Certification process for transport packages

The basic philosophy that has guided the development of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) regulations on the packaging and transport of nuclear substances (or radioactive material) is that safety relies heavily on the design of the transport package. Package designs are combined with additional regulatory controls, including labelling, placarding, quality assurance and maintenance records, allowing nuclear substances to be carried safely in all modes of transport such as road, rail, air and sea transportation.

All nuclear substances are transported in packages that are selected based on the nature, form and quantity or activity of the nuclear substance. There are general design requirements that apply to all package types to ensure that they can be handled safely and easily, secured properly and are able to withstand routine conditions of transport.

Through the Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations (PTNS Regulations), the CNSC regulates all aspects of the packaging of radioactive material, including the design, production, use, inspection, maintenance and repair of packages. Similar to the IAEA regulations, the PTNS regulations require that certain types of packages be certified by the CNSC prior to being used in Canada.

Packages for transporting low-risk levels of radioactive material

Packages designed for the transport of low-risk levels of radioactive material do not require certification by the CNSC due to their low level of risk. These packages carry quantities that will have little or no impact on the health and safety of Canadians. The responsibility for meeting the regulations rests with the consignor, who must be able to provide written demonstration that the package meets the regulatory performance standards, as defined in the PTNS regulations, before they can be used in Canada.

Substances transported in these types of packages include surface-contaminated objects, portable gauges, radioactive medical isotopes, and empty packages that may contain residual contamination.

Packages for transporting high-risk levels of radioactive material

Packages designed for the transport of high-risk levels of radioactive material require certification by the CNSC before they can be used in Canada. Users of these packages must register with the CNSC and acknowledge that they have the necessary instructions to properly prepare the package for shipment. The types of packages that require certification by the CNSC are: Type H, Type B, and Type C packages, and packages designed to contain fissile material.

These packages are designed to transport nuclear substances such as cobalt-60, sealed sources used for industrial radiography, used nuclear fuel and enriched uranium.

Packages requiring certification have to undergo stringent testing since improper packaging can give rise to severe consequences. Testing must simulate both normal and accident conditions of transport. The tests can include free-drop testing, puncture testing, thermal testing and aircraft accident simulations.

Testing methods in Canada are very similar, if not identical, to methods used by other international regulatory bodies. The following videos offer examples of international testing simulations performed on transport packages:

Application process

For packages requiring approval by the CNSC, an application for the certification of the design of the package must be submitted. The process is identical for all packages requiring approval for use in Canada, including those already approved for use in other countries.

In order to assist applicants in preparing an application for certification, the CNSC has cooperated with the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the United States Department of Transportation to produce RD-364, Joint Canada – United States Guide for Approval of Type B(U) and Fissile Material Transportation Packages (published in the U.S. as NUREG-1886). This application guide can be used for both a new application and revalidation of a U.S. package design in Canada.

An application typically contains information on the structural design, thermal evaluation, shielding evaluation, containment of the nuclear substance in the package, the operation of the package, the maintenance program to be followed and the applicable quality assurance program.

The PTNS regulations do not prescribe specific standards to be followed for the design of packages but do require that compliance be demonstrated through testing on specimens or scale test models, by engineering calculations and reasoned arguments using national or international industry standards or through reference to similar previously certified packages.

Application review

The application is assessed by CNSC transport specialists who must be accredited as professional engineers. They carry out a technical review of the information and applicable test results submitted as part of the application to ensure that the package design meets all the requirements specified in the PTNS regulations. The transport specialists may also request assistance from other CNSC specialists depending on the characteristics of the design. For example, for packages designed to contain fissile material, the application contains an analysis demonstrating that the package remains subcritical following the tests, and the analysis is reviewed by a specialist in that field.

To assist in the review and to confirm that the packages comply with all applicable requirements, the transport specialist uses:

A peer review of the assessment is completed by another transport specialist to ensure that the package fully complies with all applicable requirements.

Upon completion of the peer review, a summary of the assessment of the application and associated recommendations on the certification of the package design is provided to the CNSC designated officer responsible for issuing the certificate.

Where approval is not recommended, an appeal process is available under the PTNS Regulations that the applicant can use to provide additional information and justification demonstrating that the package fully complies with all applicable requirements.

The review of an application for a brand new package may take up to one year, while six months is usually required for changes to the design of a previously approved package design.

See the list of CNSC Certified Transport Packages and Special Form Radioactive Material (PDF).

Processus d'homologation des colis de transport

Les règlements de l'AIEA et de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (ou des matières radioactives) ont été élaborés en fonction du principe de base suivant : la sûreté repose sur la conception des colis de transport. À ce principe viennent s'ajouter des contrôles réglementaires supplémentaires liés à l'étiquetage, à la pose de plaques, l'assurance de la qualité et aux registres d'entretien. Le tout permet d'assurer le transport sûr des substances nucléaires quel que soit le mode de transport choisi, qu'il s'agisse du transport routier, ferroviaire, aérien ou maritime.

Le choix des colis se fait selon la nature, la forme, la quantité et le niveau d'activité des substances nucléaires à transporter. Des exigences générales en matière de conception s'appliquent à tous les types de colis afin qu'ils soient manipulés facilement et de manière sécuritaire, qu'ils soient fixés de manière appropriée et qu'ils puissent résister aux conditions normales de transport.

