Point Lepreau Generating Station

Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station licensing period April 4, 2017 The CNSC determines authorization from Fisheries and Oceans Canada required August 31, 2017 The CNSC distributes notification letter to interested Indigenous groups March 15, 2018 Periodic safety review basis document submitted to the CNSC May 28, 2018 CNSC staff complete review of Fisheries Act Authorization application September 30, 2018 CNSC acceptance of PLNGS periodic safety review basis document September 30, 2019 CNSC review of PLNGS periodic safety review – safety factor reports December 31, 2020 CNSC review of global assessment report and integrated implementation plan June 30, 2021 CNSC acceptance of the integrated implementation planPLNGS environmental risk assessment completePLNGS submits licence renewal application July 2021 Licence application review by the CNSC August 2021 Notice of public hearing and participant funding program To be confirmed NB Power hosts an open house November 2021 Deadline to apply for the participant funding program To be confirmed The CNSC hosts an open house (Saint John, NB) To be confirmed Point Lepreau licence renewal hearing, part 1 (Ottawa, ON) To be confirmed Deadline for public intervention To be confirmed Point Lepreau licence renewal hearing, part 2 (Saint John, NB) To be confirmed Decision announcement

Point Lepreau Generating Station

Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station (PLNGS) currently holds a five-year operating licence, which expires at the end of June 2022.

New Brunswick Power Corporation (NB Power) owns and operates PLNGS, which is located on the shores of the Bay of Fundy, approximately 40 km west of Saint John, New Brunswick. NB Power also operates a nuclear waste management facility at the station. The CNSC site office at PLNGS has permanent CNSC staff who perform inspections to evaluate operations and to verify compliance with regulatory requirements and licence conditions.

View of the Point Lepreau Generating Station

Plant Information

Location: Point Lepreau, New Brunswick
Operator: NB Power
Reactor type: CANDU (CANada Deuterium Uranium)
Vendor: Atomic Energy of Canada Limited
Number of units: 1 reactor
Installed capacity: 705 MWe
Status: Operating
Licence issued: July 1, 2017
Licence expires:June 30, 2022
Start of commercial operation: February 1, 1983
Return to service following refurbishment: November 23, 2012
Reactor building containment: Low-pressure containment, pre-stressed concrete vessel
Licensing documentation: Request a copy of the Point Lepreau licence and licence condition handbook by email

Public Commission hearings and the Participant Funding Program

The CNSC held a two-part public hearing to consider an application from NB Power to renew its nuclear power reactor operating licence for the PLNGS. NB Power was granted a new licence on July 1, 2017.

The CNSC invited members of the public, Indigenous groups and other stakeholders who expressed interest or concerns related to the operation of PLNGS to intervene on NB Power’s licence application. The CNSC also offered funding through its Participant Funding Program to assist in reviewing NB Power’s application and associated documents and providing topic-specific interventions or expert opinion to the Commission.

Emergency preparedness

The CNSC requires nuclear power plants to conduct a full-scale emergency exercise every three years to test emergency response plans, decision-making functions, response capabilities and interoperability. The goal is to test the licensee, response agencies, and municipal, provincial and federal government responders’ ability to mitigate the impact of a nuclear accident.

If you live within approximately 20 km of the Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station, you will have received information about what to do in the unlikely event of a nuclear accident from NB Power. For more information, visit NB Power’s Nuclear Preparedness Guide.

When you receive this information, read it carefully and store it in an easily accessible place. You can also attend public information sessions held by local authorities and NB Power. For more information on nuclear emergency preparedness, consult the Province of New Brunswick’s Point Lepreau Nuclear Off-Site Emergency Plan.

For more information on CNSC requirements, consult REGDOC-2.10.1, Nuclear Emergency Preparedness and Response.

