Completed EAs

Decommissioning of the Dalhousie University, SLOWPOKE-2 Reactor Facility

Start date: May 31, 2005
Type: Screening
CEAR reference number: 05-01-12199
Proponent: Dalhousie University
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia

Latest Update

Project Description

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has received a letter of intent from Dalhousie University to decommission the Safe Low Power Critical Experiment (SLOWPOKE-2) Reactor Facility. The decommissioning of the reactor, if approved, would be licensed by CNSC with a Decommissioning Licence, to be issued pursuant to paragraph 24(2) or the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA).

The SLOWPOKE-2 reactor is a 20 kilowatt (thermal) sealed-container, in-pool type research reactor. The reactor is located on the Studley campus of Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia. The University intends to decommission the SLOWPOKE-2 Reactor Facility once the reactor has been shut down and de-fuelled. The decommissioning of the reactor would include the site preparation, reactor dismantling, packaging and shipping of the parts to a licensed waste facility.

Before the Commission makes its decision on Dalhousie University's application for the proposed decommissioning of the reactor facility, a screening environmental assessment must be completed in compliance with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act. The purpose of an environmental assessment is to identify the possible environmental effects of a proposed project, and to determine whether these effects can be mitigated before the project is allowed to proceed.

Further Information

CNSC maintains a public registry of documents related to its environmental assessments. Lists and copies of documents may be obtained upon request. For questions or information directly related to this environmental assessment, contact the CNSC.

CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment and to respect Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

Date modified:

ÉE achevées

Déclassement de l’installation du réacteur SLOWPOKE-2

Début de l'évaluation environnementale : le 31 mai 2005
Type : Examen préalable
Numéro de référence du RCÉE : 05-01-12199
Promoteur : Université Dalhousie
Lieu : Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Mise à jour la plus récente

Description du projet

L’Université Dalhousie a avisé la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) de son intention de déclasser l’installation du réacteur d’expérience critique à faible puissance intrinsèquement sûre (Safe Low Power Critical Experiment - SLOWPOKE-2). Le déclassement du réacteur, s’il est approuvé, sera autorisé par la CCSN au moyen d’un permis de déclassement, qui sera délivré conformément au paragraphe 24(2) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN).

Le réacteur SLOWPOKE-2 est un réacteur de recherche de 20 kilowatts (thermique), de type scellé en piscine, et est situé sur le campus Studley de l’Université Dalhousie, à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse). L’Université à l’intention de déclasser l’installation du réacteur SLOWPOKE 2 une fois que le réacteur aura été mis à l’arrêt et vidé de son combustible. Le déclassement du réacteur comprendrait la préparation du site ainsi que le démantèlement, l’emballage et l’envoi des pièces à une installation de gestion des déchets autorisée.

Avant que la Commission ne prenne sa décision concernant la demande de déclassement de l’Université Dalhousie, le projet doit faire l’objet d’une évaluation environnementale aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale. L’évaluation a pour but de cerner les effets environnementaux potentiels du projet et d’établir s’il est possible de les atténuer avant de donner le feu vert.

Pour plus de renseignements

La CCSN tient un registre public des documents concernant ses évaluations environnementales. On peut se procurer les listes et les copies des documents sur demande. Pour obtenir de l’information ou des précisions sur la présente évaluation environnementale, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN.

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de protéger la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité et l’environnement et de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire.

Dernière mise à jour :