Convention on Nuclear Safety - National Reports

Updated August 16, 2016

The Convention on Nuclear Safety (the Convention) commits signatory states that operate nuclear power plants to maintain a high level of safety.

Canada was one of the first signatories - known as Contracting Parties - of the Convention, and has been one of the staunchest promoters and supporters of its objectives.

Convention on Nuclear Safety

The Convention on Nuclear Safety (the Convention) was adopted in Vienna in June 1994.

The document was put together through a series of expert-level meetings and work by governments, national nuclear safety authorities and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Fifth Review Meeting of the Convention of Nuclear Safety in Vienna, Austria

Its provisions cover several areas, including siting, design, construction, operation, the availability of adequate financial and human resources, the assessment and verification of safety, quality assurance, and emergency preparedness.

The Convention is not designed for controls and sanctions, but is based on the participating states' common interest to achieve higher levels of safety, as developed and promoted through regular meetings, called review meetings.

The Convention asks each participating state to submit national reports on the implementation of its obligations for peer review, during these review meetings held in Vienna every three years.
The reports presented at the triennial regular meetings and at extraordinary (special) meetings demonstrate our country's firm commitment to nuclear safety through the Convention's three main objectives:

  • to achieve and maintain a high level of nuclear safety through enhancing national measures and technical cooperation
  • to establish and maintain effective defences against radiological hazards in nuclear installations, in order to protect people and the environment
  • to prevent nuclear accidents and limit their consequences

These convention reports describe the systematic monitoring of safety-related programs and their implementation in Canada.

Top of page

Canada’s national reports to review meetings of the Convention on Nuclear Safety

Canada's national reports are published together with responses to questions from their peer reviews no later than six months before the review meetings. The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC), which regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment, submits the reports on behalf of Canada.

The seventh report demonstrates how Canada continues to meet the obligations of the Convention.  It is now available on the IAEA website.

Seventh Report

The Seventh Review Meeting for the Convention on Nuclear Safety will be held in March 2017 in Vienna.

Canada’s seventh report outlines the various measures that are in place to assure the safe operation of nuclear power plants in Canada and the protection of the health and safety of people and the environment. These include a robust nuclear regulatory framework, a mature and effective regulator, and licensee organizations that are fully committed to nuclear safety. The report also emphasizes Canada’s commitment to openness and transparency, research and development, peer review, and continual improvement.

Ramzi Jammal, CNSC Executive Vice-President and Chief Regulatory Operations Officer, has been elected as President of the Seventh Review Meeting of the Convention on Nuclear Safety. As President, Mr. Jammal will preside over discussions among participating countries on how to improve nuclear safety worldwide through a constructive exchange of views. For more information on Ramzi Jammal’s presidency, read the feature article.

Highlights from the report

Nuclear power plant (NPP) safety history

  • NPP licensees fulfilled the basic responsibilities for safety as required by the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, regulations, and the NPP operating licences. The licensees addressed any safety issues that arose to keep risks at reasonable levels – and continued to give safety high priority at every level of their organizations.

Fukushima action plan

  • The Fukushima action items (FAIs), as specified in the CNSC Integrated Action Plan on the Lessons Learned From the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Accident, were completed by NPP licensees by December 31, 2015. The FAIs address safety improvements aimed at strengthening defence in depth and enhancing onsite emergency response.

Enhancements to the regulatory framework

  • The CNSC continued to enhance the regulatory framework, which included new and amended regulations and new and revised regulatory documents relevant to both existing and new-build NPPs. CSA Group published new and revised standards that are also used to regulate NPPs. The CNSC introduced periodic safety review into the licensing framework.

Sixth Report

The Sixth Review Meeting for the Convention was held from March 24 to April 4, 2014.

Fifth Report

The Fifth Review Meeting for the Convention was held in April 2011.

Fourth Report

The Fourth Review Meeting for the Convention was held in April 2008.

Third Report

The Third Review Meeting for the Convention was held in April 2005.

The First Anniversary Report comprises a status of actions on Canada and was published one year after the Third Review Meeting.

Second Report

The Second Review Meeting of the Convention was held in April 2002.

First Report

Updated July 10, 2012

Dr. Agnes Bishop, President of the Atomic Energy Control Board (the predecessor of the CNSC), shown with a member of the IAEA, signed the Convention on Canada's behalf in 1994. Canada was one of the first signatories of the Convention on Nuclear Safety, which came into force on October 24, 1996.

As a result of Canada's obligation as a signatory of the Convention, the first report was produced by the Atomic Energy Control Board (the CNSC's predecessor) on behalf of Canada. The first review meeting was held in April 1999.

National Reports to Extraordinary Meetings of the Convention

Besides holding review meetings, the Convention provides for the organization of extraordinary meetings at the request of contracting parties to discuss specific matters related to the conduct of the review meetings or to discuss important issues that may arise, such as lessons learned from the nuclear accident in Japan.

Second Extraordinary Meeting

Besides holding review meetings, the Convention provides for the organization of extraordinary meetings at the request of Contracting Parties to discuss specific matters related to the conduct of the review meetings or to discuss important issues that may arise, such as lessons learned from the nuclear accident in Japan.

