Aboriginal consultation

As an agent of the Government of Canada and as Canada’s nuclear regulator, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) recognizes and understands the importance of consulting and building relationships with Canada’s Aboriginal peoples.

The CNSC ensures that all its licensing decisions under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NCSA) and Environmental Assessment decisions under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 uphold the honour of the Crown and consider Aboriginal peoples’ potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights pursuant to section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 (together, theAboriginal interests”).

The CNSC recognizes that Aboriginal peoples have concerns with regard to the nuclear sector and that it is important to seek opportunities to work together in ensuring the safe and effective regulation of nuclear energy and materials. The CNSC will continue to communicate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information about its activities and the effects of the nuclear industry in Canada as per the objectives of the NCSA.

Aboriginal Consultation

Duty to consult

The duty to consult is founded on the honor of the Crown, which requires that the Crown (or an agent of the Crown) consult with and, if required, accommodate the interests of the Aboriginal peoples when the Crown is aware of real or asserted existence of an Aboriginal or treaty right and contemplates a decision that might adversely affect the exercise of that right. The scope of consultation is proportionate to the asserted Aboriginal or treaty right and the impact of the potentially adverse effect upon it. The CNSC sees itself as one of many organizations that, collectively, have an obligation to ensure that the legal Duty to Consult is met, and the CNSC has articulated its approach in its Codification of Current Practice: CNSC Commitment to Aboriginal Consultation.

Coordinated approaches

Insofar as its quasi-judicial functions allow, the CNSC supports a whole-of-government approach to Aboriginal consultation. The CNSC will coordinate consultative efforts, where feasible, with other federal, provincial, and/or territorial regulatory departments and agencies through a one-window approach with respect to environmental assessment and licensing activities.

The CNSC recognizes the value of community knowledge and Aboriginal traditional knowledge. The CNSC encourages Aboriginal peoples to outline the nature and the scope of their Aboriginal interests that they feel may be affected by a proposed project or activity regulated by CNSC and to bring forward outstanding issues and concerns through out the regulatory process.

In many cases, consultations carried out under an environmental assessment (EA) process may fulfill the duty to consult Aboriginal groups. However, the Crown may also carry out separate consultations and implement mitigation and/or accommodation measures in addition to those done under the EA process.

Consultation requirements for EAs

Consulting Canadians on matters of interest and concern to them is an important part of good governance, sound policy development and decision-making. In accordance with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012) and its regulations, EAs provide opportunities for public participation in activities undertaken by potential licensees and/or the CNSC, including Aboriginal consultations.

If you or your community would like to learn more about the EA process, contact the CNSC.

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

For more information

Need more information?

If you need more information about Aboriginal consultations, contact the CNSC.

Consultation des Autochtones

À titre d’agent du gouvernement du Canada et d’organisme de réglementation nucléaire canadien, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) reconnaît et comprend l’importance de consulter les peuples autochtones du Canada et d’établir des liens avec eux.

La CCSN veille à ce que toutes ses décisions d’autorisation en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et toutes ses décisions en matière d’évaluation environnementale (EE) en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (2012) préservent l’honneur de la Couronne. Ses décisions doivent également tenir compte des droits ancestraux ou des droits issus de traités potentiels ou établis des peuples autochtones en vertu de l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 (communément appelés « intérêts des Autochtones »).

La CCSN reconnaît que le secteur nucléaire est une source de préoccupations pour les peuples autochtones et qu’il est important de  chercher des occasions de collaborer afin d’assurer la réglementation sûre et efficace de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires. La CCSN continuera à diffuser de l’information scientifique, technique et réglementaire objective sur ses activités et sur les effets du secteur nucléaire au Canada, conformément aux objectifs de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

Consultation des Autochtones

Obligation de consulter

L’obligation de consulter se fonde sur l’honneur de la Couronne, aux termes duquel la Couronne (ou un agent de celle-ci) doit consulter les peuples autochtones et, le cas échéant, tenir compte de leurs intérêts lorsqu’elle est consciente de l’existence d’un droit autochtone ou issu d’un traité, reconnu ou revendiqué, et qu’elle envisage de prendre une décision qui pourrait porter atteinte à l’exercice de ce droit. La CCSN se considère comme l’un des nombreux organismes qui doivent veiller à ce que l’obligation de consulter soit respectée. La CCSN a fait état de son approche dans son document « Codification des pratiques actuelles : Engagement de la CCSN à l’égard des consultations auprès des Autochtones ».

Approches concertées

Dans la mesure où ses fonctions quasi judiciaires le permettent, la CCSN appuie une approche pangouvernementale de consultation des Autochtones. La CCSN coordonnera les efforts consultatifs, le cas échéant, avec les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux chargés de la réglementation au moyen d’une approche unique, en ce qui a trait aux activités d’EE et de délivrance de permis.

La CCSN reconnaît la valeur des connaissances locales et des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones. La CCSN encourage les peuples autochtones à décrire la nature et la portée de leurs intérêts qui pourraient, selon eux, être touchés par une proposition de projet ou d’activité réglementée par la CCSN. D’ailleurs, celle-ci les invite à lui présenter toute préoccupation ou question en suspens tout au long du processus de réglementation.

Dans bien des cas, les consultations menées en vertu d’un processus d’évaluation environnementale satisfont à l’obligation de consulter les groupes autochtones. Cependant, la Couronne peut aussi tenir des consultations distinctes et mettre en œuvre des mesures d’atténuation ou d’accommodement en plus des mesures adoptées dans le cadre du processus d’EE.

Exigences de consultation pour les évaluations environnementales 

Consulter les Canadiens sur les questions qui les intéressent et les préoccupent est un élément important d’une bonne gouvernance, de politiques rationnelles et d’un processus décisionnel adéquat. Conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (LCEE 2012) et à ses règlements, les évaluations environnementales donnent au public l’occasion de participer à des activités entreprises par les éventuels titulaires de permis et la CCSN, y compris des consultations avec les autochtones.

Si vous ou votre collectivité désirez en savoir plus sur le processus d’EE, communiquez avec la CCSN.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet des consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Pour en savoir plus

Avez-vous besoin d’autres renseignements?

Pour en savoir plus sur la consultation des Autochtones, veuillez communiquer avec la CCSN.