CNSC to hold two-part public hearing for the licence renewal of the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station

On April 4, 2018, the CNSC will hold the first part of a public hearing in Ottawa for the renewal of the operating licence for the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station (NGS). The Commission will hear from the licensee and CNSC staff. During the second part of the hearing, scheduled to take place on June 26 to 28 at the Hope Fellowship Church in Courtice, Ontario, members of the public, Indigenous groups and other stakeholders may have an opportunity to participate in the proceedings.

Pickering Nuclear Generating Station

Aerial vew of the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station

The Pickering NGS is owned and operated by Ontario Power Generation (OPG), and located in the municipality of Pickering, Ontario, on the north shore of Lake Ontario. Like all of Canada’s licensed and operating nuclear power plants, the Pickering NGS uses CANDU (Canada Deuterium Uranium) reactors at all of its units.

Along with its operating licence for the Pickering NGS, OPG also operates a nuclear waste management facility at the site.

Licence renewal

OPG currently has a five-year nuclear power reactor operating licence, which expires on August 31, 2018, and has applied for a ten-year licence renewal. The proposed licence term would cover the period from September 1, 2018 to August 31, 2028. As OPG intends to cease commercial operation of the Pickering NGS on December 31, 2024, the proposed licence period would cover three phases of operational activities: continued commercial operation until December 31, 2024; a stabilization phase (post-shutdown defuelling and dewatering) lasting approximately two to three years; and the beginning of safe storage for six reactor units. The safe storage phase marks the beginning of station decommissioning.

The timeline displays activity dates for the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station licence renewal.
August 2017, Ontario Power Generation submits licence renewal application. 
September 2017 The application is reviewed by CNSC staff.
September 29, 2017 There is a notice of public hearing and Participant Funding Program.
October 24-26, 2017 in Pickering Ontario, Ontario Power Generation hosts three open houses.
December 1, 2017 Deadline to apply for the Participant Funding Program.
March 2018, CNSC staff Commission member document and presentation is available for public review. 
February 7 and 8, 2018 in Pickering, Ontario, The CNSC hosts CNSC 101.
April 4, 2018 in Ottawa, Ontario, Pickering nuclear generating station licence renewal hearing, part 1. 
May 7, 2018 Deadline for public intervention.
June 26-28, 2018 in Pickering, Ontario, Pickering licence renewal hearing, part 2. 
To be confirmed, decision announcement.

Compliance verification

The CNSC regulates and licenses the nuclear industry in Canada to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment. One way that this is done is through compliance verification activities. The CNSC has full-time staff onsite at the Pickering NGS who perform inspections to evaluate safety and to verify compliance with regulatory requirements and licence conditions. The Pickering NGS is also subject to ongoing reviews of activities and licensee documentation. The licensee must also report unusual occurrences and report on routine performance data.

Part of the CNSC’s regulatory approach is to require major licensees to have robust public information and disclosure programs in place. For nuclear power plants, these programs include a disclosure protocol developed in consultation with community stakeholders.

These compliance activities enable the CNSC to inform Canadians of the compliance and safety performance of facilities like the Pickering NGS. These activities also help provide valuable information to the Commission when it considers relicensing.

Public participation

Members of the public, Indigenous groups and other stakeholders who have an interest or expertise in this matter or information that may be useful to the Commission in coming to a decision are invited to comment on OPG’s application.

The CNSC offered funding through its Participant Funding Program (PFP), to assist members of the public, Indigenous groups and other stakeholders in reviewing OPG’s application and associated documents and providing valuable informed and topic-specific interventions to the Commission in the licence proceedings. The final date to submit a PFP for the review of OPG’s application was December 1, 2017.

In addition to information from PFP recipients, the Commission will carefully consider all the information presented from the public, Indigenous groups, the licensee and CNSC staff when making its decision. To facilitate comment, OPG’s application is available for review. Requests to intervene must be filed with the Commission Secretariat by May 7, 2018.

Find out more about the Pickering NGS: http://nuclearsafety.gc.ca/eng/reactors/power-plants/nuclear-facilities/pickering-nuclear-generating-station/index.cfm

Date modified:

La CCSN tiendra une audience publique en deux parties sur le renouvellement du permis de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering

Le 4 avril 2018, la CCSN tiendra la première partie d’une audience publique à Ottawa sur le renouvellement du permis d’exploitation de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering. Le titulaire de permis et des membres du personnel de la CCSN seront entendus par la Commission. Le public, les groupes autochtones et d’autres parties intéressées pourraient avoir l’occasion de participer au cours de la deuxième partie de l’audience, prévue les 26 à 28 juin à l’Église Hope Fellowship de Courtice (Ontario).