First Extraordinary Meeting

The First Extraordinary Meeting was held in September 2009, in conjunction with the Fifth Organizational Meeting of the Convention, to discuss and agree on the changes to Guidelines Regarding National Reports.

No national report was produced for this meeting.

Top of page

Contributors to Canada's Convention Reports

As the federal authority legislated to regulate the production of nuclear energy in Canada, the CNSC is responsible for coordinating Canada's participation at the review meetings and for preparing the national report.

However, the national reports represent a collective work, involving the cooperation of various federal departments and provincial emergency management authorities, as well as input from licensees.

The following organizations are among those that contribute to writing and reviewing these documents.

Federal departments and agencies

  • Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
  • Natural Resources Canada
  • Health Canada
  • Public Safety Canada

Provincial emergency management authorities

  • Emergency Management Ontario
  • Organisation de sécurité civile du Québec
  • New Brunswick Emergency Measures Organization

Industry organizations

  • Bruce Power Inc., a private corporation
  • Hydro-Québec, a Crown corporation of the Province of Québec
  • NB Power, a Crown corporation of the Province of New Brunswick
  • Ontario Power Generation Inc., a private company wholly owned by the Province of Ontario
  • Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Ltd. (CNL)
  • CANDU Energy Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of a public corporation

Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire - rapports nationaux

Mise à jour : 16 août 2016

La Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire (la Convention) oblige les États signataires qui exploitent des centrales nucléaires à maintenir un niveau élevé de sûreté.

Le Canada a été l'un des premiers signataires, ou parties contractantes, de la Convention; il compte parmi les plus fidèles promoteurs et partisans de ses objectifs.

Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire

La Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire (la Convention) a été adoptée à Vienne en juin 1994.

Le document est le fruit d'une série de réunions d'experts et de travaux des gouvernements, des autorités nationales responsables de la sûreté nucléaire et de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA).

Lors de la cinquième réunion d'examen pour la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire tenue à Vienne

Cinquième réunion d'examen pour la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire tenue à Vienne (Autriche)

Les dispositions de la Convention portent sur plusieurs sujets, dont le choix de l'emplacement, la conception, la construction, l'exploitation, la disponibilité de ressources humaines et financières suffisantes, l'évaluation et la vérification de la sûreté, l'assurance de la qualité et la préparation aux situations d'urgence.

La Convention n'est pas conçue comme un outil de réglementation et de sanction. Elle mise plutôt sur la volonté commune des États participants d'atteindre des niveaux de sûreté supérieurs, qui sont établis et mis en valeur lors des réunions ordinaires, appelées réunions d'examen.

La Convention invite chaque État participant à présenter des rapports nationaux sur la façon dont il s'acquitte de ses obligations. Ces rapports font l'objet d'un examen par les pairs lors des réunions d'examen triennales à Vienne.

Les rapports qui sont présentés lors des réunions ordinaires triennales et des réunions extraordinaires (spéciales) témoignent de l'engagement ferme du Canada à l'égard des trois principaux objectifs de la Convention :

  • atteindre et maintenir un haut niveau de sûreté nucléaire par l'amélioration des mesures nationales et de la coopération technique
  • établir et maintenir, dans les installations nucléaires, des dispositifs efficaces contre les risques radiologiques en vue de protéger les personnes et l'environnement 
  • prévenir les accidents nucléaires et en atténuer les conséquences

Ces rapports pour la Convention décrivent les activités de surveillance systématique du contenu et de la mise en œuvre des programmes de sûreté au Canada.

Haut de la page

Rapports nationaux du Canada aux réunions d’examen de la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire

Les rapports nationaux du Canada sont publiés avec les réponses aux questions soulevées lors de leur examen par les pairs dans les six mois précédant les réunions d’examen. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), qui réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité et de protéger l'environnement, soumet ces rapports au nom du Canada.

Le septième rapport démontre comment le Canada continue de respecter les obligations qu’impose la Convention. Il est maintenant possible de le consulter à partir du site Web de l’AIEA (en anglais seulement).

Septième rapport

La septième réunion d’examen de la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire se déroulera à Vienne en mars 2017.

Le septième rapport du Canada décrit les diverses mesures mises en place pour veiller à l’exploitation sûre des centrales nucléaires au Canada et à la protection de la santé, de la sécurité et de l’environnement. Ces mesures comprennent un solide cadre de réglementation nucléaire, un organisme de réglementation bien établi et efficace, et des organisations titulaires de permis pleinement engagées dans la sûreté nucléaire. Le rapport souligne également l’engagement du Canada en faveur de l’ouverture et de la transparence, de la recherche et développement, de l’examen par des pairs et de l’amélioration continue.

Ramzi Jammal, premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations de la CCSN, a été élu président de la septième réunion d’examen de la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire. À ce titre, M. Jammal présidera les discussions entre les pays participants, lesquelles porteront sur les façons d’améliorer la sûreté nucléaire à l’échelle mondiale. Pour en savoir plus sur la nomination de Ramzi Jammal, lisez l’article suivant.

