Minke Whales to Honey Bees

Novel Applications of Low Energy Accelerators

March 19, 2013

Written by: Mark Broeders, Program Officer, Accelerators and Class II Facilities

Before 2011, the responsibility for regulating electron accelerators with energies less than 10 mega or million electron volts (MV) was somewhat unclear. At that time, the CNSC made a policy decision to regulate accelerators operating above 10 MV, while the provinces took on the responsibility for the low energy accelerators.

Most accelerators were typically designed to operate above 10 MV. Over the last decade, however, new technology and applications have dramatically increased the number of low energy linear accelerators (linacs), a type of particle accelerator used to produce X-rays, in use in Canada. But while some provinces applied the same regulatory standards as the CNSC, others did not. In October 2011, the CNSC made a policy decision to include all electron accelerators with beam energies greater than 1 MV under its oversight.

Mission accomplished

By December 31, 2013, all operational low energy electron accelerators were certified and licensed by the CNSC. In the end, 53 additional accelerators were impacted: 38 in the medical sector, 12 in the industrial sector and 3 in the research/academic sector. Many industrial and research licensees were first-time Class II licensees and therefore required significant support from our staff in this process.

The provincial authorities have cooperated with this policy change. For instance, the Ontario regulator invited the CNSC to a joint inspection following an unusually high dose reading at a facility that the CNSC had not yet licensed (the dose was a non-personal exposure).

Novel linac applications

Minke whale fetus (source: FP Innovations).

While licensing this equipment, we've encountered some interesting linac applications. One research company is using a linac as a high-energy CT scanner. One of its more interesting projects was to scan a Minke whale foetus to determine the cause of death (it was a broken jaw).

Industrial applications include mobile cargo screening, irradiation of topaz and other gem stones to improve their colour and irradiation of beehive frames to kill the Nosema ceranae parasite that can destroy bee colonies.

The medical sector provided some additional regulatory challenges with new technology that married robotic technology from the automotive industry with an accelerator. Because the linac accelerator (e.g., CyberKnife) can point virtually anywhere on a wall, verification of adequacy of shielding design was made a little more complicated than for traditional medical accelerators.

CyberKnife accelerator (Source: Accuray).

Des petits rorquals aux abeilles

Les accélérateurs de faible énergie sont mis à profit

19 mars, 2014

Par : Mark Broeders, agent de programme, Division des installations de catégorie II et des accélérateurs

Avant 2011, à qui revenait la responsabilité de réglementer les accélérateurs d'électrons à énergie inférieure à 10 méga électronvolts (MeV) n'était pas claire. La CCSN s'est alors engagée à réglementer les accélérateurs de plus de 10 MeV, et les provinces, les accélérateurs à faible énergie.

La plupart étaient conçus pour être exploités à une puissance supérieure à 10 MeV. Cependant, au cours de la dernière décennie, de nouvelles technologies et applications ont radicalement augmenté le nombre d'accélérateurs à faible énergie. Appelés « linacs », ces accélérateurs de particules utilisés au Canada produisent des rayons X. Seules quelques provinces ont adopté les mêmes normes réglementaires pour ces appareils que la CCSN. En octobre 2011, la CCSN a décidé qu'elle allait désormais réglementer tous les accélérateurs d'électrons d'une puissance supérieure à 1 MeV.

Mission accomplie

En date du du 31 décembre 2013, tous les accélérateurs d'électrons de faible énergie  en exploitation sont homologués et autorisés par la CCSN. En tout, 53 accélérateurs ont été touchés par ce changement de responsabilité : 38 dans le domaine médical, 12 dans le secteur industriel et 3 dans le milieu académique et de la recherche. Le personnel de la CCSN a apporté une aide importante aux titulaires de permis des domaines industriels et de la recherche qui devaient obtenir des permis de catégorie II pour la première fois.

Les autorités provinciales ont respecté ce changement de responsabilité. L'Ontario a par exemple invité la CCSN à participer à une inspection conjointe après qu'une dose anormalement élevée ait été détectée dans une installation à laquelle la CCSN n'avait pas encore délivré de permis.

Utilisations singulières du linac

Fœœtus d'un petit rorqual (Source : FP Innovations)

Au cours de l'homologation de l'équipement susmentionné, nous avons appris que le linac pouvait être utilisé de façons inusitées. Une entreprise l'a notamment utilisé comme tomodensitomètre à haute énergie pour obtenir des images d'un fœtus de petit rorqual et déterminer la cause de son décès (mâchoire cassée).

Parmi les applications industrielles, on compte le contrôle mobile du fret, l'irradiation de la topaze et d'autres pierres précieuses pour en faire ressortir les couleurs, et l'irradiation des essaims pour tuer le Nosema ceranæ, un parasite qui décime les colonies d'abeilles.

L'homologation des appareils du secteur médical comportait son lot de défis réglementaires, dont une qui combine les techniques de robotique du secteur automobile avec un accélérateur. Puisque l'accélérateur linac (p. ex., le cybercouteau) peut être dirigé presque n'importe où sur un mur, la vérification du blindage était plus compliquée que pour les accélérateurs médicaux traditionnels.

Accélérateur appelé cybercouteau (Source : Accuray)
Dernière mise à jour :