Probabilistic safety assessment: A tool to estimate risk and drive safety improvement at nuclear power plants

A key responsibility of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is to ensure that any potential risks stemming from the operation of nuclear power plants (NPPs) are taken into account. Before any NPP in Canada can begin to operate, it must present a strong safety case to obtain a licence from the CNSC.

When an NPP is designed, stringent requirements are imposed to make sure that all components can resist abnormal operating conditions. These conditions include severe weather, seismic activity or intense heat and pressure that may occur as a result of an accident at the facility. This approach to designing the plant and its components, using requirements and safety margins to account for potential abnormal conditions, is called a deterministic safety analysis. Starting in the 1980s, an additional tool – the probabilistic safety assessment (PSA) – was introduced. Also known as a probabilistic risk assessment, the PSA uses probabilities to analyze the overall risk to a nuclear power plant under abnormal conditions.

What does a PSA accomplish?

A PSA answers these questions:

  • What could go wrong?
  • How likely is it?
  • What would the consequences be?

PSAs help the CNSC and operators better understand each NPP and identify potential safety improvements. PSA requirements are part of the Canadian regulatory framework as set out in REGDOC-2.4.2, Safety Analysis: Probabilistic Safety Assessment (PSA) for Nuclear Power Plants.

Learning from Fukushima

Following the Fukushima nuclear event in March 2011, the CNSC required NPP operators to re-evaluate site-specific external hazards such as seismic activity and high wind, as well as events involving spent fuel bays. REGDOC-2.4.2, published in 2014, reflects lessons learned and actioned findings from the CNSC Fukushima Task Force Report, such as new PSA requirements for multi-unit impact; consideration of other radioactive sources, such as spent fuel bays; consideration of potential combinations of external hazards (such as seismic induced fires and floods); and when units are in low-power operation for extended periods of time.

Striving for continuous improvement is one of the pillars of nuclear safety, and PSAs are no exception to this principle. Currently there is a pilot project underway with Ontario Power Generation to develop a whole-site PSA.

Assessment levels

The CNSC requires two levels of assessment: 

A Level 1 PSA analyzes the sequences that could lead to severe reactor core damage, also known as reactor meltdown. At this level, the emphasis is on plant responses to various types of accidents, whether they are initiated by external events (such as earthquakes or floods), internal events (such as system malfunctions) or human error.

A Level 2 PSA builds on the results of a Level 1 PSA. It examines the containment response to the accident and assesses the likelihood and magnitude of potential radioactive releases to the environment.

Establishing safety goals to limit risk

A limit is placed on the societal risks of NPP operation. With this in mind, the CNSC has established two qualitative safety goals:

  1. Individual members of the public shall be provided a level of protection from the consequences of nuclear power plant operation, such that there is no significant additional risk to their life and health.
  2. Societal risks to life and health from nuclear power plant operation shall be comparable to or less than the risks of generating electricity using viable competing technologies, and shall not significantly add to other societal risks.

Read summaries of PSAs for Canadian NPPs

A CNSC expert during inspection of the seismic qualification at a Canadian nuclear power plant

A CNSC expert during inspection of the seismic qualification at a Canadian nuclear power plant

For practical purposes for existing plants, two quantitative safety goal limits were established. These limits are consistent with best international practices:

  • For a Level 1 PSA, which looks at severe core damage frequency, the safety goal limit is less than 1 time in 10,000 years (i.e., 1E-04/year, or 1 x 10-4/year)
  • For a Level 2 PSA, which looks at large release frequency, the safety goal limit is less than 1 in time in 100,000 years (i.e., 1E-05/year, or 1 x 10-5/year)

Considering hazards

When a PSA is prepared, an extensive list of hazards is considered. These are usually categorized into internal and external events, which include:

  • internal events: events caused by random component failures and human error originating in the plant
  • internal fires: fires originating in the plant
  • internal floods: floods originating in the plant
  • external natural hazards: events like earthquakes, high winds, floods, freezing rain, meteorites, geomagnetic storms and solar figures
  • external human-induced hazards: events such as airplane crashes and accidents at nearby industrial facilities
Firefighters at the Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station

Firefighters at the Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station

Some of these hazards will be screened out early in the PSA process, either because of their unlikelihood or irrelevance to the region, or because of their low potential impact on the facility’s safety. For example, a flood resulting from a tsunami would not be considered when conducting a PSA for a plant in Ontario. Likewise, something like a meteorite fall (frequency in the range of one every few million years) would also be screened out.