Le Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (2015) de la CCSN vise tous les aspects de l'emballage des substances nucléaires, y compris la conception, la production, l'utilisation, l'inspection, l'entretien et la réparation des colis. À l'exemple du Règlement de l'AIEA, le Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires exige que certains types de colis soient homologués par la CCSN avant de pouvoir être utilisés au Canada.

Colis pour le transport de quantités de substances nucléaires à faible risque

Les colis conçus pour le transport de quantités de substances nucléaires à faible risque n'ont pas besoin d'être homologués par la CCSN en raison de leur faible niveau de risque. Ces colis contiennent des quantités n'ayant que peu ou pas d'effet sur la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens. La responsabilité de se conformer aux règlements appartient à l'expéditeur, qui doit être en mesure de fournir une preuve écrite que le colis est conforme aux normes de rendement prévues par le Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires avant de pouvoir être utilisé au Canada.

Ces types de colis servent à transporter, par exemple, des objets contaminés superficiellement, des jauges portatives, des radio-isotopes médicaux et des colis vides ayant une contamination interne résiduelle.

Colis conçus pour le transport de quantités de substances nucléaires à risque élevé

Les colis conçus pour le transport de quantités de substances nucléaires à risque élevé doivent faire l'objet d'une homologation par la CCSN avant d'être utilisés au Canada. Les utilisateurs de ces colis doivent s'enregistrer auprès de la CCSN et indiquer qu'ils possèdent les instructions nécessaires pour bien les préparer en vue de l'expédition. Les types de colis qui exigent une homologation préalable sont les suivants : type H, type B, type C, ainsi que les colis conçus pour le transport des matières fissiles.

Ces colis sont conçus pour transporter des substances nucléaires telles que le cobalt-60, les sources scellées utilisées pour la gammagraphie industrielle, le combustible nucléaire épuisé, ainsi que l'uranium enrichi.

Les colis devant être homologués doivent subir des tests rigoureux, car de graves conséquences peuvent résulter de l'utilisation de colis inadéquats. Les tests doivent simuler des conditions de transport sans accident et avec accident. Ils peuvent comprendre une épreuve en chute libre, une épreuve de perforation, une épreuve thermique et des simulations d'accidents d'avion.

Les méthodes de test du Canada sont très semblables – voire identiques – à celles utilisées par d’autres organismes de réglementation internationaux. Les vidéos suivantes présentent des tests de simulation effectués à l’étranger pour des colis de transport :

Processus de demande

Pour les colis nécessitant l'approbation de la CCSN, il faut présenter une demande d'homologation de la conception. Le processus est identique pour tous les colis dont l'utilisation au Canada nécessite une homologation, y compris ceux dont l'utilisation est déjà approuvée dans d'autres pays.

Afin d'aider les demandeurs à préparer leur demande d'homologation, la CCSN a préparé, en collaboration avec la Nuclear Regulatory Commission des États–Unis et le Department of Transportation des États-Unis, le document RD­364 : Guide d'approbation des colis de transport du type B(U) et des colis transportant des matières fissiles Canada­États–Unis (publié aux États–Unis sous le code NUREG-1886). Ce guide peut servir tant pour une nouvelle demande que pour la validation au Canada d'une conception de colis déjà validée aux États-Unis.

Une demande comprend habituellement de l'information sur la conception structurale, l'évaluation thermique, l'évaluation du blindage, le confinement de la substance nucléaire dans le colis, le mode d'emploi du colis, le programme d'entretien et le programme d'assurance de la qualité.

Le Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires ne prescrit aucune norme précise à suivre pour la conception des colis. Il exige cependant qu'une démonstration de conformité soit effectuée. Cette démonstration peut se faire au moyen d'essais sur des prototypes ou des modèles à l'échelle, au moyen de calculs techniques et d'arguments logiques conformes aux normes nationales ou internationales de l'industrie, ou encore en se reportant à des conceptions similaires homologuées précédemment.

Examen de la demande

La demande est évaluée par des spécialistes en transport de la CCSN, en l'occurrence, des ingénieurs accrédités. Ces spécialistes effectuent un examen technique de l'information et des résultats des tests requis accompagnant la demande pour veiller à ce que la conception du colis respecte toutes les exigences réglementaires applicables. Les spécialistes en transport peuvent aussi demander l'aide d'autres experts de la CCSN selon les caractéristiques de la conception. Par exemple, pour les colis conçus pour contenir des matières fissiles, la demande comprend une analyse démontrant le maintien de la sous-criticité à la suite des essais, et cette analyse est examinée par un spécialiste de ce domaine.

Pour effectuer l'examen et confirmer que les colis respectent toutes les exigences applicables, les spécialistes en transport utilisent :

Un autre spécialiste en transport procède à une vérification de l'évaluation initiale pour bien confirmer que le colis est entièrement conforme à toutes les exigences applicables.

Au terme de cette vérification par un pair, le fonctionnaire désigné de la CCSN responsable de la délivrance du certificat d'homologation recevra un résumé de l'évaluation de la demande ainsi que les recommandations concernant l'homologation de la conception du colis.

Dans les cas où l'approbation n'est pas recommandée, le Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires prévoit un processus d'appel pour permettre au demandeur de fournir des renseignements et des explications supplémentaires démontrant que le colis est entièrement conforme à toutes les exigences applicables.

L'examen d'une demande pour un nouveau colis prend jusqu'à un an, alors qu'il faut habituellement six mois pour l'examen d'une demande portant sur des changements à la conception d'un colis déjà approuvée.

On peut consulter, au besoin, la liste suivante : Colis de transport et matières radioactives sous forme spéciale homologués (PDF).