Convention on Nuclear Safety strengthened: More transparency and participation

The Convention on Nuclear Safety (CNS) is the leading legal instrument to enhance global nuclear safety. Adopted in 1994, it is the only International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) treaty under the United Nations that legally commits participating countries (known as Contracting Parties) to maintain a high level of nuclear power plant safety. As part of the CNS, review meetings are held every three years to discuss participating countries’ nuclear safety programs, address common issues and proposals, and develop a summary report.

The CNS requires Contracting Parties to challenge and learn from each other, to continuously strengthen global nuclear safety.

CNSC’s Ramzi Jammal leads Seventh Review Meeting of the CNS


"The public needs to be assured that there are regulators and organizations who are working 24 hours a day and seven days a week so that safety is never compromised, regardless of economic challenges at the country level or the operator's level" – Ramzi Jammal, CNSC Executive Vice-President and Chief Regulatory Officer, and President of the Seventh Review Meeting of the Convention on Nuclear Safety

Recognized as a leader in nuclear safety on the international stage and for past contributions to the CNS, the CNSC’s Executive Vice-President and Chief Regulatory Officer, Ramzi Jammal, was elected by Contracting Parties in October 2015 as President of the Seventh Review Meeting of the CNS, held in Vienna from March 27 to April 7, 2017, at IAEA headquarters.

From the time Mr. Jammal accepted his appointment as President, he advocated improving and increasing the exchange of information at the Seventh Review Meeting. Under his leadership, this was the first review meeting for which all but one of the Contracting Parties submitted a national report. The number of Contracting Parties has also increased to 80, up from 75 at the last meeting in 2014.

A new window into the CNS

In line with Mr. Jammal’s call for transparency, for the first time, the opening and closing plenary sessions and the concluding press conference were publicly webcast and archived on the IAEA’s website. This coverage will continue at future meetings. For the Eighth Review Meeting in 2020, the IAEA, secretariat for the CNS, will be reviewing options for Country Group Sessions to be publicly webcast.

With a record 900 delegates in attendance, there were intensive meetings and Country Group Sessions on the national reports of nuclear safety programs. At the meetings, delegates collaborated to put forward ideas to address common issues and strengthen global nuclear safety.

The Seventh Review Meeting concluded with the approval of the Summary Report. The report details new measures to improve the effectiveness of the CNS, its reporting process and the common issues that need further work to strengthen nuclear safety globally. Issues range from the importance of sustaining and enhancing a nuclear safety culture, to maintaining effective legal frameworks, to cross border emergency planning and enforcing safety precautions within the supply chain. Progress in these areas will be reported on by each Contracting Party at the next review meeting.

Discussions were also held on global actions undertaken to enhance safety based on lessons learned from the Fukushima Daiichi accident and on the Vienna Declaration on Nuclear Safety, which contains principles to guide countries in achieving the objectives of the CNS.

In the spirit of increasing transparency and open dialogue, both the Summary Report and Mr. Jammal’s Report of the President of the Seventh Review Meeting provide clear direction to build on this momentum.

Public access to key documents to increase

All national reports will be posted on the IAEA website within 90 days of the review meeting, unless a formal objection is submitted. In addition, each Contracting Party has been encouraged to post its national report and responses to questions from the peer review to its website. For the first time, the Review Meeting’s President is recommending that each Country Review Report be made publicly available by each Contracting Party. Canada’s Country Review Report can be viewed on the CNSC website.

Wider participation encouraged

Contracting Parties are to reach out to non-participating countries to educate and build awareness, with the goal of gaining new signatories to the CNS. If accepted by the Contracting Parties, the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) will be invited as an observer for the next Review Meeting, as operators have the primary responsibility for nuclear safety.

Exploring new information sharing methods

Between review meetings, policy and decision makers are being encouraged to share knowledge and build capacity through workshops, expert missions, peer reviews and bilateral arrangements between experienced Contracting Parties and embarking nuclear countries.

Conclusion

All of these actions work towards a higher level of global nuclear safety. In safeguarding nuclear power plants, it is critical for regulators and operators alike to undertake peer reviews and to make sound decisions or recommendations based on the most advanced scientific and technical information, as well as on best practices and lessons learned.

The achievements of the Seventh Review Meeting strengthen the treaty’s key objectives of fostering international technical cooperation, protecting the public from radiological hazards, and preventing nuclear accidents and limiting their consequences.

To learn more about the CNS or to watch the opening and closing plenary sessions, visit the IAEA website. To learn more about Mr. Jammal’s role and Canada’s participation in the Seventh Review Meeting, visit the CNSC website.

A special note: The CNSC congratulates Mr. Jammal and his team for their hard work and dedication at the Seventh Review Meeting of the CNS. He and his team shared the expertise and experience of Canada’s nuclear regulator while bringing the Canadian values of openness, transparency and collaboration to the forefront.


