Meeting Minutes: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission Advisory Committee to the Potassium Iodide (KI) Pill Working Group Meeting #1

Agenda

  1. Opening remarks
  2. Introductions
  3. Roles and responsibilities of the CNSC Advisory Committee
  4. Discussion on the draft Operating Procedures
  5. Discussion on comments from the public review of the draft Terms of Reference
  6. Closing Remarks

Teleconference

Teleconference Dial-in Number: 1-877-413-4792

Conference ID number: 3114292

Date

February 26, 2019

Time

1:00 – 3:00 PM

Duration

2 hours

1. Opening Remarks

Opening remarks were provided by the Director General (DG) for the Directorate of Power Reactor Regulations (DPRR) and the DG for the Directorate of Security and Safeguards (DSS) welcoming the members to the CNSC Advisory Committee to the Potassium Iodide (KI) Pill Working Group.

2. Introduction

A round table was conducted for all members to introduce themselves and explain their interest in being a member of the Advisory Committee.

CNSC:

During the relicensing for the OPG Pickering Nuclear Power Plant (NPP), many questions were raised regarding KI distribution in the Pickering area. Specifically, there was a focus with respect to the plans in place for distributing KI within the 50 km Ingestion Planning Zone (IPZ). The KI working group was developed to provide clarity on the current plans in place for KI distribution, and subsequently the Advisory Committee was developed to capture the views and concerns from various key groups.

The Record of Decision (ROD) from the hearing included specific direction to establish the KI working group to specifically address KI distribution in schools within the IPZ. The ROD was published on the CNSC website following the development of the draft Terms of Reference (TOR). The CNSC is looking to update the TOR to better reflect the ROD.

T. McClenaghan:

CELA has a history of participating in CNSC hearings. Initially, they were focused on the Bruce and Darlington refurbishment where they began looking at the emergency planning. They felt that emergency preparedness needed improvements and began looking at emergency preparedness and plans for all Canadian NPPs and Chalk River. Chernobyl was brought up as an example of an event that shed light on the distribution of KI prior to, during, and following an event. They believe CNSC must be in the driver seat for the adequacy of safety and KI is something that must be in place and needs to be better understood.

C. Maltese:

The TCDSB has 7 schools within the 10 km primary zone of the Pickering NPP in which KI is already issued. They also have additional schools within the IPZ. They play a role in emergency preparedness by sending letters to parents/guardians for authorization and education purposes on KI.

S. Chambers:

The Municipality of Kincardine works with Bruce Power for support in distributing KI. KI is currently distributed to local schools and residences within the 50 km zone of Bruce Power. From a public safety perspective, they want to make sure the public is confident with the plans in place.

J. Scongack:

Bruce Power has accountability for emergency preparedness, and emphasized that as an industry, we need to be very thoughtful on how we proceed with KI distribution. Bruce Power focussed on increasing public confidence with respect to KI by considering where they wanted it available, where it made sense, and ensuring the appropriate communication tools were used to demonstrate how it benefits the community.

Dr. Novog:

Dr. Novog is a professor at McMaster University and a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Research Chair. He was also an advisory member to the recently updated Provincial Nuclear Emergency Response Plan (PNERP).

3. Roles and responsibilities of the CNSC Advisory Committee

CELA raised concerns over the roles and responsibilities of the advisory committee as depicted in Appendix A of the draft Operating Procedures; they felt that the operating procedures contradict the “advisory” role. CNSC reiterated that the members of the KI working group have a role and accountability for the implementation of an emergency preparedness program for Pickering NPP. Bruce expressed that they see the advisory group as being able to dig into the plans with more depth and articulate a more operationalized perspective.

4. Discussion on the draft Operating Procedures

CNSC wanted to reiterate that the TOR was developed prior to the ROD. The view at the time was to have a working group provide clarity on the existing plans for KI distribution. The ROD was later released and mentions the feasibility of distribution to schools within the IPZ, and direction to provide details plans for KI distribution in the event of an emergency. CNSC suggested having a two phase approach to address the ROD and indicated this would be discussed with the working group. Phase I would provide clarity and information on existing plans, and Phase II would focus on the feasibility of distributing KI to schools within the IPZ and detailed plans for KI distribution. The Advisory Committee will have opportunities to review the Phase I and II reports developed by the working group and have opportunities to meet face-to-face (and teleconferences) to discuss their comments and input ideas for improvement.

A question on expanding the KI working group scope to other NPP facilities was brought up. For now, the working group is focussed on Pickering as a result of the Pickering relicensing hearing. Following the Phase I and II reports there will be a better basis/framework that could be applied to other facilities as it will be action oriented and identify areas of improvements. Bruce agreed and emphasized that Phase II would need to focus on the ability to execute the plans.