As with any emergency, you can prepare your family by:

Periodic safety review

A periodic safety review (PSR) is a comprehensive review of plant design and processes. Considered an international best practice, the CNSC adopted it in 2015. The purpose of a PSR is to compare current design with modern codes and standards in order to identify reasonable and practical plant or program modifications for enhancing safety and enabling safe, long-term operation. As part of the licensing conditions set out by the CNSC, licensees for all Canadian nuclear power plants are required to conduct PSRs every 10 years at each facility.

The licensees conduct PSRs in addition to reviews of the overall safety performance of their facilities, a practice that incorporates reviews of several safety factors.

CNSC regulatory document REGDOC-2.3.3, Periodic Safety Reviews, requires the PSR to be conducted in four phases. PLNGS is currently undergoing a PSR. NB Power submitted a PSR basis document on March 15, 2018 for PLNGS, which is currently undergoing CNSC staff reviews and comments. (phase 1).

CNSC staff thoroughly review all phases of the PSR submissions before proceeding to the subsequent phase; the PSR phases are as follows:

  • Phase 1: review and acceptance of the PSR basis document, an agreement between NB Power and the CNSC on how the PSR will be conducted
  • Phase 2: conduct of the safety factors reviews and identification of findings
  • Phase 3: analysis of the findings and their global impact on the PLNGS safe long term operation (global assessment report or GAR)
  • Phase 4: preparation of the safety improvements plan (integrated implementation plan)

To request the following CNSC acceptance letters pertaining to PSR, please contact cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca.

Date Milestone
2018-09-30 CNSC Acceptance of PLNGS periodic safety review basis document
2019-06-30 CNSC review of PLNGS periodic safety review – safety factor reports
2020-12-31 CNSC review of global assessment report and integrated implementation plan
2021-06-30 CNSC Acceptance of the integrated implementation plan

Environmental risk assessment

An environmental risk assessment (ERA) is a systematic process used to identify, quantify and characterize the risk posed by contaminants and physical stressors in the environment to biological receptors, including humans.

The ERA for PLNGS assesses the potential risks for the current whole-site operation and additional facilities, to determine the potential risks to the environment and human health from current operations.

This ERA is underway and will be submitted to the CNSC for review upon completion, along with the application for the renewal of the power reactor operating licence.

To view the following CNSC review letters pertaining to the ERA, please contact cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca.

Date Milestone
2020-06-30 Application for the renewal of the power reactor operating licence
2020-06-30 NB Power: PLNGS environmental risk assessment

Fisheries Act authorization

In accordance with the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, CNSC staff continuously review impacts to the environment, including impacts to fish and fish habitat. The CNSC ensures that its reviews take into consideration the requirements of the revised Fisheries Act, per a memorandum of understanding with Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Based on NB Power’s 2013–15 fish monitoring results, CNSC staff submitted its review to Fisheries and Oceans Canada on the effects due to impingement and entrainment at the PLNGS facility. Fisheries and Oceans Canada then determined that PLNGS requires an authorization under section 35 of the Fisheries Act, in which NB Power is to assess and implement measures to mitigate the death of fish due to impingement and entrainment at the station’s cooling-water intake .

PLNGS Fisheries Act authorization timeline

Completion date Milestone (completed or anticipated Lead
2017-04-04 CNSC determined operations requires authorization from Fisheries and Oceans Canada CNSC
2017-07-05 Fisheries and Oceans Canada notified NB Power of the requirement for authorization in order to comply with the Fisheries Act Fisheries and Oceans Canada
2017-08-31 CNSC distributed notification letter to interested Indigenous groups. The letter pertains to the application for authorization from Fisheries and Oceans Canada and includes information on the review process CNSC
2017-08-27 NB Power submitted its proposed draft application for authorization to Fisheries and Oceans Canada NB Power
2018-04-26 CNSC staff completed their concordance review of proposed application and provided their comments to NB Power CNSC
2018-12-31 NB Power to submit application to Fisheries and Oceans Canada following confirmation from the CNSC that the application is complete NB Power

Latest CNSC Plant-Specific Communications

Latest Licensee Public Disclosures

As part of CNSC's regulatory requirements, major licensees must have robust public information and disclosure programs in place. These programs, for nuclear power plants, include a disclosure protocol developed in consultation with community stakeholders. You may visit NB Power's Web site for a full list of disclosures.