October 19, 2015

Ramzi Jammal, CNSC Executive Vice-President and Chief Regulatory Operations Officer, was elected unanimously by Contracting Parties as President of the 7th Review Meeting of the Convention on Nuclear Safety. This is a prestigious position, and the CNSC would like to congratulate Mr. Jammal on this significant achievement.
Ramzi Jammal (right) at 59th General Conference of the IAEA held in September 2015

Ramzi Jammal (right) at 59th General Conference of the IAEA held in September 2015

As President, Mr. Jammal will lead discussions among participating countries on how to improve nuclear safety worldwide through a constructive exchange of views. Mr. Jammal succeeds Mr. André-Claude Lacoste, former Chairman of the French nuclear regulator, the Autorité de sûreté nucléaire. The 7th Review Meeting of the Convention will be held in the spring of 2017 in Vienna.  

“The appointment of Mr. Jammal as next President of the Convention is an honour for the CNSC. Mr. Jammal brings a wealth of experience to the position, having worked in the industry and for the CNSC. He has garnered extensive international experience over the years, representing Canada and chairing important international meetings on nuclear safety. We are confident that he will be a strong President of the 7th Review Meeting of the Convention.” — Michael Binder, CNSC President

The Convention was adopted in Vienna in June 1994 following a series of expert-level meetings and work by governments, national nuclear safety authorities and the International Atomic Energy Agency. Its provisions cover several areas, including siting, design, construction, operation, availability of adequate financial and human resources, assessment and verification of safety, quality assurance, and emergency preparedness.

Canada was one of the first signatories (known as Contracting Parties) to the Convention, and has been one of the staunchest promoters and supporters of its objectives. As of July 2015, there were 78 Contracting Parties to the Convention.

Resources

La Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire est renforcée grâce à une transparence et une participation accrues

3 mai, 2017

La Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire (CSN) est l’instrument juridique principal permettant de renforcer la sûreté nucléaire mondiale. La Convention, adoptée en 1994, est le seul traité de l’AIEA des Nations Unies qui engage juridiquement les signataires (Parties contractantes) à assurer un niveau élevé de sûreté aux centrales nucléaires. Dans le cadre de la CSN, des réunions d’examen sont tenues tous les trois ans pour discuter des programmes de sûreté des signataires, aborder des questions et des propositions communes et élaborer un rapport sommaire. En vertu de la CSN, les Parties contractantes doivent se mettre au défi et apprennent les unes des autres afin de renforcer continuellement la sûreté nucléaire.

Ramzi Jammal de la CCSN préside la septième réunion d’examen de la CSN


« Le public doit savoir qu’il existe des organismes de réglementation et des organisations qui travaillent sans cesse afin d’assurer la sûreté, peu importe les défis économiques que doivent relever les pays ou les exploitants. » – Ramzi Jammal, premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations de la CCSN et président de la septième réunion d’examen de la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire

Reconnu comme chef de file en matière de sûreté nucléaire et pour ses contributions à la CSN, Ramzi Jammal, premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations de la CCSN, a été élu par les Parties contractantes en octobre 2015 au titre de président de la septième réunion d’examen de la CSN, qui s’est déroulée du 27 mars au 7 avril 2017 à l’administration centrale de l’AIEA (Vienne).

Dès le début de sa présidence, M. Jammal a cherché à améliorer et à accroître l’échange d’information pendant la réunion d’examen. Sous sa direction, toutes les Parties contractantes (sauf une) ont pour la première fois soumis un rapport national. Le nombre de Parties contractantes est aussi passé à 80 par rapport à 75 en 2014, année de la dernière réunion.

Nouveau regard sur la CSN

Pour donner suite à l’engagement de M. Jammal en matière de transparence, les séances plénières d’ouverture et de clôture ont été diffusées publiquement et archivées sur le site Web de l’AIEA. Cette pratique continuera d’être appliquée aux réunions à venir. L’AIEA, le secrétariat pour la huitième réunion d’examen de la CSN en 2020, déterminera si les séances des groupes de pays seront aussi diffusées publiquement.

L’événement a attiré 900 délégués – un nombre record, ce qui a donné lieu à des rencontres et à des séances intensives de groupe de pays sur les rapports nationaux au sujet des programmes de sûreté nucléaire. Les délégués ont collaboré afin de présenter des solutions à des problèmes communs et de renforcer la sûreté nucléaire mondiale.

L’événement s’est terminé par l’approbation du rapport sommaire (en anglais seulement). Celui-ci décrit les nouvelles mesures visant à améliorer l’efficacité de la CSN, ses processus de déclaration et les enjeux communs sur lesquels il faut se pencher pour renforcer la sûreté nucléaire mondiale. Parmi ces enjeux, on compte l’importance de soutenir et d’améliorer une culture de sûreté nucléaire, la gestion efficace de cadres juridiques, la planification en cas d’urgence transfrontalière et l’application de mesures de sûreté au sein de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Chaque Partie contractante fera rapport sur les progrès réalisés par rapport à ces enjeux pendant la prochaine réunion d’examen.

Les participants ont également discuté des mesures prises à l’échelle mondiale pour renforcer la sûreté en fonction des leçons retenues de l’accident de Fukushima Daiichi et de la Déclaration de Vienne sur la sûreté nucléaire, qui contient des principes pour aider les pays à atteindre les objectifs de la CSN.