Other items discussed on the operating procedures:

  • CELA inquired about the membership of other civil society groups. CNSC indicated that those groups will have the opportunity to provide public comments to any reports produced by the working group.
  • It was decided that any alternates of the advisory committee members can sit in on the meetings to observe and stay up to date on the project.
  • Advisory Committee meetings minutes will be available to the committee (including their review of draft minutes), and CNSC will look into having the minutes publicly available on the CNSC website.

5. Discussion on comments from the public review of the draft Terms of Reference

CNSC went over the main themes from the comments received on the draft TOR.

Membership:

CELA inquired about including health units in the working group; CNSC explained that their input will be coordinated through the MOHLTC representatives, and Public Health Units will have representation on the working group. They also inquired about the Registered Nurse Association; CNSC indicated that input from this group could also be coordinated through public review periods.

CELA also inquired about extending an invite to more people for the Advisory Committee Workshop. CNSC was not opposed but wants to balance practicality and ensure that the workshop is focussed and can effectively collect inputs.

Scope:

CNSC reiterated that the scope needs to be revised to better reflect the ROD. CELA asked whether the TOR will be updated to reflect the two-phased approach that was mentioned earlier in the meeting. CNSC indicated that they will discuss this with the working group on how this will be handled in the revised TOR. For now, the working group is focussed on the existing plans, with a target deadline to have a report by May 2019.

With respect to "Phase I", Bruce Power indicated that they were not sure what new information could resurface that we (the industry) don’t already know. The input from the public has been provided, practices are underway and the working group will give input on the any deltas. The Advisory Committee can help streamline some of that input.

There was a question on whether the draft TOR could be amended. CNSC indicated that this is possible as a result of the comment disposition with the working group.

Transparency:

With concurrence from working group members, the CNSC will look into having the working group meeting minutes available to the advisory committee (and look at the possibility of posting minutes on the CNSC website).

CELA Submission:

CELA requested the TOR include a methodology section to better understand if there is any technical work being conducted. CNSC indicated this could be covered in Phase II, while making sure all referenced material is available to the public.

Greenpeace Submission:

CELA again brought up that Greenpeace should be involved in the workshop. CNSC indicated that if the workshop gets expanded "rules of engagement" must be developed to ensure it is focussed and productive.

6. Closing Remarks

CNSC emphasized the importance of public engagement for this working group process and thanked all the advisory committee members for their participation in providing comments on the draft TOR and their input during the meeting.

The following actions were identified for CNSC:

  1. Complete the disposition of the draft TOR public comments (target deadline: 2 – 3 weeks)
  2. Update TOR based on comment dispositions and the ROD
  3. Prior to a workshop, conduct another teleconference with the Advisory Committee
  4. CNSC to look into a web portal on the CNSC website as a repository for the documents referenced in the KI Working Group Reports
Date modified:

Procès-verbal de la première réunion du Comité consultatif du Groupe de travail de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire sur les comprimés d’iodure de potassium (KI)

Ordre du jour

  1. Mot de bienvenue
  2. Présentations
  3. Rôles et responsabilités du Comité consultatif de la CCSN
  4. Discussion sur les procédures de fonctionnement provisoires
  5. Discussion sur les commentaires formulés à la suite de l’examen public de l’ébauche du Cadre de référence
  6. Mot de la fin

Téléconférence

No de téléphone de la téléconférence : 1-877-413-4792

No de la conférence : 3114292

Date

Le 26 février 2019

Heure

De 13 h à 15 h

Durée

2 heures

1. Mot de bienvenue

Le directeur général de la Direction de la réglementation des centrales nucléaires (DPRR) et la directrice générale de la Direction de la sécurité et des garanties (DSG) accueillent les membres du Comité consultatif du Groupe de travail de la CCSN sur les comprimés d’iodure de potassium (KI).

2. Présentations

On fait un tour de table pour permettre à tous les membres de se présenter et d’expliquer ce qui les motive à siéger au Comité consultatif.

CCSN:

Durant le processus de renouvellement de l’autorisation de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering d’OPG, de nombreuses questions ont été soulevées à l’égard de la distribution de KI dans la région de Pickering. On s’intéressait plus particulièrement aux plans mis en place en vue de la distribution de KI dans la Zone de planification du contrôle de l’ingestion (ZPCI) de 50 km. Le Groupe de travail sur les comprimés de KI a été créé afin de clarifier les plans de distribution de KI actuellement en place, puis le Comité consultatif a été formé pour recueillir les points de vue et les préoccupations de divers groupes clés.

Le compte rendu de décision de l’audience comprenait des directives précises en vue d’établir le Groupe de travail sur le KI de manière à gérer expressément la distribution de KI dans les écoles se trouvant à l’intérieur de la ZPCI. Le compte rendu de décision a été publié sur le site Web de la CCSN à la suite de l’élaboration de l’ébauche du Cadre de référence. La CCSN souhaite mettre le Cadre de référence à jour de manière à mieux refléter le compte rendu de décision.

