Particle accelerator facilities

A particle accelerator is a machine that propels charged particles, such as electrons or protons, at high speeds, close to the speed of light. When these charged particles collide, radiation is produced. Particle accelerator facilities can be categorized as either Class IB or Class II facilities, depending on their energy potential.

Class IB particle accelerators are used primarily for research purposes; many scientific disciplines benefit from the study of the resulting particle collisions, including particle and nuclear physics, engineering and life sciences. Two Class IB research particle accelerator facilities operate in Canada and are licensed by the CNSC: 

  • TRIUMF
  • Canadian Light Source Inc.

Class II particle accelerators are used for various purposes. Read more about Class II nuclear facilities and prescribed equipment.

The CNSC regulates all stages of the lifecycle of every particle accelerator facility in Canada, from performing the environmental assessment required before construction, to decommissioning the facility once operations have ended. At each stage, the CNSC determines whether the licence applicant is qualified and has taken the measures needed to protect the environment, safeguard human health and ensure that national security is maintained. The CNSC's licensing process for particle accelerator facilities follows the stages set out in the Class I Nuclear Facilities Regulations.

Date modified:

Installations d’accélérateurs de particules

Un accélérateur de particules est une machine qui propulse des particules chargées, comme des électrons ou des protons, à des vitesses se rapprochant de celle de la lumière. Lorsque ces particules chargées entrent en collision, elles produisent du rayonnement. Les installations d’accélérateurs de particules sont considérées comme des installations de catégorie IB ou de catégorie II en fonction de leur potentiel énergétique.

Les accélérateurs de particules de catégorie IB servent principalement à la recherche. Plusieurs disciplines scientifiques mettent à profit l’étude des collisions entre les particules accélérées, comme la physique nucléaire et des particules, l’ingénierie et les sciences de la vie. La CCSN homologue les deux accélérateurs de particules de catégorie IB au Canada qui servent à la recherche :

  • TRIUMF
  • Centre canadien de rayonnement synchrotron

Les accélérateurs de particules de catégorie II sont utilisés dans divers processus. Apprenez-en plus sur les installations nucléaires et l’équipement réglementé de catégorie II.

La CCSN réglemente toutes les étapes du cycle de vie de chaque installation d’accélérateur de particules au Canada, allant de la réalisation de l’évaluation environnementale requise avant la construction, jusqu’au déclassement de l’installation à la fin de son utilisation. À chaque étape, la CCSN détermine si le demandeur de permis est qualifié et a pris les mesures nécessaires pour protéger l’environnement, préserver la santé des personnes et maintenir la sécurité nationale. Le processus d’autorisation de la CCSN pour les installations d’accélérateurs de particules suit les étapes décrites dans le Règlement sur les installations nucléaires de catégorie I.

Dernière mise à jour :