Afin d’accroître la transparence et le dialogue ouvert, le rapport sommaire et le Rapport du président de la septième réunion d’examen de M. Jammal fournissent tous deux une orientation claire sur la façon de poursuivre sur notre lancée.

Meilleur accès aux documents clés pour le public

Tous les rapports nationaux seront affichés sur le site Web de l’AIEA dans les 90 jours suivant la réunion d’examen, à moins qu’une objection officielle ne soit présentée. De plus, chaque Partie contractante est encouragée à afficher son rapport national et ses réponses aux questions découlant de l’examen par des pairs sur son site Web. Il s’agit de la première fois qu’un président d’une réunion d’examen recommande que les Parties contractantes rendent publics les rapports d’examen de leur pays. Le Rapport d’examen de pays pour le Canada est accessible à partir du site Web de la CCSN.

Accroître la participation

d’accord, l’Association mondiale des exploitants de centrales nucléaires (WANO) sera invitée à la prochaine réunion d’examen en tant qu’observatrice, puisque les exploitants sont les premiers responsables de la sûreté nucléaire.

Examiner de nouvelles méthodes d’échange d’information

Entre chaque réunion d’examen, les décideurs sont encouragés à mettre leurs connaissances en commun et à renforcer leurs capacités à l’aide d’ateliers, de missions d’experts, d’examens par des pairs et d’accords bilatéraux avec des Parties contractantes chevronnées et des pays qui commencent à se doter de programmes nucléaires.

Conclusion

Toutes ces mesures permettent de renforcer la sûreté nucléaire. Pour assurer la protection des centrales nucléaires, les organismes de réglementation et les exploitants doivent tous se soumettre à des examens par des pairs afin de pouvoir prendre des décisions ou de formuler des recommandations bien fondées sur les meilleurs renseignements scientifiques et techniques et sur les pratiques exemplaires et les leçons retenues.

Grâce à nos réalisations de la septième réunion d’examen, nous avons continué à donner suite aux objectifs principaux du traité, soit de favoriser la coopération technique internationale, de protéger le public des dangers radiologiques et de prévenir les accidents nucléaires et d’en atténuer les conséquences.

Pour en apprendre plus sur la CSN ou pour regarder les séances plénières d’ouverture et de fermeture, visitez le site Web de l’AIEA (en anglais seulement). Pour en savoir davantage sur le rôle de M. Jammal et la participation du Canada à la septième réunion d’examen, visitez le site Web de la CCSN.

Remerciements : La CCSN félicite M. Jammal et son équipe pour leur travail acharné et leur dévouement à l’occasion de la septième réunion d’examen de la CSN. Ils ont mis à profit leur expertise et l’expérience de l’organisme de réglementation nucléaire du Canada tout en mettant les valeurs de notre pays – ouverture, transparence et collaboration – au premier plan.


Ramzi Jammal élu président d’une réunion d’examen internationale

Le 19 octobre 2015

Ramzi Jammal, premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations de la CCSN, a récemment été élu par l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA), au nom des parties contractantes, au poste de président de la septième réunion d’examen de la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire. Il s’agit d’une nomination prestigieuse et la CCSN tient à féliciter M. Jammal pour cette réalisation importante.

Ramzi Jammal (à la droite) lors de la 59e Conférence g&eacuten&eacuterale de l'AIEA

Ramzi Jammal (à la droite) lors de la 59e Conférence générale de l'AIEA

En tant que président, M. Jammal dirigera les pourparlers entre les pays participants sur la façon d’améliorer la sûreté nucléaire mondiale grâce à un échange constructif d’opinions. Il succède à André-Claude Lacoste, ancien président de l’Autorité de sûreté nucléaire, l’organisme de réglementation nucléaire de France. La septième réunion d’examen de la Convention se déroulera au printemps 2017.

« La nomination de M. Jammal à titre de prochain président de la Convention couvre la CCSN d’honneur. Notre premier vice-président apporte à ce poste la riche expérience qu’il a acquise dans le secteur nucléaire et à la CCSN. Il pourra aussi mettre à profit les vastes connaissances qu’il a accumulées en travaillant sur la scène internationale pendant plusieurs années, notamment en représentant le Canada et en présidant des réunions internationales importantes sur la sûreté nucléaire. Nous sommes convaincus qu’il saura être un président hors pair à l’occasion de la septième réunion d’examen de la Convention », a affirmé Michael Binder, président de la CCSN.

La Convention a été ratifiée à Vienne en juin 1994, et elle est le fruit d’une série de rencontres d’experts et de travaux de gouvernements, d’autorités nationales de sûreté nucléaire et de l’AIEA. Ses dispositions englobent plusieurs domaines, dont le choix de l’emplacement, la conception, la construction, l’exploitation, la disponibilité de ressources financières et humaines adéquates, l’évaluation et la vérification de la sûreté, l’assurance de la qualité et la préparation aux urgences.

Le Canada a été l’un des premiers signataires (appelés parties contractantes) de la Convention, ainsi qu’un des premiers pays à la défendre et à appuyer la réalisation de ses objectifs. En date de juillet 2015, il y avait 78 parties contractantes à la Convention.

Ressource