Improving day-to-day operations

PSA results have positive implications for the day-to-day operation of existing nuclear power plants.
They are used, for instance, to optimize testing and maintenance strategies to focus on the components most important to safety.

PSA results also help CNSC staff focus their inspection and oversight efforts.

Combining PSAs with other types of assessment

PSAs do have limitations, which is why they are used along with other types of assessments in the safety case.

For instance, it is hard to model all the dependencies between systems, and to properly account for human actions (especially when it comes to procedures for managing severe accidents). Important inputs to the safety case include thorough analyses of defence in depth, safety margins, code adherence and safety culture.

The CNSC will continue leading efforts to produce PSAs and will never compromise safety!

Les études probabilistes de sûreté : Un outil d’analyse des risques et d’amélioration de la sûreté aux centrales nucléaires

Lors de la conception d’une centrale nucléaire, des exigences strictes sont établies pour que tous les composants puissent résister à des conditions extrêmes. Parmi ces conditions, mentionnons les conditions météorologiques extrêmes, l’activité sismique ainsi que la chaleur et la pression intenses qui peuvent être générées à la suite d’un accident dans une installation. Cette approche de la conception d’une centrale et de ses composants, qui permet de comptabiliser les possibles conditions extrêmes à l’aide d’exigences et de marges de sûreté, s’appelle l’analyse déterministe de la sûreté. Depuis les années 1980, un autre outil – l’étude probabiliste de sûreté (EPS) – a été lancé. Également connue sous le nom d’« évaluation probabiliste de la sûreté », l’EPS permet d’analyser, au moyen de probabilités, le risque global pour une centrale nucléaire dans des conditions anormales.

À quoi les études probabilistes de sûreté servent-elles?

Les EPS permettent de répondre aux questions suivantes :

  • Quels problèmes pourraient survenir?
  • Quelle est la probabilité qu’ils se produisent?
  • Quelles en seraient les conséquences?

Ces études permettent à la CCSN et aux exploitants de mieux comprendre chaque centrale nucléaire et de cibler les améliorations potentielles à la sûreté. Les exigences de la CCSN relatives aux EPS font partie du cadre de réglementation canadien et sont énoncées dans le document REGDOC‑2.4.2, Analyse de la sûreté : études probabilistes de sûreté (EPS) pour les centrales nucléaires.

Leçons tirées de Fukushima

En raison de l’accident nucléaire de Fukushima survenu en mars 2011, la CCSN exige des exploitants de centrales nucléaires qu’ils réexaminent les dangers externes propres au site, comme l’activité sismique et les vents violents, et les événements touchant les piscines de combustible usé. Le document REGDOC 2.4.2, publié en 2014, tient compte des leçons retenues et des mesures mises en œuvre découlant du Rapport du Groupe de travail de la CCSN sur Fukushima (p. ex. nouvelles exigences relatives aux EPS pour les incidents touchant des tranches multiples), des autres sources radioactives (p. ex. piscines de combustible usé), des combinaisons possibles de dangers externes (p. ex. incendies et inondations provoquées par des activités sismiques) et des occasions où certaines tranches fonctionnent à faible puissance pendant de longues périodes.

L’amélioration continue est un principal fondamental de la sûreté nucléaire, et les EPS n’y font pas exception. À l’heure actuelle, un projet pilote est en cours avec Ontario Power Generation pour l’élaboration d’une EPS visant l’ensemble du site.

Niveaux d’étude

La CCSN exige deux niveaux d’étude. 

L’EPS de niveau 1 permet d’analyser les séquences qui pourraient entraîner des dommages graves au cœur du réacteur, qu’on appelle également « accident de fusion du cœur du réacteur ». Ce niveau est axé sur la réponse de la centrale à divers types d’accidents, qu’ils soient provoqués par des événements externes (comme un séisme et une inondation), des événements internes (comme la défaillance de systèmes) ou des erreurs humaines.

