CNSC’s relationship with Indigenous peoples in Canada

Aboriginal Consultation

The celebration of National Indigenous History Month is an opportunity to acknowledge and commemorate the contributions that Indigenous peoples in Canada have made in our history, as well as to our contemporary cultural mosaic.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is committed to building and maintaining strong relationships with Indigenous peoples in Canada. The CNSC works closely with Indigenous communities to ensure that existing or potential nuclear projects do not pose risks to health, safety, security or the environment.

A man fishing in a lake with inukshuks on the shore

Throughout their regulatory reviews, CNSC staff make sure that interests of, or concerns raised by, Indigenous communities regarding nuclear facilities or activities the CNSC regulates, are addressed. The goal is to ensure that any licensing decision the CNSC makes about a nuclear project follows the Nuclear Safety Control Act (NSCA) while taking into consideration potential adverse impacts to Indigenous peoples and/or treaty rights. Further, under REGDOC-3.2.2, Aboriginal Engagement, the CNSC requires its licensees to engage with Indigenous peoples. As part of its mandate, the CNSC provides guidance and information on objective scientific, technical and regulatory data to support that engagement.

During the entire lifecycle of a nuclear project that it regulates, the CNSC encourages ongoing dialogue and engages with Indigenous peoples in Canada in a variety of ways: through its Participant Funding Program, meetings with community representatives and leaders, and participation in licencing reviews and Commission proceedings. These avenues ensure that Indigenous peoples have their views and values reflected in the licensing process and regulatory oversight reports.

Find out more.

Date modified:

Relation de la CCSN avec les peuples autochtones du Canada

Consultation des Autochtones

Le Mois national de l’histoire autochtone est l’occasion de reconnaître et de souligner l’apport des peuples autochtones à l’histoire du Canada et à notre mosaïque culturelle contemporaine.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) est vouée à bâtir et à maintenir des liens solides avec les peuples autochtones du pays. Elle travaille de près avec les communautés autochtones afin de s’assurer que les projets nucléaires en cours ou potentiels qui pourraient les préoccuper ne posent aucun risque pour la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité ou l’environnement.

Un homme pêchant dans un lac avec des inukshuks sur la rive

À l’aide de ses examens réglementaires, la CCSN veille à ce que les intérêts et les préoccupations des communautés autochtones concernant les installations ou les activités nucléaires qu’elle réglemente soient pris en compte. L’objectif est de s’assurer que toute décision d’autorisation prise par la CCSN à l’égard d’un projet nucléaire respecte les dispositions de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et tienne compte des effets négatifs potentiels sur les droits des peuples autochtones ou issus de traités. De plus, selon le document REGDOC-3.2.2, Mobilisation des Autochtones, la CCSN exige que ses titulaires de permis mobilisent les peuples autochtones. Elle fournit aussi, dans le cadre de son mandat, de l’orientation et de l’information sur des données scientifiques, techniques et réglementaires objectives à l’appui de cette mobilisation.

Au cours du cycle de vie entier d’un projet nucléaire qu’elle réglemente, la CCSN encourage le dialogue constant avec les peuples autochtones du Canada, et elle communique avec eux de différentes manières : à l’aide de son Programme de financement des participants, pendant des réunions avec des représentants et des chefs des communautés et au moyen de la participation aux examens des demandes de permis et aux séances de la Commission. Ces méthodes sont encouragées, puisque la CCSN veut que les opinions et les valeurs des peuples autochtones soient reflétées dans le processus d’autorisation et les rapports de surveillance réglementaire.

Apprenez-en plus

Dernière mise à jour :