Fukushima: Lessons Learned to Improve Emergency Preparedness

What has Fukushima taught us?

The most important lesson Fukushima has taught us is to expect the unexpected, and to be prepared to respond to it. Although tsunamis and large earthquakes are unlikely to occur in Ontario or New Brunswick – where Canada’s operating nuclear plants are located – the CNSC has taken concrete steps to ensure that it is ready to respond to extreme accident scenarios.

Key improvements

After the accident, the CNSC assembled a task force of experts in various fields (including nuclear engineering, radiation protection and emergency preparedness) which concluded that Canada’s major nuclear facilities are safe, and that our regulatory oversight is comprehensive.

After carefully considering the most important lessons learned from Fukushima, the CNSC implemented a robust four-year action plan to ensure it is prepared for an extreme event. Improvements include:

  • asking operators to review the severe accident management guidelines (SAMG), which are a set of plans and procedures invoked in case of severe accidents
  • ensuring emergency response facilities are equipped with additional portable backup power and telecommunications equipment
  • asking nuclear power plant operators to acquire portable equipment to ensure that reactors can be cooled and fuel pools replenished, regardless of circumstance; this equipment is to be stored onsite and offsite

Radiation levels: improving access to real-time data in case of emergency


Fire trucks at the Bruce A & B nuclear generating stations

The CNSC’s action plan required nuclear power plant operators to add additional radiation monitoring stations around their facilities in order to provide real-time data on radiation levels. Health Canada has also fixed monitoring stations across the country, including nearby nuclear power plants. These stations can also provide real-time data.

Plant operators are required to enhance their existing modelling capabilities to be able to predict the dispersion of radioactive releases. This upgrade effectively considers very severe accident scenarios involving multiple units.

In case of a nuclear emergency, the federal government would deploy additional equipment to monitor radiation. Provincial authorities would also be involved in monitoring radiation levels (for example, in agricultural products and water).

Measuring improvement

Several emergency exercises – involving severe accident scenarios previously not considered credible – have been conducted by plant operators. The exercises have allowed operators to validate their revised SAMG and to test newly acquired emergency mitigation equipment (such as power generators, pipes, pumps and fire trucks), which can be deployed effectively and quickly.

Large exercises in Ontario and New Brunswick have been conducted to verify that the different levels of government understand their role during a nuclear emergency. The CNSC has also been testing its emergency response capability, as part of these exercises. The CNSC has developed additional tools, like its crisis website, ready to be launched in the event of a major radiological accident.

Since the incident, large-scale nuclear emergency exercises have been conducted regularly in Canada by nuclear power plant operators and agencies across all levels of government.

Updating emergency management regulations and standards

The CNSC has taken a comprehensive look at its regulatory framework and made several modifications which include:

  • updating requirements for onsite emergency response
  • requiring nuclear power plant operators to support offsite emergency planning (e.g. for KI pre-distribution)
  • increasing collaboration between the CNSC and other organizations (e.g., Canadian Standards Association) to establish world-class standards for onsite and offsite nuclear emergency management and preparedness

WATCH – Presentation by CSA representatives on the integration of Fukushima lessons learned to Canada's nuclear standards.

Date modified:

Fukushima : Leçons retenues pour améliorer l’état de préparation aux situations d’urgence

Qu’avons-nous appris de Fukushima?

La principale leçon retenue de cet accident est qu’il faut s’attendre à l’inattendu et être prêt à intervenir en conséquence. S’il est peu probable qu’il y ait des tsunamis et de grands tremblements de terre en Ontario ou au Nouveau-Brunswick – là où se trouvent les centrales nucléaires en exploitation au Canada – la CCSN a pris des mesures concrètes pour s’assurer qu’elle est prête à intervenir en cas d’accidents extrêmes.

Principales améliorations

À la suite de l’accident, la CCSN a mis sur pied un groupe de travail composé d’experts de différents domaines (notamment le génie nucléaire, la radioprotection et la préparation aux urgences), qui a conclu que les principales installations nucléaires du Canada sont sécuritaires et que notre surveillance réglementaire est rigoureuse.