Regulatory Reporting

CNSC inspector on the job at NB Power's Point Lepreau Generating Station

Key Topics

Date modified:

Centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau

Période d’autorisation de la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau 4 avril 2017 La CCSN détermine que des activités doivent être autorisées par Pêches et Océans Canada 31 août 2017 La CCSN remet une lettre d’avis aux groupes autochtones intéressés 15 mars 2018 La CCSN reçoit le document de fondement du bilan périodique de la sûreté 28 mai 2018 Le personnel de la CCSN termine l’examen de la demande proposée à Pêches et Océans Canada 30 septembre 2018 La CCSN accepte le document de fondement du bilan périodique de la sûreté de la centrale de Point Lepreau 30 septembre 2019 La CCSN examine les rapports sur les facteurs de sûreté du bilan périodique de la sûreté de Point Lepreau 31 décembre 2020 La CCSN examine le rapport d’évaluation globale et le plan intégré de mise en œuvre 30 juin 2021 La CCSN accepte le plan intégré de mise en œuvreL’évaluation des risques environnementaux de Point Lepreau est terminéePoint Lepreau soumet une demande de renouvellement de son permis La demande de renouvellement de permis est examinée par la CCSN Juillet 2021 Août 2021 Un avis d’audience publique et de financement des participants est diffusé À confirmer Énergie NB tient une journée portes ouvertes Novembre 2021 Date limite pour soumettre une demande de financement des participants À confirmer La CCSN tient une journée portes ouvertes (Saint John, N.-B.) À confirmer Audience sur le renouvellement du permis de Point Lepreau, Partie 1 (Ottawa, Ont.) À confirmer Date limite pour les interventions du public À confirmer Audience sur le renouvellement du permis de Point Lepreau, Partie 2 (Saint John, N.-B.) À confirmer Annonce de la décision

Centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau

La centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau détient actuellement un permis d’exploitation de cinq ans qui expire à la fin de juin 2022.

La Société d’Énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick (Énergie NB) est propriétaire et exploitante autorisée de la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau, située à environ 40 km à l’ouest de Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick), sur les rives de la baie de Fundy. Énergie NB exploite également une installation de gestion des déchets nucléaires au même endroit. Du personnel de la CCSN travaille à temps plein sur place afin de réaliser des inspections, d’évaluer les opérations et de vérifier la conformité aux exigences réglementaires et aux conditions de permis.

Photographie de la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau

Information sur la centrale

Lieu : Point Lepreau (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Exploitant : Énergie NB
Type de réacteur : CANDU-6 PHW (pressurized heavy water)
Fournisseur : Énergie atomique du Canada Limitée
Nombre de tranches : 1
Capacité installée : 705 MW
État : En exploitation
Date de délivrance du permis : 1er juillet 2017
Date d'échéance du permis : 30 juin 2022
Début de l'exploitation commerciale : 1er février 1983
Remise en service après la réfection : 23 novembre 2012
Confinement du bâtiment du réacteur : Confinement à basse pression, cuve en béton précontraint
Documents de permis : Obtenir une copie du permis et du manuel des conditions de permis de Point Lepreau par courriel

Audiences publiques de la Commission et Programme de financement des participants

La CCSN a tenu une audience publique en deux parties afin d’examiner une demande d’Énergie NB en vue de renouveler son permis d’exploitation de la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau. NB Power was granted a new licence on July 1, 2017.