L’EPS de niveau 2, qui se fonde sur les résultats de l’EPS de niveau 1, consiste à examiner la réponse de l’enceinte de confinement dans le cas d’un accident et à déterminer la probabilité et l’ampleur des rejets potentiels de matières radioactives dans l’environnement.

Lire des résumés d’EPS de centrales nucléaires canadiennes :

Une limite s’applique aux risques que pose l’exploitation des centrales nucléaires pour la société. C’est pour cette raison que les deux objectifs qualitatifs en matière de sûreté suivants ont été établis par la CCSN :

  1. Les membres du public doivent bénéficier d’un niveau de protection contre les conséquences de l’exploitation d’une centrale nucléaire de sorte qu’il n’y ait pas de risque supplémentaire pour leur vie et leur santé.
  2. Les risques sociétaux pour la vie et la santé que pose l’exploitation d’une centrale nucléaire devraient être comparables ou inférieurs aux risques que présentent les autres technologies viables et concurrentes de production d’électricité, et ne devraient pas constituer un ajout important aux autres risques auxquels la société est confrontée.

Lire des résumés d’EPS de centrales nucléaires canadiennes :

Un expert de la CCSN examine la qualifications séismique d’une centrale nucléaire au Canada

Un expert de la CCSN examine la qualifications séismique d’une centrale nucléaire au Canada

Pour des raisons pratiques, deux objectifs quantitatifs en matière de sûreté ont été établis pour les centrales existantes. Ces limites respectent les pratiques exemplaires internationales :

  • Pour une EPS de niveau 1, qui examine la fréquence des dommages graves au cœur du réacteur, la limite de l’objectif de sûreté est inférieure à un événement par période de 10 000 ans (c.-à-d. 1E-04/an, ou 1 x 10-4/an)
  • Pour une EPS de niveau 2, qui examine la fréquence des rejets importants, la limite de l’objectif de sûreté est inférieure à un événement par période de 100 000 ans (c.-à-d. 1E-05/an, ou 1 x 10-5/an)

Dangers envisagés

Au moment d’effectuer une EPS, une liste exhaustive de dangers est prise en compte. Ces dangers font généralement partie des événements internes ou externes, notamment :

  • Événements internes : Événements causés par une défaillance soudaine d’un composant ou par une erreur humaine dans la centrale
  • Incendies internes : Incendies ayant pris naissance dans la centrale
  • Inondations internes : Inondations provenant de la centrale
  • Dangers naturels externes : Événements comme des séismes, des vents violents, des inondations, du verglas, des météorites, des orages géomagnétiques et des éruptions solaires
  • Dangers externes d’origine humaine : Événements comme des écrasements d’avion et des accidents dans des installations industrielles à proximité
Firefighters at the Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station

Pompiers à la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau

Certains dangers sont éliminés au début du processus d’EPS, car ils sont très improbables ou non pertinents pour la région, ou encore parce qu’ils auraient de faibles répercussions sur la sûreté de l’installation. Par exemple, les inondations causées par un tsunami ne seraient pas prises en considération pour une EPS dans une centrale nucléaire située en Ontario. Également, les chutes de météorites (fréquence d’environ un événement sur une période d’un million d’années) seraient éliminées.

Amélioration de l’exploitation quotidienne

Les résultats des EPS ont des répercussions sur l’exploitation quotidienne des centrales nucléaires existantes. Ils servent notamment à optimiser les tests et les stratégies d’entretien pour que ces derniers soient axés sur les éléments les plus importants sur le plan de la sûreté.

De plus, les résultats des EPS aident le personnel de la CCSN à orienter ses efforts d’inspection et de surveillance.

Combiner des EPS avec d’autres types d’évaluation

Les EPS ont des limites. Elles sont donc utilisées en combinaison avec d’autres types d’évaluation dans l’établissement d’un dossier de sûreté.

Par exemple, il est difficile de modéliser toutes les dépendances entre les systèmes et de bien tenir compte des interventions humaines (surtout dans les cas de procédures de gestion d’accidents graves). Parmi les contributions importantes au dossier de sûreté, mentionnons les analyses de la défense en profondeur, les marges de sûreté, le respect des codes et la culture de sûreté.

La CCSN continuera à mener des efforts visant à produire des EPS, et ne compromettra jamais la sûreté!