Completed EAs

Cigar Lake Water Inflow Management Project

Environmental assessment Start date: January 21, 2009
Type:  Screening
CEAR reference number: 09-01-46666
Proponent:  Cameco Corporation
Location:  Waterbury Lake, Saskatchewan

Latest Update

Project Description

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has received notice of intent and a project description from Cameco Corporation (Cameco) for an approval to modify the current water inflow management system to handle increased quantities of water inflow at the Cigar Lake mine, Saskatchewan.

The proposed Water Inflow Management Project would increase the mine’s water-handling capabilities for future routine and potential non-routine inflows.  The Project includes modifications to the current water handling and effluent treatment release facilities (e.g., upgrading and installation of pumps, installation of a pump house, and associated piping) and the construction and use of two new pipelines that will deliver treated water to Seru Bay.  These modifications would result in a change in the point of effluent discharge from Aline Lake, to Seru Bay and an increase in discharge capacity. 

CNSC authorization to modify the current water inflow management system at the Cigar Lake mine requires an approval to Cameco’s Uranium Mine Construction Licence, pursuant to subsection 24(2) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA).

Before the Commission may consider a decision on licensing under the NSCA regarding Cameco’s proposal, a screening level environmental assessment (EA) must be completed in compliance with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.  The purpose of an EA is to identify the possible environmental effects of a proposed project, and determine whether these effects can be mitigated before the project is allowed to proceed. 

Further Information

The CNSC maintains a public registry of documents related to its environmental assessments. Lists and copies of documents may be obtained upon request. For questions or information directly related to this environmental assessment, contact the CNSC.

CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment and to respect Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

Date modified:

ÉE achevées

Projet de gestion de l'entrée d'eau de Cigar Lake

Date de début de l'évaluation environnementale: le 21 janvier 2009
Type : Examen préalable
Numéro de référence du RCEE: 09-01-46666
Promoteur: Cameco Corporation
Lieu: Waterbury Lake (Saskatchewan)

Mise à jour la plus récente :

Description du projet :

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a reçu un avis d'intention et une description de projet de Cameco Corporation (Cameco), qui demande une approbation pour augmenter la quantité d'eau passant dans le système de gestion d'entrée d'eau de la mine de Cigar Lake, en Saskatchewan.  

Le projet proposé de gestion de l'entrée d'eau augmenterait la capacité de la mine de gérer les entrées d'eau courantes et exceptionnelles. Il prévoit des modifications aux actuelles installations de gestion de l'eau et de traitement des effluents (mise à niveau et installation de pompes, installation d'une station de pompage et tuyauterie) ainsi que la construction et l'utilisation de deux nouvelles canalisations qui amèneront les eaux traitées jusqu'à la baie Seru. Avec ces modifications, la baie Seru serait utilisée au lieu du lac Aline pour le rejet des effluents, et la capacité de rejet augmenterait.

L'autorisation par la CCSN de la modification du système de gestion de l'entrée d'eau à la mine de Cigar Lake nécessite l'approbation du permis de construction de mine d'uranium de Cameco en vertu du paragraphe 24(2) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN).

Avant que la Commission ne prenne une décision d'autorisation aux termes de la LSRN concernant la proposition de Cameco, un examen environnemental préalable doit être réalisé conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale. Une évaluation environnementale a pour but de cerner les effets environnementaux potentiels d'un projet proposé et de déterminer s'il est possible de les atténuer avant d'autoriser sa réalisation.

Pour plus de renseignements

La CCSN tient un registre public des documents concernant ses évaluations environnementales. On peut se procurer les listes et les copies des documents sur demande. Pour obtenir de l'information ou des précisions sur la présente évaluation environnementale, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN.

La CCSN réglemente l'utilisation de l'énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de protéger la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité et l'environnement et de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l'égard de l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire.

Dernière mise à jour :