Faits saillants du rapport

Antécédents des centrales nucléaires en matière de sûreté

  • Les titulaires de permis de centrale nucléaire se sont acquittés de leurs responsabilités fondamentales en matière de sûreté, conformément à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et à ses règlements, ainsi qu’à leurs permis. Ils ont réglé les problèmes de sûreté soulevés afin de maintenir les risques à un niveau raisonnable, et ont continué d’accorder une priorité élevée à la sûreté à tous les niveaux de leurs organisations.

Plan d’action après Fukushima

  • Les titulaires de permis de centrale nucléaire ont achevé la mise en œuvre des mesures de suivi énoncées dans le Plan d’action intégré de la CCSN sur les leçons tirées de l’accident nucléaire de Fukushima Daiichi avant le 31 décembre 2015. Ces mesures traitent des améliorations en matière de sûreté visant à renforcer la défense en profondeur et à améliorer l’intervention d’urgence sur le site.

Améliorations au cadre de réglementation

  • La CCSN a continué d’améliorer le cadre de réglementation, qui comprend des règlements nouveaux et modifiés ainsi que des documents d’application de la réglementation nouveaux et révisés se rapportant aux centrales nucléaires existantes et nouvelles. Le groupe CSA a publié des normes nouvelles et révisées qui servent également à réglementer les centrales nucléaires. La CCSN a ajouté le bilan périodique de sûreté au cadre d’autorisation.

Sixième rapport

Cinquième rapport

La cinquième réunion d'examen pour la Convention a eu lieu en avril 2011.

Quatrième rapport

La quatrième réunion d'examen pour la Convention a eu lieu en avril 2008.

Troisième rapport

La troisième réunion d'examen pour la Convention a eu lieu en avril 2005.

Le rapport du premier anniversaire explique l'état des mesures à prendre au Canada, et il a été publié un an après la troisième réunion d'examen.

Deuxième rapport

La deuxième réunion d'examen a eu lieu en avril 2002.

Premier rapport

Mme Agnes Bishop, présidente de la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique - entrée en vigueur le 24 octobre 1996
En présence d'un membre de l'AIEA, Mme Agnes Bishop, présidente de la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (prédécesseur de la CCSN) signait la Convention au nom du Canada en 1994. Le Canada a été l'un des premiers signataires de la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire entrée en vigueur le 24 octobre 1996.

En raison des obligations du Canada à titre de signataire de la Convention, la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique (prédécesseur de la CCSN) a produit le premier rapport pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada. La première réunion d'examen a eu lieu en avril 1999.

Rapports extraordinaires pour la Convention

En plus de tenir des réunions d'examen, la Convention organise des réunions extraordinaires à la demande des parties contractantes pour aborder des points particuliers relativement aux réunions ordinaires, ou encore pour discuter de questions ponctuelles importantes, comme les leçons tirées de l'accident nucléaire au Japon.

Deuxième réunion extraordinaire

La deuxième réunion extraordinaire des parties contractantes de la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire aura lieu en août 2012. Cette réunion aura pour but d'accroître la sûreté nucléaire en mettant en commun les leçons retenues et les mesures prises par les autorités nationales et les exploitants de centrales nucléaires en réponse à l'accident survenu à la centrale nucléaire de Fukushima Daiichi (TEPCO).

Première réunion extraordinaire

La première réunion extraordinaire a eu lieu en septembre 2009, en marge de la cinquième réunion organisationnelle de la Convention, pour discuter et s'entendre sur les modifications à apporter aux directives concernant les rapports nationaux.

Aucun rapport national n'avait été préparé pour cette réunion.

Haut de la page

Contributeurs aux rapports du Canada pour la Convention

En tant qu'autorité fédérale responsable de la réglementation du secteur nucléaire au Canada, la CCSN est chargée de coordonner la participation du Canada aux réunions d'examen ainsi que la préparation des rapports nationaux. Cependant, les rapports nationaux sont le fruit d'un travail d'équipe auquel contribuent divers ministères fédéraux et diverses autorités provinciales responsables de la gestion des urgences. Les titulaires de permis d'exploitation de centrales nucléaires jouent également un rôle dans ce processus. Voici des organismes qui participent à la rédaction et à l'examen de ces documents :

Ministères et organismes fédéraux

  • Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
  • Ressources naturelles Canada
  • Santé Canada
  • Sécurité publique Canada

Autorités provinciales responsables de la gestion des urgences

  • Gestion des urgences Ontario
  • Organisation de sécurité civile du Québec
  • Organisation des mesures d'urgence du Nouveau-Brunswick

Organisations de l'industrie

  • Bruce Power Inc., société privée
  • Hydro-Québec, société d'État du gouvernement du Québec
  • Énergie NB, corporation de la Couronne du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Ontario Power Generation Inc., société privée détenue à part entière par le gouvernement de l'Ontario
  • Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens Limitée (LNC)
  • CANDU Énergie inc., filiale en propriété exclusive d'une société d'État