La CCSN a invité les membres du public, les groupes autochtones et d’autres parties intéressées ayant exprimé un intérêt ou des préoccupations concernant l’exploitation de la centrale de Point Lepreau à présenter une intervention au sujet de la demande de permis d’Énergie NB. Dans le cadre de son Programme de financement des participants, la CCSN a également offert du financement pour aider les personnes susmentionnées à participer à l’examen de la demande d’Énergie NB et des documents connexes ainsi qu’à présenter à la Commission des interventions ou des opinions d’expert sur le sujet examiné.

Mettre l’accent sur la préparation aux urgences

La CCSN oblige les centrales nucléaires à effectuer un exercice d’urgence à grande échelle tous les trois ans afin de vérifier les plans d’intervention d'urgence, les fonctions décisionnelles, les capacités d’intervention et l’interopérabilité entre les organisations. L’objectif est de mettre à l’épreuve la capacité du titulaire de permis, des organismes d’intervention, ainsi que des intervenants des municipalités, des provinces et du gouvernement fédéral d’atténuer l’impact d’un accident nucléaire.

Si vous vivez à environ 20 km de la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau, vous aurez reçu de l’information d’Énergie NB sur ce qu’il faut faire dans le cas peu probable d’un accident nucléaire. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le Guide de préparation d’Énergie NB.

Lisez cette information attentivement et rangez-la dans un endroit facile d’accès. Vous pouvez également participer à des séances d’information publique tenues par des autorités locales et Énergie NB. Pour en savoir plus sur la préparation en cas d’urgence nucléaire, consultez le Plan d’urgence nucléaire hors site pour Point Lepreau.

Pour en savoir plus sur les exigences de la CCSN, consultez le REGDOC-2.10.1, Préparation et intervention relatives aux urgences nucléaires.

Comme pour n’importe quelle urgence, vous pouvez aider votre famille en :

Bilan périodique de la sûreté

Un bilan périodique de la sûreté (BPS) est une évaluation exhaustive des processus et de la conception d’une centrale nucléaire. Considéré comme une pratique exemplaire internationale, le BPS a été adopté par la CCSN en 2015. Le BPS a pour but de comparer la conception actuelle avec les codes et les normes modernes afin de cerner les modifications raisonnables et pratiques à apporter à une centrale ou à un programme pour renforcer la sûreté et assurer une exploitation sûre à long terme. Selon les conditions établies par la CCSN, les titulaires de permis de centrales nucléaires au Canada sont tenus de mener un BPS tous les 10 ans à chacune de leurs installations.

Les titulaires de permis mènent des BPS en plus d’examens du rendement global de leurs installations en matière de sûreté, une pratique qui comprend l’examen de plusieurs facteurs de sûreté.

Conformément au document d’application de la réglementation de la CCSN REGDOC-2.3.3, Bilans périodiques de la sûreté, un BPS doit être réalisé en quatre phases. La centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau fait actuellement l’objet d’un tel bilan. Énergie NB a soumis un document de fondement du BPS le 15 mars 2018 pour la centrale, qui fait actuellement l’objet d’examens et de commentaires de la part du personnel de la CCSN (phase 1).

Le personnel de la CCSN procède à un examen rigoureux de chaque phase d’un BPS avant de passer à la phase suivante. Voici les phases d’un BPS :

  • Phase 1 : examen et approbation du document de fondement du BPS, soit une entente entre Énergie NB et la CCSN quant à la façon dont le BPS sera réalisé
  • Phase 2 : réalisation des examens des facteurs de sûreté et détermination des résultats
  • Phase 3 : analyse des résultats et de leur incidence globale sur l’exploitation sûre à long terme de la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau (rapport d’évaluation globale)
  • Phase 4 : préparation du plan d’améliorations de la sûreté (plan intégré de mise en œuvre)

Pour obtenir une copie des lettres d’approbation de la CCSN suivantes concernant le BPS, envoyez un courriel à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca.