Centrale nucléaire de Pickering

Vue aérienne de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering

Ontario Power Generation (OPG) est propriétaire et exploitante de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering, située dans la municipalité de Pickering (Ontario) sur la rive nord du lac Ontario.

Comme toutes les centrales nucléaires autorisées et en exploitation au Canada, la centrale de Pickering est dotée de réacteurs CANDU (CANada Deutérium Uranium). OPG exploite aussi une installation de gestion des déchets nucléaires sur le site de la centrale.

Renouvellement de permis

OPG possède actuellement un permis d’une durée de cinq ans pour l’exploitation d’un réacteur nucléaire de puissance, qui est valide jusqu’au 31 août 2018. OPG a présenté une demande de renouvellement de permis pour une période de dix ans, soit du 1er septembre 2018 au 31 août 2028. Étant donné que l’entreprise compte cesser l’exploitation commerciale de la centrale le 31 décembre 2024, le permis proposé engloberait trois étapes : l’exploitation commerciale continue jusqu’au 31 décembre 2024, la stabilisation (déchargement du combustible et assèchement après l’arrêt des réacteurs) pendant deux à trois ans environ et le début du stockage sûr de six tranches. Cette dernière étape marque le début du déclassement de la centrale.

La chronologie démontre les dates d’activités pour le renouvellement du permis de la Centrale nucléaire de Pickering. 
Août 2017  Ontario Power Generation présente une demande de renouvellement de permis. 
Septembre 2017 Examen de la demande par la CCSN.
Le 29 septembre 2017 Avis d’audience publique et de financement des participants 
Le 24 - 26 octobre 2017 à Pickering, Ontario Portes ouverts d’Ontario Power Generation.
1er décembre 2017 Date limite pour soumettre une demande de financement des participants.
Mars 2018 Document à l’ intention des commissaires et présentation du personnel de la CCSN prêts pour examen publique.
Le 7 et 8  février, 2018 a Pickering, Ontario CCSN 101.
Le 4 avril 2018 à Ottawa, Ontario Partie 1 de l’audience sur le renouvellement du permis 
Le 7 mai 2018 Date limite pour les interventions du publique 
Le 26-28 juin 2018 à Pickering, Ontario Partie 2 de l’audience sure le renouvellement du permis 
Date à confirmer Annonce de la décision

Vérification de la conformité

La CCSN réglemente le secteur nucléaire du Canada et délivre des permis afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et de protéger l’environnement. Pour ce faire, elle effectue notamment des activités de vérification de la conformité.

Du personnel de la CCSN travaille à temps plein sur le site de la centrale de Pickering afin de réaliser des inspections, d'évaluer la sûreté et de vérifier la conformité aux exigences réglementaires et aux conditions de permis. Les activités et la documentation liée au permis du titulaire de permis font aussi l’objet d’examens continus. Le titulaire de permis doit également signaler les événements inhabituels et faire rapport sur les données liées au rendement courant.

Dans le cadre de son approche réglementaire, la CCSN oblige les grands titulaires de permis à se doter de solides programmes d’information et de divulgation publiques. Ces programmes incluent, pour les centrales nucléaires, un protocole de divulgation élaboré en consultation avec des parties intéressées des collectivités concernées.

Ces activités de conformité permettent à la CCSN de communiquer de l’information aux Canadiens sur la conformité et le rendement en matière de sûreté d’installations comme Pickering. Les activités de conformité fournissent aussi de l’information essentielle à la Commission au moment du renouvellement de permis.

Participation du public

Les membres du public, les groupes autochtones et d’autres parties intéressées qui ont un intérêt ou une expertise concernant le dossier en cause ou qui possèdent des renseignements pouvant être utiles à la Commission pour en arriver à une décision sont invités à présenter des commentaires sur la demande d’OPG.

La CCSN a offert du financement dans le cadre de son Programme de financement des participants (PFP). Le PFP vise à aider le public, les groupes autochtones et les autres parties intéressées à examiner la demande d’OPG et les documents connexes, et à participer au processus d’audience en présentant des interventions pertinentes au sujet examiné. La date limite pour soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement à cet égard était le 1er décembre 2017.

La Commission examinera l’information soumise par les récipiendaires de financement du PFP ainsi que celle présentée par le public, les groupes autochtones, le titulaire de permis et le personnel de la CCSN afin de rendre sa décision. Pour faciliter la présentation de commentaires, la demande d’OPG est disponible pour examen. Les demandes d’intervention doivent être présentées au Secrétariat de la Commission d’ici le 7 mai 2018.

Apprenez-en plus sur la centrale nucléaire de Pickering : http://nuclearsafety.gc.ca/fra/reactors/power-plants/nuclear-facilities/pickering-nuclear-generating-station/index.cfm

Dernière mise à jour :