Après avoir examiné attentivement les plus importantes leçons retenues de Fukushima, la CCSN a mis en œuvre un plan d’action quadriennal solide pour s’assurer d’être prête à intervenir en cas d’événement extrême. Voici quelques-unes des améliorations :

  • demander aux exploitants d’examiner les Lignes directrices pour la gestion des accidents graves (LDGAG), un ensemble de plans et de procédures à suivre en cas d’accident grave
  • veiller à ce que les installations d’intervention d’urgence soient dotées d’équipement portatif de télécommunications et d’alimentation de secours supplémentaire
  • demander aux exploitants des centrales nucléaires de faire l’acquisition d’équipement portatif pour que les réacteurs puissent être refroidis et les piscines de stockage de combustible remplies, peu importe la situation. Cet équipement doit être entreposé sur le site et hors site

Niveaux de rayonnement : améliorer l’accessibilité aux données en temps réel en cas d’urgence


Camions d’incendie aux centrales nucléaires de Bruce-A et de Bruce-B

Dans son plan d’action, la CCSN a exigé que les exploitants de centrales nucléaires ajoutent des stations de surveillance autour de leurs installations afin de pouvoir lui fournir des données en temps réel sur les niveaux de rayonnement. Santé Canada dispose aussi de stations de surveillance partout au pays, notamment à proximité des centrales nucléaires. Ces stations peuvent également fournir des données en temps réel.

Les exploitants de centrales doivent améliorer leur capacité actuelle de modélisation pour être en mesure de prévoir la dispersion des rejets de matières radioactives. Cette amélioration peut servir dans des scénarios d’accidents très graves qui touchent plusieurs tranches d’une centrale.

En cas d’accident nucléaire, le gouvernement fédéral déploierait de l’équipement supplémentaire pour surveiller les niveaux de rayonnement. Les autorités provinciales participeraient également à la surveillance des niveaux de rayonnement dans les produits agricoles et dans l’eau, par exemple.

Évaluer les améliorations

Des exploitants de centrales ont mené plusieurs exercices d’urgence simulant des accidents graves qui, auparavant, n’avaient pas été jugés crédibles. Ces exercices leur ont permis de valider leurs LDGAG révisées et de mettre à l’épreuve l’équipement d’atténuation en cas d’urgence acquis récemment (comme des génératrices, des canalisations, des pompes et des camions d’incendie), qui peuvent être déployés rapidement et de manière efficace.

D’importants exercices en Ontario et au Nouveau-Brunswick ont été réalisés pour vérifier si les différents ordres du gouvernement comprennent leur rôle dans une situation d’urgence nucléaire. Dans le cadre de ces exercices, la CCSN a également mis à l’essai sa capacité d’intervention en cas d’urgence. Elle a en outre créé de nouveaux outils, par exemple son site Web de crise, qui est prêt à être activé en cas d’accident radiologique grave.

Depuis Fukushima, les exploitants de centrales nucléaires et les organismes dans tous les ordres du gouvernement ont régulièrement mené des exercices d’urgence nucléaire à grande échelle au Canada.

Actualisation de la réglementation et des normes qui s’appliquent à la gestion des urgences

La CCSN a effectué une analyse complète de son cadre de réglementation et y a apporté plusieurs modifications, notamment les suivantes :

  • mettre à jour les exigences pour les interventions d’urgence sur le site
  • exiger que les exploitants de centrales nucléaires appuient la planification d’urgence hors site (p. ex. pour la distribution préalable de comprimés d’iodure de potassium)
  • accroître la collaboration entre la CCSN et d’autres organisations, p. ex. l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA), en vue d’établir des normes de calibre mondial relatives à la gestion des urgences nucléaires sur le site et hors site et l’état de préparation à ces situations d’urgence

VIDÉO – Exposé par des représentants de la CSA sur l’intégration des leçons tirées de Fukushima aux normes nucléaires canadiennes

Dernière mise à jour :