Date Jalon
30/09/2018 Approbation, par la CCSN, du document de fondement du BPS pour la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau
30/06/2019 Examen, par la CCSN, du bilan périodique de sûreté pour la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau – rapports des facteurs de sûreté
31/12/2020 Examen, par la CCSN, du rapport d’évaluation globale et du plan intégré de mise en œuvre
30/06/2021 Approbation, par la CCSN, du plan intégré de mise en œuvre

Évaluation des risques environnementaux

Une évaluation des risques environnementaux (ERE) est un processus systématique utilisé pour déterminer, quantifier et caractériser le risque que représentent les contaminants et les facteurs de stress physiques dans l’environnement sur les récepteurs biologiques, y compris, y compris l’humain.

L’ERE pour la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau permet d’évaluer les risques potentiels que l’exploitation actuelle de l’ensemble du site et des installations supplémentaires pose pour l’environnement et la santé humaine.

Cette ERE est en cours; le rapport d’ERE, une fois terminé, ainsi que la demande de renouvellement de permis d’exploitation, seront présentés à la CCSN aux fins d’examen.

Pour obtenir une copie des lettres d’approbation de la CCSN suivantes concernant l’ERE, envoyez un courriel à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca.

Date Jalon
30/06/2020 Demande de renouvellement de permis d’exploitation d’un réacteur nucléaire 
30/06/2020 Énergie NB : évaluation des risques environnementaux pour la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau

Autorisation en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Conformément à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, le personnel de la CCSN vérifie continuellement les incidences sur l’environnement, y compris sur les poissons et leur habitat. La CCSN veille à ce que ses évaluations tiennent compte des exigences énoncées dans la Loi sur les pêches, et ce, en vertu d’un protocole d’entente avec le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada. Selon les résultats de surveillance des poissons présentés par Énergie NB de 2013 à 2015, le personnel de la CCSN a présenté à Pêches et Océans Canada son évaluation des effets de l’entraînement et de l’impaction du poisson à la centrale de Point Lepreau. Pêches et Océans Canada a ensuite déterminé, en vertu de l’article 35 de la Loi sur les pêches, que la centrale a besoin d’une autorisation dans le cadre de laquelle Énergie NB doit évaluer et mettre en œuvre des mesures pour empêcher la mort de poissons causée par l’entraînement et l’impaction aux prises d’eau de refroidissement de la centrale.

Date Jalon (achevé ou à venir) Responsable
04/04/2017 La CCSN détermine que les activités d’exploitation nécessitent l’autorisation de Pêches et Océans Canada CCSN
05/07/2017 Pêches et Océans Canada avise Énergie NB de l’autorisation requise aux fins de conformité avec la Loi sur les pêches Pêches et Océans Canada
31/08/2017 La CCSN envoie aux groupes autochtones intéressés une lettre d’avis concernant la demande d’autorisation de Pêches et Océans Canada et qui comprend de l’information sur le processus d’examen CCSN
27/03/2018 Énergie NB envoie à Pêches et Océans Canada sa demande d’autorisation provisoire Énergie NB
26/04/2018 Le personnel de la CCSN vérifie si la demande répond aux exigences et fournit des commentaires à Énergie NB CCSN
12/31/2018 Énergie NB doit envoyer la demande à Pêches et Océans Canada après que la CCSN confirme qu’elle est complète Énergie NB

Dernières annonces de la CCSN concernant la centrale

Dernières divulgations publiques du titulaire de permis

Conformément aux exigences réglementaires de la CCSN, les principaux titulaires de permis doivent avoir mis en place de solides programmes d'information et de divulgation publiques qui incluent, pour les centrales nucléaires, un protocole de divulgation élaboré en consultation avec les parties intéressées des collectivités. Visitez le site Web d'Énergie NB pour obtenir une liste complète des divulgations.

Rapports et documents réglementaires

Inspecteur de la CCSN au travail à la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau d'Énergie NB

Sujets d'intérêt

Dernière mise à jour :