assessment, contact the CNSC.

CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment and to respect Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

Date modified:

ÉE achevées

Déclassement des piscines de stockage et de manutention du combustible Laboratoires de Chalk River

Début de l'évaluation : le 15 avril 1999
Type : Examen préalable
Numéro de référence de l'index fédéral : 16692
Promoteur : Énergie atomique du Canada limitée
Lieu : Chalk River (Ontario)

Dernière mise à jour

Description du projet

Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL) a avisé la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) de son intention de procéder au déclassement des piscines de stockage et de manutention du combustible situées aux Laboratoires de Chalk River (LCR), à Chalk River (Ontario).

Les piscines de stockage et de manutention du combustible ont été construites vers le milieu des années 1940 et servaient à stocker sous l'eau le combustible expérimental et le combustible de réacteur utilisés dans le réacteur national de recherche expérimental maintenant en état d'arrêt. Elles servaient également au stockage du combustible irradié provenant du réacteur nucléaire de démonstration.

L'exploitation active des piscines a pris fin en 1993, et en octobre 1995, tous les combustibles ainsi que toutes les matières stockées ont été transférés dans les zones de gestion des déchets des LCR ou dans d'autres installations de stockage sur le site des LCR. Depuis, aucun combustible irradié n'a été stocké dans ces piscines. Le combustible a été transféré dans les structures de stockage des LCR. Les composantes utilisées pour transporter, stocker et examiner le combustible demeurent dans les piscines, qui ont fait l'objet d'une décontamination préliminaire au moyen d'aspiration. L'intégrité structurale des murs des bâtiments 204 A et B a été évaluée.

Avant que la CCSN ne rende sa décision sur la demande de modification de permis d'EACL, le projet doit faire l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale, conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale. L'évaluation a pour but de cerner les effets environnementaux potentiels du projet et d'établir s'il est possible de les atténuer avant de donner le feu vert.

Prochaine étape

  • Décision de la Commission relative à l'évaluation environnementale

Pour plus d'information

La CCSN tient un registre public des documents concernant ses évaluations environnementales. On peut se procurer les listes et les copies des documents sur demande. Pour obtenir de l’information ou des précisions sur la présente évaluation environnementale, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN.

La CCSN réglemente l'utilisation de l'énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de protéger la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité et l'environnement et de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l'égard de l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire.

Dernière mise à jour :