T. McClenaghan:

L’Association canadienne du droit de l’environnement (ACDE) n’en est pas à sa première participation aux audiences de la CCSN. À l’origine, elle concentrait ses efforts sur la remise en état de Bruce et de Darlington, puis elle s’est tournée vers la planification d’urgence. L’ACDE estime que la préparation aux situations d’urgence doit être renforcée; elle a donc examiné la préparation aux situations d’urgence et les plans de toutes les centrales nucléaires canadiennes et de Chalk River. Elle soulève l’exemple de Tchernobyl, qui a mis en lumière l’importance de distribuer du KI avant, pendant et après un événement. Elle estime que la CCSN doit se faire le champion de la pertinence de la sûreté, et que les mesures relatives au KI doivent être en place et être mieux comprises.

C. Maltese:

Le Conseil scolaire catholique du district de Toronto (CSCDT) compte, à l’intérieur de la zone primaire de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering, sept écoles dans lesquelles du KI est déjà distribué. Il compte également d’autres écoles se trouvant dans la ZPCI. Il joue un rôle important sur le plan de la préparation aux situations d’urgence en envoyant des lettres aux parents et tuteurs afin d’obtenir leur autorisation et de les sensibiliser à l’égard du KI.

S. Chambers:

La municipalité de Kincardine collabore avec Bruce Power, dont elle reçoit le soutien en vue de distribuer le KI. À l’heure actuelle, le KI est distribué aux écoles et résidences locales dans un rayon de 50 km autour de Bruce Power. Du point de vue de la sûreté publique, la municipalité souhaite s’assurer que les plans en place inspirent confiance au public.

J. Scongack:

Bruce Power est responsable de la préparation aux situations d’urgence et insiste sur le fait qu’en tant qu’industrie, nous devons examiner soigneusement la manière dont nous procédons à la distribution du KI. Bruce Power insiste également sur le renforcement de la confiance du public à l’égard du KI en tenant compte des endroits où le public souhaite avoir du KI à sa disposition et de la pertinence de ces endroits, et en veillant à utiliser les outils de communication appropriés pour démontrer de quelle façon la collectivité en bénéficie.

Dr. Novog:

D. Novog, Ph. D., est professeur à l’Université McMaster et chaire de recherche du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG). Il a également agi à titre de membre consultatif à l’occasion de la mise à jour récente du Plan provincial d’intervention en cas d’urgence nucléaire (PPIUN).

3. Rôles et responsabilités du Comité consultatif de la CCSN

L’ACDE soulève des préoccupations à l’égard des rôles et responsabilités du Comité consultatif tels qu’ils sont définis à l’annexe A des procédures de fonctionnement provisoires; elle estime que les procédures de fonctionnement contredisent la nature « consultative » du rôle. La CCSN réitère que les membres du Groupe de travail sur les comprimés de KI jouent un rôle dans la mise en œuvre d’un programme de préparation aux situations d’urgence pour la centrale nucléaire de Pickering et en sont responsables. Bruce mentionne que, de son point de vue, le groupe consultatif est en mesure d’examiner les plans plus en profondeur et d’articuler une perspective plus opérationnalisée.

4. Discussion sur les procédures de fonctionnement provisoires

La CCSN souhaite réitérer que le Cadre de référence a été rédigé avant le compte rendu de décision. À ce moment, on souhaitait qu’un Groupe de travail puisse clarifier les plans existants de distribution de KI. Le compte rendu de décision, diffusé ultérieurement, mentionne la faisabilité de la distribution aux écoles situées dans la Zone de planification du contrôle de l’ingestion, et demande que des plans détaillés soient fournis pour la distribution de KI en cas d’urgence. La CCSN suggère d’adopter une approche en deux étapes pour prendre en considération le compte rendu de décision et signale que cet enjeu fera l’objet de discussions avec le Groupe de travail. L’étape I permettrait de clarifier les plans existants et de fournir de l’information à leur égard, et l’étape II serait axée sur la faisabilité de la distribution de KI aux écoles situées dans la ZPCI ainsi que sur les plans détaillés de distribution de KI. Les membres du Comité consultatif auront plusieurs occasions d’examiner les rapports des étapes I et II produits par le Groupe de travail et de se rencontrer en personne (et par téléconférence) afin d’analyser leurs commentaires et de formuler des suggestions d’amélioration.

On soulève une question sur l’élargissement de la portée du Groupe de travail sur les comprimés de KI afin d’inclure d’autres installations de centrales nucléaires. Pour l’instant, le Groupe de travail est axé sur Pickering en raison de l’audience visant le renouvellement de son autorisation. Après la production des rapports des étapes I et II, on disposera d’un meilleur fondement/cadre qui pourra être appliqué à d’autres installations, car il sera orienté vers l’action et cernera des domaines d’amélioration possible. Bruce se dit d’accord et insiste sur le fait que l’étape II devra être axée sur la capacité d’exécuter les plans.

Autres points de discussion relatifs aux procédures de fonctionnement :

  • L’ACDE s’interroge sur la participation d’autres groupes de la société civile. La CCSN indique que ces groupes auront l’occasion de formuler des commentaires publics sur tout rapport produit par le Groupe de travail.
  • On décide que tout membre suppléant du Comité consultatif peut assister aux réunions afin de demeurer informé des faits nouveaux du projet.
  • Les procès-verbaux des réunions du Comité consultatif seront à la disposition du Comité (y compris aux fins d’examen de leur ébauche), et la CCSN envisagera la possibilité de diffuser les procès-verbaux sur son site Web.

5. Discussion sur les commentaires formulés à la suite de l’examen public de l’ébauche du Cadre de référence

La CCSN fait un survol des principaux thèmes dégagés durant l’examen des commentaires reçus à l’égard de l’ébauche du Cadre de référence.

Composition :

L’ACDE s’informe sur l’inclusion des bureaux de santé dans le Groupe de travail; la CCSN explique que leur contribution sera coordonnée par l’intermédiaire des représentants du MSSLD de l’Ontario, et que les bureaux de santé publique seront représentés au sein du Groupe de travail. L’ACDE s’enquiert également de l’Association des infirmières et infirmiers autorisés de l’Ontario; la CCSN mentionne que la contribution de ce groupe pourrait aussi être coordonnée au moyen de périodes d’examen public.

L’ACDE s’informe sur la possibilité d’inviter davantage de personnes à l’atelier du Comité consultatif. La CCSN ne s’y oppose pas, mais souhaite maintenir un équilibre de sorte que l’atelier demeure pratique et pertinent et qu’il soit possible de recueillir efficacement les contributions de chacun.

Portée :

La CCSN rappelle que la portée doit être modifiée afin de mieux refléter le compte rendu de décision. L’ACDE demande si le Cadre de référence sera actualisé de manière à refléter l’approche en deux étapes mentionnée plus tôt durant la réunion. La CCSN mentionne qu’elle discutera avec le Groupe de travail de la manière dont cet enjeu sera géré dans le Cadre de référence révisé. Pour le moment, le Groupe de travail met l’accent sur les plans existants, et compte produire un rapport d’ici mai 2019.

En ce qui concerne l’étape I, Bruce Power s’interroge sur les renseignements nouveaux qui pourraient faire surface et que nous (le secteur) ne connaissons pas déjà. La contribution du public a été reçue, les pratiques sont en voie d’être établies et le Groupe de travail se prononcera sur les écarts. Le Comité consultatif peut aider à uniformiser toutes ces contributions.

On s’interroge sur la possibilité de modifier l’ébauche du Cadre de référence. La CCSN indique qu’il est possible de le faire par le biais des réponses du Groupe de travail aux observations.

Transparence :

Avec l’approbation des membres du Groupe de travail, la CCSN envisagera la possibilité de fournir les procès-verbaux des réunions du Groupe de travail au Comité consultatif (de même que la possibilité de les afficher sur son site Web).

Mémoire de l’ACDE :

L’ACDE demande que le Cadre de référence comprenne une section sur la méthode afin de mieux comprendre si des travaux techniques sont en cours. La CCSN répond que cet enjeu pourrait être pris en compte à l’étape II, tout en veillant à ce que tous les documents de référence soient mis à la disposition du public.

Mémoire de Greenpeace :

L’ACDE suggère à nouveau que Greenpeace participe à l’atelier. La CCSN indique que, si la portée de l’atelier est élargie, de nouvelles « règles de participation » doivent être établies pour veiller à ce que l’atelier demeure pertinent et productif.

6. Mot de la fin

La CCSN insiste sur l’importance de mobiliser le public dans le processus relatif à ce Groupe de travail et remercie tous les membres du Comité consultatif de leurs commentaires à l’égard de l’ébauche du Cadre de référence et de leur contribution durant la présente réunion.

Les mesures à prendre suivantes ont été dégagées pour la CCSN :

  1. Achever le tableau de réponses aux commentaires publics à l’égard de l’ébauche du Cadre de référence (échéance ciblée : 2 à 3 semaines)
  2. Actualiser le Cadre de référence en fonction des réponses aux observations et du compte rendu de décision
  3. Avant l’atelier, tenir une autre téléconférence avec le Comité consultatif
  4. Envisager la possibilité d’ajouter à son site Web un portail qui servira de dépôt pour les documents cités en référence dans les rapports du Groupe de travail sur les comprimés de KI
Dernière mise à jour :